BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ivanhoe

Average Rating 3.5
( 322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Book, yes, edition, no

'Ivanhoe' remains as much of a pleasure to read, this time with my grand-daughter, as it was when I first read it nearly fifty years ago. And the editor has provided an introduction which offers some interesting insights into Scott and his book. Beware the ann...
'Ivanhoe' remains as much of a pleasure to read, this time with my grand-daughter, as it was when I first read it nearly fifty years ago. And the editor has provided an introduction which offers some interesting insights into Scott and his book. Beware the annotations, however, for there Professor Wood reveals himself hopelessly out of his depth. The notes suffer from both political correctness, e.g., his implied claims that the crusaders had no reason to wage war war against Muslims, and inexcusable ignorance, e.g., his statement that Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were brothers and that Iconium was the the medieval--it was the ancient--name of modern Konya.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not recommended unless you read French

I am new to E-Books I tried loading this book. When it appeared, it was in French. Nowhere does it say the book would be in French. What a BIG disappointment.

posted by rp-in-texas on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Book, yes, edition, no

    'Ivanhoe' remains as much of a pleasure to read, this time with my grand-daughter, as it was when I first read it nearly fifty years ago. And the editor has provided an introduction which offers some interesting insights into Scott and his book. Beware the annotations, however, for there Professor Wood reveals himself hopelessly out of his depth. The notes suffer from both political correctness, e.g., his implied claims that the crusaders had no reason to wage war war against Muslims, and inexcusable ignorance, e.g., his statement that Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were brothers and that Iconium was the the medieval--it was the ancient--name of modern Konya.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    not recommended unless you read French

    I am new to E-Books I tried loading this book. When it appeared, it was in French. Nowhere does it say the book would be in French. What a BIG disappointment.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Abridged

    This is an abridged version about half the length of the original. Intended for a young audience. I deleted after downloading as it did not meet my needs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    ebook freezes

    One of my favorite novels, but the eBook kept freezing on my Nook. Eventually I deleted from my library without being able to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A Truly Engrossing Read

    I was apprehensive about reading _Ivanhoe_, but I took it under the recommendation of a very well-respected professor. Between its covers, I have found a new favorite novel! I was completely captivated by the story itself, and the characters were so well-crafted that at times I forgot that I was reading. If you are looking for an enjoyable read, full of chivalry, adventure, and bravery 'from both men AND women', look no further than _Ivanhoe_.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ivanhoe is not written in 'Old English'. It is modern English, written in the 19th century, so some of the prose may seem antiquated to a modern reader. This is an example of Old English, from Beowulf: 'Hwæt! We Gardena in geardagum' . This is Middle English, from Chaucer's Canterbury Tales: 'Whan that Aprill, with his shoures soote/The droghte of March hath perced to the roote'. Spenser, Shakespeare, and definitely Scott all wrote in Modern English--which has been used since the English Renaissance in the 15th century.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    GREAT!!

    Ivanhoe was much better than I thought it would be. I have a passion for the medieval times so this book was perfect. Its filled with adventure, romance, and chivalry. The characters are wonderful! This book was amazing!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    A classic

    A great tale of renaissance intrigue, deception and honor, much like the tale of Robin Hood.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Rebecca of York by herself makes the book a masterpiece

    Sir Walter Scott's 1819 novel IVANHOE is a thoroughly enjoyable masterpiece by one of the greatest story tellers this world is ever likely to know. Hints are given as to where the story is going, making it easy to follow despite being set in long ago England. Memorable characters abound, especially the Norman Knight Templar, villainous Brian de Bois-Guibert, the Jewess Rebecca of York and a supporting cast led by Wamba the Jester and Gurth the swineherd. Throw in the thinly disguised Black Knight (King Richard the Lion-Hearted), his crafty brother Prince John, Robin Hood and his Merry Men, sullen Saxons, ruthless Normans like Front-de-Boeuf, worldly churchmen, beautiful women and the lovers Wilfred of Ivanhoe and Rowena and you have a tale hard to set down till read cover to cover. *** The motivations of all the characters as well as 'where they are coming from' drive their actions. The visual backdrop is lush from joust, to castle siege, to witch trial. *** Finally, this is a powerful study of anti-Semitism, a few generations before Jews were driven out of England. The scene in Chapter XXVIII when Ivanhoe wakes to find his wound well tended by Rebecca is unforgettable. Initially, he is grateful. But honesty compels her to say, 'your handmaiden is a poor Jewess.' And 'Ivanhoe was too good a Catholic to retain the same class of feelings toward a Jewess.' Though it was hard for him to overcome the prejudices dinned into him by church and culture, in the end Ivanhoe alone champions Rebecca and prevents her being burned at the stake for witchcraft by the Grand Master of the Knights Templar. In her meeting with an apparently unprejudiced Rowena at novel's end, Rebecca of York asserts (Ch. XLIV) ' ... there is a gulf betwixt us. Our breeding, our faith, alike forbid either to pass over it. Farewell.' *** IVANHOE may be the best work of Scott's for someone to read first. It will not be his last.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Jacob Turner Top 5 Favorite Book. I recommend this book for th

    Jacob Turner

    Top 5 Favorite Book.

    I recommend this book for the following reasons. Ivanhoe was a book in which I had great ease and comfort in reading.
    I was captured in this book, as the tension was building between the Saxons and the Normans.
    The book presented a nail biting and edgy experience as you turned page to page, with hints of romance sprinkled throughout.  
    The turmoil and mischievous action keeps you wanting to read. You quickly find yourself flipping pages as if you are watching a movie. 

     The setting of Ivanhoe is medieval England, in the late twelfth century. The historical environment of which the novel takes place is one that changes with quickness.
     Saxon England has been taken by Norman French for over a century, but the invasion of England’s best homes and land is still going forward as fast as ever.
    This setting has proven to create great uncertainty in leaving you wondering what next and contemplating upcoming confrontations or situations.
     The main characters are Cedric, Ivanhoe, a.k.a. Wilfred, Athelstane, Rowena, Brian de Bois-Guilbert, Front-de-Boeuf, Richard Plantagenet, John Plantagenet, Waldemar Fitzurse, Isaac, Rebecca, and Maurice De Bracy.
    This novel would be on my must read list for anyone who enjoys medieval struggle and strife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    French

    Its in French!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    It purely awesome

    If your looking for a book that has action this is it if your looking for a book that has drama step aside days of our lives if you want adventure its got that as well indiana jones wishes he had this much adventure. This book takes all the action and adveture and puts it on the midevil level it awesome. And in this story you get the real story of robin hood well a good amount anyway. This is a must read it should be your library if you got one going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Good

    I found iy a little confising, but something that i would read again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Great Read!

    I was captivated by this book's storyline as well as the quaint language. I had only seen the movie before and the book is ever so much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Don't let the old English prose scare you away!!!

    The old English prose of this book is somewhat difficult to read at first & the initial prospect of reading several hundred pages of this seems somewhat akin to watching paint dry. But once you get used to this type of writing, the book is exciting, funny & intriguing. For lovers of historical fiction, this is one of the best. From the tormented chivalry of Ivanhoe, the hubrous of the Templar, the obstianancy & pride of Cedric, the beauty & grace of Rowena & Rebecca, the sharp witted humor of Wamba, the faithfulness of Gurth, and the pride and love of the miserly Isaac this work covers the gamut of society in medival England. Definitiely worth the read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    TigerKit

    Walks in with his mother smokie fern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Hello, all

    I am on a quest, looking for The Dark Forest. If anybody could tell me where they are, that would be wonderful. ~Deathshadow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Darkness

    "Darkness covers me! Let the rain fall. Thunder roar. Let lightning crack and hail kill." He roars. "Shroud me in evil. Let electricity surround me." A tornado descends on him and when he can be seen again, the purple in his coat had bwgun to crackle with electricity. "Satan. I obey you." A spectral voice speaks. "Well done, good and faithful servant. You from this day shall be named Zaros. Controller of time and space."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Starling

    "Archer will you be my mate?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Your name is.............Cupcake. thats all i got.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17