Customer Reviews for

It's a Thin Line

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Breathtaking

This book was truly a page turner. The novel demonstrates the cliche, 'it's a thin line between love and hate', to the fullest. It illustrated a family's love and struggles. No matter what the obstacles are, you can always depend on family. I have recommended this b...
This book was truly a page turner. The novel demonstrates the cliche, 'it's a thin line between love and hate', to the fullest. It illustrated a family's love and struggles. No matter what the obstacles are, you can always depend on family. I have recommended this book to others.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OKAY

THIS BOOK WAS OKAY. THE TOPICS SHE TOCHED WERE VERY GOOD. BUT IT WAS KIND OF BORING TO ME.

posted by BOOKDEVA on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OKAY

    THIS BOOK WAS OKAY. THE TOPICS SHE TOCHED WERE VERY GOOD. BUT IT WAS KIND OF BORING TO ME.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Awesome

    Another important point about this book is that it is well written. I could easily follow it. The pace of the story is fast and the characters are so real that I could easily relate to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Awesome

    An important point about this book is that it is well written. I could easily follow it. The pace of the story is fast and the characters are so real that I could easily relate to them. Now, I have made up my mind to read the other books by this author. There are issues in the book that people are faced with in their everyday lives. From this book one can find ways to have meaningful discussions on all interconnected issues. You will not regret reading this book.Recommended stories are SWEET SAME GIRLS, THE USURPER AND OTHERS, WHY THE CAGED BIRD SINGS, in the sense that they go to add to this rich theme.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Interesting book

    I was expecting much more from this book. I guess I was misled because I was advised this was Part 2 to Casting the 1st Stone. But nonetheless, this was still a good book. I was glad that Gina ended it w/Phillip and stopped the abuse. The topics that Sydney discussed about her childhood were also informative. Great Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    AWESOME

    It took me one day to read this book. First time reader of this great author. Now reading another of her books. Great! Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    WHAT A GREAT BOOK!!!

    THIS IS THE SECOND BOOK I'VE READ BY THIS AUTHOR FIRST ONE WAS CASTING THE FIRST STONE IT WAS GREAT, SO WAS THIS ONE I WILL CONTINUE TO READ ALL HER BOOKS. NEXT WILL BE THE SEQUEL TO CASTING THE FIRST STONE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    VERY GOOD!!

    When I read this book I wasn't really into books at this time. This book started my love for reading. It showed me a whole new way of literature. I loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    A Must Read- from a non reader

    This book was excellent! I could not put the book down. This is the first book that I ever read that kept me reading until I was done, every moment I got I read. I don't read that often, so this was shocking to me. Roby has definetely become one of my favorite authors, and I can't wait to read 'Casting the First Stone.' No doubt this is a MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    this book will slap you into reality

    It's a thin line is off the hook this book was full of suspense and real life experiences. if you haven't read this book buy it now you don't know what you're missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Excellent

    Kimberla Roby is a very good writer. I love to read her books. You just can't put her books down, they are such a great read, from one page to the next. I just purchased her new book,'A Taste of Reality'. I know it is going to be a great read also. Keep up the good work Ms. Roby.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT

    WONDERFULLY WRITTEN! I LOVE AUTHORS THAT STRESS FAMILY CLOSENESS AND VALUES. A DEFINITE PAGE-TURNER GUARANTEED TO BE READ IN LESS THAN 2 DAYS. MS. ROBY KEEPS YOUR ATTENTION FROM START TO FINISH.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Breathtaking

    This book was truly a page turner. The novel demonstrates the cliche, 'it's a thin line between love and hate', to the fullest. It illustrated a family's love and struggles. No matter what the obstacles are, you can always depend on family. I have recommended this book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Bringing it straight home

    If your really looking for a book that you can relate to, then this is the book. On every page it gives you a dose of reality. this book has characters you will love to hate and others you will just love. If your looking to run the gammot of emotions then this is the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    REAL

    This book was dramatic but real. A Thin Line deals with spousal abuse and caring for an ailing parent in such a real way, you feel as if you're right there in the midst. I have read one of her other books (Casting the First Stone) and I have another one to read later and I can say I enjoy her. GET THIS BOOK. You will not be disappointed...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Soul Food all over

    This book was a great book to read. I couldn't put the book down. Kimberla protrayed this family so real. I loved the mother's faith and the valuable lessons she taught her children. Way to go Kimberla.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Off The Chain

    This book was off the 'Hook', 'Chain' and what ever else you ant to put. I found it very hard to put down, from beging to end it did not let you go. In fact it keep increasing it's grip as you read. Mrs. Roby is an excelent author Casting the first stone is off the hook also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    Family Ties

    this a a book that really hit home with me personally, because me and my mother are very close just like sydney and her mother was. i loved this book for so many reasons,because with everything that was going with the family member sydney still managed to to the strong backbone of the family, and there was plenty of drama going on with all of her sibilings. her sister gina was in an abusive marriage, her brother was going through his drama with his girlfriend, and a host of other things, but sydney hung in there like a champ until the death of there mother, but i belive that this bought them closer together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    soulfood2

    this book is modern day soulfood. it had the mother that prayed and the children she had to pray for. i will always remeber this book andit's characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    life isn't far ,but god is.

    This was a great book.I really enjoyed reading it. It was down to earth.With real life problems.I love the way the family stayed together in the end. The ending of the book brought water to my eyes. If felf so real.Keep writting good books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2001

    I loved it

    This was her best work yet. The dynamics of the siblings and the relationship with their mother was gripping and very heart warming. The author did a great job giving enough detail into each character's life to paint a vivid picture of their world. Great job and I look forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2