Customer Reviews for

I've Got You Under My Skin

Average Rating 3.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I've Got You Under My Skin by Mary Higgins Clark is a thrilling

I've Got You Under My Skin by Mary Higgins Clark is a thrilling and beautifully written crime mystery about a widowed mother and her son haunted by a nightmare. Five years after the death of her husband, Laurie Moran and her young son Timmy are still living in the shado...
I've Got You Under My Skin by Mary Higgins Clark is a thrilling and beautifully written crime mystery about a widowed mother and her son haunted by a nightmare. Five years after the death of her husband, Laurie Moran and her young son Timmy are still living in the shadows of that fateful day, always fearful of her husband's killer, who threatened to come back for them.

When her professional work demanded something creative, Laurie settled for unsolved crime cases for her television show, hoping to strike gold. She got more than she bargained for. She and Timmy are perilously perched as the killer strikes again, in the process, giving the cold case a chance to be solved or the killer making good on his threat to Timmy, "Tell your mother she's next, then it's your turn..."

While Mary Higgins Clark is a good story-teller, some of her recent books have not been really that appealing. I've Got You Under My Skin is one of her finer books and offers a chance to redeem herself. The mystery is wrapped beautifully while there is some depth to the story. The characters are both fascinating and likeable. I'm sure many readers will really enjoy this latest mystery from the #1 international and New York Times bestselling author.

posted by Wildflowers on April 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I cannot believe that anyone would give this a 5 star rating. It

I cannot believe that anyone would give this a 5 star rating. It is DIRE! Unbelievable...and not in a good way. I hate to give a bad rating when an author has put their heart and soul into a book - but really, I found it hard to wade through the book - the story outline...
I cannot believe that anyone would give this a 5 star rating. It is DIRE! Unbelievable...and not in a good way. I hate to give a bad rating when an author has put their heart and soul into a book - but really, I found it hard to wade through the book - the story outline was annoyingly improbable, the characters were caricatures, the narrative read like a dialogue from a bad 80's TV program...I don't mind a bit of fantasy in a story, but this was just awful.

posted by 13870530 on April 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I cannot believe that anyone would give this a 5 star rating. It

    I cannot believe that anyone would give this a 5 star rating. It is DIRE! Unbelievable...and not in a good way. I hate to give a bad rating when an author has put their heart and soul into a book - but really, I found it hard to wade through the book - the story outline was annoyingly improbable, the characters were caricatures, the narrative read like a dialogue from a bad 80's TV program...I don't mind a bit of fantasy in a story, but this was just awful.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Mary should retire

    I have always loved MHC, her books were fun, easy beach reads. I met her a few years ago and she is a lovely and gracious lady. For that reason i continued to buy her books despite the fact that they were going downhill. With this latest book I am sorry to say that it s time to retire. It was just awful. There was nothing redeemable about the book. I forgot it the day after I finished it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Really? Same old same old!!!!

    Really? Same old same old!!!!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Another Great Page Turner from Mary Higgins Clark

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2015

    Says it came out on 3/15 but truthfully it came out in 2014 or e

    Says it came out on 3/15 but truthfully it came out in 2014 or earlier. you will buy it twice if you don't pay attention and know that B&N does this regularly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    1

    I willno longer read anything by this author and will encourage fellow readers to do the same.
    MHC started as a single mother who turned fo writingto add to her income. Now she has gotten so big she is no longer an affordable writer.
    Leaving aside her last couple of books were badly writen and messy the most afordable book she has is the ones printed in spanish. I cant read spanish. And whenyou do spend the average $8-12 you cant lend it to anyone.
    I am over authors who think they are so important that you cant even lend a book that belongs to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    I have no idea of what book those who gave this one 5 stars were

    I have no idea of what book those who gave this one 5 stars were reading. I started this book in April and finally got around to finishing it yesterday. I have been a fan of hers since her first book. However, I have not be able to get into her most recent books. This one had way too many characters to keep straight and I would just put the book down, pick it up a few days later and not remember who was who so I would start over. I finally finished it last night. It was good enough just on one of her greats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    The best part of this predictable and formulaic book was the ope

    The best part of this predictable and formulaic book was the opening pages where the husband of the main character is murdered. I was hooked until the second arc was introduced, the murder of a despicable woman with many potential killers. Frankly, I didn't care who killed her even though the author left a giant clue early on. I like to be more intellectually challenged while reading whodunits and would not recommend this latest MHC book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    well worth the time to enjoy

    one of her best. good reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Too convoluted

    Too many characters. Back and forth makes it hard to follow all of the folks and their role in the plot. I usually love everything she writes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Boring

    A very boring book and so predictable. Ms. Clark wrote a book that was so boring and the characters were rediculous. What happened???? It was very difficult to read this book and try to stay attention to the plot. Wait, there was no plot and the story line was silly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    I can still remember reading my first Mary Higgins Clark novel,

    I can still remember reading my first Mary Higgins Clark novel, Where Are the Children, so many years ago. After that I looked forward to each and everyone of her books. This, however, was painful to read.
    I admire Miss Clark for still having the discipline and the desire to write at age 87. I applaud her many successes and wish her well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    The worst I've ever read by Mary Higgins Clark! This was just s

    The worst I've ever read by Mary Higgins Clark! This was just so babyish. Will not read any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1