Customer Reviews for

I've Got Your Number: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 441 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(235)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

great

One of my favourite authors. Great book. Did not let me down

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Confused

The story had potential but kind of fell flat to me. The characters were not as developed as some of her other books. And what was with the notes?!?!?! I thought there was just something wrong with my digital copy until I saw other comments.

posted by 2749460 on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    One of my favourite authors. Great book. Did not let me down

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Love Sophie!!!

    I loved the book Got your number just like I have enjoyed every other book by Sophie Kinsella.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Favorite Books of Sophie Kinsella!

    I have been a big fan of her shopaholic series. Her other books were fun reads but I didn't feel connected to the characters. I was rooting for Sam and Poppy from the beginning and stayed up throughout the night (and partly throughout the morning) to finish this book! It is truly laugh out loud funny and I found myself sharing the same flutter of my heart every time Sam sent a text message. Great Book!

    Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo ;)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Book review: I¿ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

    This was my first Sophie Kinsella read and I was absolutely charmed from the very first page. The character of Poppy Wyatt is one that I feel most women can easily relate to. She's flawed and insecure yet impulsive and mouthy at at once. The author does an amazing job of capturing the realities of what we all think and feel at one time in our lives or another and imbuing Poppy with those emotions!


    The supporting cast are also a pleasant surprise running the gambit from a less that ideal fiance and in-laws, to the assortment of friends...some true...some not so true. And the pace of the novel is perfect... keeping things moving along while peppering in moments of hilarity, reality, uncomfortability, and incredible sweetness. I was laughing non stop and enjoyed every minute.

    The budding romance that develops of all things via text messages between Poppy and Sam was incredibly sweet and somehow believable. I think I fell a little in love with him myself as I felt so much like Poppy while reading this!


    The only downside for me were the footnotes...not that I didn't enjoy reading them, but it was a bit difficult toggling back and forth on an e-reader. With a print copy though I feel they'd only enhance the read.


    This was an amazing delightful read that I stayed up way past my bedtime to finish and when I did I was left with only one question...


    Why in the world did I wait so long to read Sophie Kinsella??

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ALL TIME FAVORITE!

    Sophie Kinsella has done it again. She has created a creative plot with lovable characters and dialogues that will have you laughing nonstop throughout the story! I adored the characters Sophie Kinsella created for us. Our main protagonist, Poppy is the best friend I always wished for. Her personality had me laughing, the situations she gets into got me embarrassed for her, and the ways she gets herself out of these situations had me yelling "GENIUS" and "If only i had the guts to do that!". Poppy reminded me so much of Emma from her novel "Can You Keep A Secret?" and these two protagonists are high on my "potential best friends" list!
    At the beginning of the story, I hoped the whole book wouldn't be spent on Poppy trying to find her engagement ring, because 1. That frustrated the hell out of me, and 2. The ring is ugly and 3. I did not like Magnus, her fiancé at all, first of all, what kind of name is that? and he was too much full of himself for my taste. Thankfully this was just a setup to the meeting of Poppy and Sam. Sam was definitely man material, he was a major figure in a consulting company. They meet because Poppy picks up his ex-PA's phone from the garbage after hers was mugged and the hilarious dialogues begin. You get a glimpse of Sam's life through the emails and text messages being sent to him (oh you know Poppy is too curious to pass up this opportunity of snooping!) and also through their interactions through text messages and phone calls. All I can say is that They.Are.Adorable!!! Yes it is capitalized. Sam wants the phone back, Poppy, through her absurd logic and persuasion skills, somehow keeps it. Their back and forth banter just did it for me. This book was, in my opinion, the best book that Sophie Kinsella has written ever since Can You Keep A Secret?
    We get the whole works in this book, family opposing marriage because they're all brainiacs while Poppy is not. Insecurities of not being good enough, a jealous 'best friend', a whiny wedding planner, a persistent girlfriend (?) that won't stop sending the weirdest and most wacky emails to Sam through the PA's phone, and a work scandal ready to explode in White Global Consulting. In other words, a book full of laughs, crazy characters, and an experience you'll never forget!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Confused

    The story had potential but kind of fell flat to me. The characters were not as developed as some of her other books.

    And what was with the notes?!?!?! I thought there was just something wrong with my digital copy until I saw other comments.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Fun easy read

    How can a woman get herself in so much trouble?? Very cute, quick, easy, fun read! I love Sophie Kinsella novels...this one does not disappoint!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Quick fun read

    Great easy story to take my mind off of life for a few hours

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Why the notes

    Did everyone else have the notes at the end of each chapter? Very annoying, i almost stopped reading because of it. I'm a huge Kinsella fan but this note thing really put me off the story.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Loved it

    Footnotes were hilarious

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Big disappointment!

    First, I must say I am a big fan of Kinsella's books. I know it's chick lit and I know the plots are usually the same but I still enjoy her books. They are funny and the characters are relatable. However, that did NOT happen here. Has she lost her touch? There is almost no character development. I did not see the romance at all. The heroine came off as kind of pathetic and what about him? Not much. The ending totally fell flat. If any of you are thinking of buying this hoping it will be as good as "Remember Me" or as funny as "Can you Keep a Secret?" you will be disappointed. I am honestly baffled at reading some reviews that call this book "her all-time best".

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Oh so delightful!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Fast and easy and completely adorable. Sophie's characters never get old to me and the sam/poppy relationship is so perfect. Love all the technology too. Texting totally plays a role in getting to know somebody.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Loved!!!

    Wow!! I had trouble putting it down. Must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Very funny

    Lol funny very good book, totally enjoyed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Cute, fun read

    I thought that this book was so cute and fun. All of the texts from Sam to Poppy and vice versa were quite enjoyable. I didn't want their conversations to end....if you like a book that allows you to escape for a few hours you'll enjoy this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    What a great read!

    I loved this book! I could relate to Poppy and just got caught up in her relationships with the characters. The end was a bit predictable but by that point, I didn't care - you just root for her

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    <3

    Love

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    A good sk novel....

    Sometimes Im happy to know what im getting into. SKs books are comfortable reads and this ine didnt disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Fun book. Easy and entertaining read.  I really liked story line

    Fun book. Easy and entertaining read.  I really liked story line revolving around the text communications.  
    Loved the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Addicting!!!

    So many twists and turns and is soooo addicting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23