BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ivy (The Ivy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Funny, sexy and smart!

I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, ...
I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, Dana and OK. All the characters were interesting and well developed. And, the boys; Gregory (or should I say "Jeffrey") and Clint, well, what can I say about the boys but HOTTIES! Where were these boys when I was in school. Two very different characters but each written in such a way that they both are very appealing just in differnt ways, no wonder Cassie is conflicted - but if I had a say, definitely team Gregory. The Harvard "survival rules" was a fresh and bonus treat at the start of each chapter and left you feeling like you were getting a tidbit of insider information into the lives of students at this prestigeous institution. Put this title on your list of books to read this year! I'm just thankful I can across it recently so that I didn't have to wait months for book 2 (Secrets) which comes out next week on Nook.

posted by PEG08 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Not really what I was expecting

I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I g...
I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I genuinely liked Callie as the protagonist-and her crazy roommates- at first, but Callie soon got on my nerves as she made one bad decision after the other. Near the end I started to wonder why I was still reading the book. There was a lot of language, among other things, and I really didn't appreciate that and it really didn't add to the book. Some of the things that happened to Callie were enough to make me cringe and wonder why exactly they were included. You do feel for Callie, at least at first, but near the end, most of what's going wrong is entirely her fault, and I kinda wanted to yell at her. Some characters were also, in my opinion, rather neglected, which makes me kinda sad since I was expecting to see them more. The cliffhanger does make me somewhat interested in the next book, but not enough to buy it. If you want my opinion, I would think carefully before buying it.

posted by 6644751 on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Not really what I was expecting

    I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I genuinely liked Callie as the protagonist-and her crazy roommates- at first, but Callie soon got on my nerves as she made one bad decision after the other. Near the end I started to wonder why I was still reading the book. There was a lot of language, among other things, and I really didn't appreciate that and it really didn't add to the book. Some of the things that happened to Callie were enough to make me cringe and wonder why exactly they were included. You do feel for Callie, at least at first, but near the end, most of what's going wrong is entirely her fault, and I kinda wanted to yell at her. Some characters were also, in my opinion, rather neglected, which makes me kinda sad since I was expecting to see them more. The cliffhanger does make me somewhat interested in the next book, but not enough to buy it. If you want my opinion, I would think carefully before buying it.

    64 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Another mary-sue story

    Seriously, there's probably 20,000 other shallow, poorly-written books on here about a pretty girl going to school, and every guy falls in love with her. I LOATHE when homely female authours write books to carry out their own personal fantasy of being lusted after by multiple guys. You give female writers a bad name.

    17 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Funny, sexy and smart!

    I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, Dana and OK. All the characters were interesting and well developed. And, the boys; Gregory (or should I say "Jeffrey") and Clint, well, what can I say about the boys but HOTTIES! Where were these boys when I was in school. Two very different characters but each written in such a way that they both are very appealing just in differnt ways, no wonder Cassie is conflicted - but if I had a say, definitely team Gregory. The Harvard "survival rules" was a fresh and bonus treat at the start of each chapter and left you feeling like you were getting a tidbit of insider information into the lives of students at this prestigeous institution. Put this title on your list of books to read this year! I'm just thankful I can across it recently so that I didn't have to wait months for book 2 (Secrets) which comes out next week on Nook.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Fresh new voices in YA

    THE IVY, by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur, is a story about starting over and growing up. Everyone who has gone away to college can relate to this book in more ways than one, whether it be making new friends, succeeding in classes, or balancing social with academia. The Ivy takes a deeper look into the highs and lows of choosing what is important in an extremely stressful environment of Harvard.

    Never have I read a book where I felt like I was reading about myself. This book took be back to my university days and the many chances I took while trying to find myself. Being alone in a new place, trying to make new friends, and participating in everything that you are interested in is what college is all about. But when you mix in social status (yes it still exists in college), new relationships/friends, and still trying to succeed in classes, you learn very quickly that it is easier said than done.

    I wished everyone could see Callie the way she was versus how she acted and dressed. By reading from her POV, I felt connected to a normal girl just trying to fit in. Her roommates were obsessed with their own lives while Callie was dealing with some serious complications. The big secret that Evan was hiding was so huge, my heart broke when it was revealed. I knew it would come back to stab her in the back and like all things, it did.

    Another great thing about this book is the fact that it is co-authored, and I never knew the wiser while reading. The weaving of characters and situations were seamless even though two writers thoughts were being portrayed. I enjoyed the characters that Callie befriended and came across. I felt some things were predictable and inevitable for Callie and these relationships but I have a feeling that will change throughout the series. My only disappointment was that it ended...with a cliffhanger! I am dying to read the rest of the series now!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review taken from Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

    The Ivy is like a breathe of fresh air! From cute guys to feisty girls there's bound to be drama.

    I'd never read any YA book with one of the main Characters in college. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect..... but I was impressed. It was fun, exciting, and just a great read. It's one of my favorites.

    I really enjoyed the characters, They all had there own personality and were wonderfully developed. Callie had a great voice. She fun and likable. Everything is so new to Callie, it was fun being taken on that journey. It made her an even more realistic character. I hope my college life will be like hers lol!

    With everything going on in Callie's life.there had to be some added spice.a love story mixed in there as well, but I could see the possibility of a love triangle happening in future novels. I love a love triangle... right now I think I am team Gregory. Just something about that guy.... think there is a little something under the surface that we don't know about yet. But then again I loved all the guys they are all cute and charming in they own way.

    The writing had a few flaws but other that that it was awesome. I was sucked right into this story and hardly put the book down. I so can not wait until the next book!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK! LOVED IT!

    loved this book! very well written and easy to understand and good for teenager to read it basically like what a teen feels like going into college and includes some peer pressure

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Interesting But Too Racy

    This book is great if you like university sexcapades, romance, and backstabbing. I didn’t like the abrupt ending, but I guess that’s what you get when the author makes the series depend on a cliffhanger. I totally agree with “Not What I Expected” reviewer’s sentiments, that Callie made awful decisions, should’ve been portrayed better; and I completely agree that the language does not add to the story. Yes, better character development of some of the other players would have been good. I also enjoyed the extras-clips from the Fifteen Minutes magazine. Great touch. I found the authors’ jumping out of the plot a couple of times to comment on their narration unexpectedly humorous. Oh yes, and the unfair stereotype of the girl with faith was an extreme portrayal: they made her too much of a fanatic.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Ivy by Lauren Kunze with Rina Onur Review

    Wow-o-wow! Half the time these authors had me wanting to be back at college and the other half of the time I couldn't believe how glad I was that I had already graduated and was done with the whole shebang, it's still a toss up as to which won the majority. Either way I was really enjoying coming along for the ride on this one and watching Callie start her first day of college at Harvard. I went to West Virginia University, and while it's a fantastic school (Go Mountaineers!) I'm not, nor was I ever an Ivy leaguer but it sure sounds like a different world. Don't get me wrong, we had brilliant minds and probably twice the amount of partiers but regardless I was out of my element a little bit with this world. What fun I had though soaking it all in.

    Callie must get used to living on the east coast, acclimating to college life, living with three other girls who are all sporting their very own look and attitude and dealing with a very cute, very arrogant boy who happens to be living right across the hall, fun coincidence right? These girls have their work cut out for them and they're in for a wild ride. But also a totally fun one to be sure.

    These authors give readers scandals worthy of US Weekly, really cute and nice upperclassman guys, bitter and devious girls out to make freshman's lives a living hell and don't forget the classes, the parties and the drama, drama, drama! Did I mention the drama? When it's hard enough to get through your classes and homework, how is it possible to tell the different between friend and foe, right and wrong and ways to avoid getting in deeper and deeper? But seriously, I really kind of fell in love with this book and the characters and the story line - pretty much the whole kit and caboodle. Kunze and Onur set the stage for a great series and although I was a little worried with how things were left at the end of this one, I'm practically drooling over what's to come in their next book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    A new favorite!

    This book is one of the most interesting books I have read in a while. Unlike some teen books, the story line was fairly unpredictable and realistic. I can't wait for the sequel to come out in May because the book ends with many questions unanswered. I would recommend it to high schoolers and college students. Very well written!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Interesting

    This book was surprisingly really good. It brings you back to your college days and gives you a peak into the world of harvard students. I got this book for free but will be purchasing the next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Surprisingly very fun read

    I truly enjoyed this book and I am 46. Lol!! I think a teenage girl would enjoy this story. Word to parents, contains a lot of partying and sexual content. It would be more for an older teen.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Wtf

    Really she couldnt finish the book. It wasnt that interesting but that wasnt an ending

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    N

    Thought this would be cute and quirky. I started out liking Callie, and feeling sorry for her when things went sour, but by the end of the book i was so frustrated with her. Shes supposed to be this sweet, friendly, down to earth girl, but all she does in the novel is obssess over her social standing at harvard and basically backstab her dorm roomates. The mess she ends up in is through no fault but her own.
    Also, clints character could have been more developed! I felt i knew the supporting characters ( like OK) better than i knew clint. I wish he had been more real and 3d , especially since he was supposed to be the "main" love interest!
    (While i got tired of hearing about the million boys who were apparently drooling over callie, i LOVED the character of OK! he was a hilarious, believable character who i could actually stand. I probably also liked him because he was one of the few males who didnt fall for Callie.)
    (Also, i apologize for ranting....many books these days just seem to frustrate me, especially when they are filled with so many cliches and 2d characters.)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Good

    Good story

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Okay.

    I can't decide if I liked this book enough to read the second in the series or not. It might be more appreciated by someone in their late teens early twentys. Lots of young adult issues with friends, boyfriends, trust, backstabbing and plain old fitting in with your peers. You know, all the things that I don't miss about growing up. The ending really left me hanging so, do I continue with this series or not? Maybe I will read the free sample from the next book and see where that takes me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Stay away

    Made me very uncomfortable that the main character went from making bad decision to bad decision.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    Words cannot do justice to how poorly written and superficial this book was i kept expecting it to get better and it never did. I only wish I had back the time I wasted reading it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    This book was interesting, but it never really went anywhere. T

    This book was interesting, but it never really went anywhere. The best comparison I can make is that it was like reading a soap opera. The supporting characters were cliche, and even the main character had no depth. I read the book all the way to the end, believing there must be something redeeming to the plot, finally realizing at the end that the "plot" was only half-baked, with no resolution. Like I said, it was similar to reading a soap opera.

    I read many kinds of writing, and though I do not care for foul language and misspellings and poor grammar, I can overlook them for the sake of a good story. I didn't notice any misspellings that I recall. The grammar usage was average. Foul language probably was fitting for the characters. However, the story fell flat, like struggling to finish the book and finding you've only reached the end of the first chapter. I will not be yearning for more of the same.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Drivel....

    This time, I read the Free Friday selection BEFORE reading the other Reader Reviews (always containing the same old complaints - "why isn't it a children's book" or "it has too much bad language.") My gripe with this week's selection (other than the fact that it is complete drivel) is that is the first in the series and we're supposed to be so enthralled with it that we pony up $10.99 + tax for each of the sequels. Sorry, cliffhanger notwithstanding, I just don't care enough to find out what happens after Thanksgiving break at Harvard (even if the sequels were free, too!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    M

    Couldnt get past pg 8 with the lists and texts. Godawful. Another free friday loser.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11