BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ivy (The Ivy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Funny, sexy and smart!

I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, ...
I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, Dana and OK. All the characters were interesting and well developed. And, the boys; Gregory (or should I say "Jeffrey") and Clint, well, what can I say about the boys but HOTTIES! Where were these boys when I was in school. Two very different characters but each written in such a way that they both are very appealing just in differnt ways, no wonder Cassie is conflicted - but if I had a say, definitely team Gregory. The Harvard "survival rules" was a fresh and bonus treat at the start of each chapter and left you feeling like you were getting a tidbit of insider information into the lives of students at this prestigeous institution. Put this title on your list of books to read this year! I'm just thankful I can across it recently so that I didn't have to wait months for book 2 (Secrets) which comes out next week on Nook.

posted by PEG08 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Not really what I was expecting

I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I g...
I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I genuinely liked Callie as the protagonist-and her crazy roommates- at first, but Callie soon got on my nerves as she made one bad decision after the other. Near the end I started to wonder why I was still reading the book. There was a lot of language, among other things, and I really didn't appreciate that and it really didn't add to the book. Some of the things that happened to Callie were enough to make me cringe and wonder why exactly they were included. You do feel for Callie, at least at first, but near the end, most of what's going wrong is entirely her fault, and I kinda wanted to yell at her. Some characters were also, in my opinion, rather neglected, which makes me kinda sad since I was expecting to see them more. The cliffhanger does make me somewhat interested in the next book, but not enough to buy it. If you want my opinion, I would think carefully before buying it.

posted by 6644751 on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Fresh new voices in YA

    THE IVY, by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur, is a story about starting over and growing up. Everyone who has gone away to college can relate to this book in more ways than one, whether it be making new friends, succeeding in classes, or balancing social with academia. The Ivy takes a deeper look into the highs and lows of choosing what is important in an extremely stressful environment of Harvard.

    Never have I read a book where I felt like I was reading about myself. This book took be back to my university days and the many chances I took while trying to find myself. Being alone in a new place, trying to make new friends, and participating in everything that you are interested in is what college is all about. But when you mix in social status (yes it still exists in college), new relationships/friends, and still trying to succeed in classes, you learn very quickly that it is easier said than done.

    I wished everyone could see Callie the way she was versus how she acted and dressed. By reading from her POV, I felt connected to a normal girl just trying to fit in. Her roommates were obsessed with their own lives while Callie was dealing with some serious complications. The big secret that Evan was hiding was so huge, my heart broke when it was revealed. I knew it would come back to stab her in the back and like all things, it did.

    Another great thing about this book is the fact that it is co-authored, and I never knew the wiser while reading. The weaving of characters and situations were seamless even though two writers thoughts were being portrayed. I enjoyed the characters that Callie befriended and came across. I felt some things were predictable and inevitable for Callie and these relationships but I have a feeling that will change throughout the series. My only disappointment was that it ended...with a cliffhanger! I am dying to read the rest of the series now!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review taken from Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

    The Ivy is like a breathe of fresh air! From cute guys to feisty girls there's bound to be drama.

    I'd never read any YA book with one of the main Characters in college. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect..... but I was impressed. It was fun, exciting, and just a great read. It's one of my favorites.

    I really enjoyed the characters, They all had there own personality and were wonderfully developed. Callie had a great voice. She fun and likable. Everything is so new to Callie, it was fun being taken on that journey. It made her an even more realistic character. I hope my college life will be like hers lol!

    With everything going on in Callie's life.there had to be some added spice.a love story mixed in there as well, but I could see the possibility of a love triangle happening in future novels. I love a love triangle... right now I think I am team Gregory. Just something about that guy.... think there is a little something under the surface that we don't know about yet. But then again I loved all the guys they are all cute and charming in they own way.

    The writing had a few flaws but other that that it was awesome. I was sucked right into this story and hardly put the book down. I so can not wait until the next book!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Ivy by Lauren Kunze with Rina Onur Review

    Wow-o-wow! Half the time these authors had me wanting to be back at college and the other half of the time I couldn't believe how glad I was that I had already graduated and was done with the whole shebang, it's still a toss up as to which won the majority. Either way I was really enjoying coming along for the ride on this one and watching Callie start her first day of college at Harvard. I went to West Virginia University, and while it's a fantastic school (Go Mountaineers!) I'm not, nor was I ever an Ivy leaguer but it sure sounds like a different world. Don't get me wrong, we had brilliant minds and probably twice the amount of partiers but regardless I was out of my element a little bit with this world. What fun I had though soaking it all in.

    Callie must get used to living on the east coast, acclimating to college life, living with three other girls who are all sporting their very own look and attitude and dealing with a very cute, very arrogant boy who happens to be living right across the hall, fun coincidence right? These girls have their work cut out for them and they're in for a wild ride. But also a totally fun one to be sure.

    These authors give readers scandals worthy of US Weekly, really cute and nice upperclassman guys, bitter and devious girls out to make freshman's lives a living hell and don't forget the classes, the parties and the drama, drama, drama! Did I mention the drama? When it's hard enough to get through your classes and homework, how is it possible to tell the different between friend and foe, right and wrong and ways to avoid getting in deeper and deeper? But seriously, I really kind of fell in love with this book and the characters and the story line - pretty much the whole kit and caboodle. Kunze and Onur set the stage for a great series and although I was a little worried with how things were left at the end of this one, I'm practically drooling over what's to come in their next book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Interesting

    This book was surprisingly really good. It brings you back to your college days and gives you a peak into the world of harvard students. I got this book for free but will be purchasing the next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Surprisingly very fun read

    I truly enjoyed this book and I am 46. Lol!! I think a teenage girl would enjoy this story. Word to parents, contains a lot of partying and sexual content. It would be more for an older teen.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Good

    :)

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    I bought this ebook when it was on sale for $3...I think that w

    I bought this ebook when it was on sale for $3...I think that was a year ago. Yesterday, I finally sat down and started it. 10 hours later, I was looking for the sequel!

    Plot: I think your opinion of this book depends on how you approach it. By no means is this a riveting critique on the social cliques of prestigious universities or student substance abuse. It's a fun, easy read about a new girl and her climb to popularity. Callie Andrews is from California, she has blond hair and is starting her freshman year at Harvard University (just like the author, but we'll ignore that). Her roommates are a crazy cast of characters, and her boyfriend just broke up with her -through email. The book takes place over the first three months of school and a lot happens before Thanksgiving Break. The book ends with a pretty scandalous cliffhanger which had me wanting to know more.

    Characters: Callie is our main character, and even though the novel is in the third person, we are basically seeing everything through her eyes. She's not a role model whatsoever; she's just a girl trying to survive her first year away from home and figure boys out. There are a lot of secondary characters that all either add to the drama or are comedic reliefs. I'm a very PC person when it comes to diversity in novels, and while Kunze does include some diversity, I thought she also called unnecessary attention to the characters of color. OK (our Nigerian prince who has an English accent?) is repeatedly characterized by his ebony skin and called a "big black man." We get it, he's black. Let's move on. There is also Fahad, who is from Saudi Arabia and described as wearing a white tuxedo with an ironic purple turban. Why is his turban ironic? ALSO, I don't think Saudi Arabian men even wear turbans. I know I don't know every single Saudi in the world, but I've never seen a turban grace their heads (unless they are religious leaders) so.....

    Moving on from the POC characters, Callie has a list of men who are heads over heels in love with her. I personally love Gregory. He can be pretty rude, and always sarcastic, but it's clear that he's hiding behind an image. One last thing (I notice I've been rambling). This novel is in the third person and is mostly told from Callie's angle, like 90% of the time. Then there are times where Kunze switches perspectives and it is super confusing as to whose eyes we are seeing a situation through. I think this book would have been better if it were just written in the first person POV.

    Setting: The Ivy takes place at the illustrious Harvard University, and as I have never been to Harvard, I liked hearing them described from an actual Harvard Alumnus.

    Short N Sweet: If you want a cerebral read, keep looking. However, if you are looking for a fun college story along the lines of Gossip Girl, you might want to check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Guilty pleasure

    As a middle-aged highly educated person, I'm embarrassed at how much I liked this book and how quickly I whipped through it. I was on vacation, so there's some justification. I know this sort of reading is not good for me, but who doesn't enjoy an occasional trip through the literary drive-through now and then?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Good read!

    I liked this book I thought it was a page turner I never wanted to stop reading it. I just got the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Love it

    Accurate tale of college life gives a lil insight into harvard life relatable ppl & story lines Modern girly & a fun read i love the main charactor Callie she makes all the mistakes girls in their teens & 20s make but u love her & root for her anyways the end leaves you wanting more i just ordered books 2 & 3 camt wait to see wha happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I actually really liked the book, although I do agree with Anony

    I actually really liked the book, although I do agree with Anonymous July 31, 2011 review about Callie making so many
     avoidable and dumb mistakes I too wanted to strangle her. I do hope some of the other characters become more a part of the
    story. I bought the next two books in the series, mainly because of the cliff hanger - I hate/love it when authors do that! But I do love 
    reading series books in general because I get so attached to the characters and don't want to leave them just because the book ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Nice easy read

    This book is perfect for anyone that needs a break from the stresses of school and extracurriulars. It was written simple enough a reader could get through it fast and had an interesting enough plot to keep the reader reading. I read the first three books in two days over my thanksgiving break and found myself anxious to read the next installment. Perfect for anyone looking for an easy read when enjoying some time off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Good but ended abruptly!

    I enjoyed the book but didn't realize that the ending was going to come up so abruptly. In order to finish the story I have to purchase the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I liked the book but toward the end, I felt I was reading about

    I liked the book but toward the end, I felt I was reading about Sookie Stackhouse with her multiple men on the string. Too bad
    she didn't settle for Matt, the only really nice guy in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    A GREAT READ! CHECK IT OUT

    IT WAS DIFFICULT TO PUT THIS BOOK ASIDE! I NEEDED TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN TO CALLIE NEXT! IN OTHER WORDS A GOOD STORY PLOT! I HAVE PLACED THE NEXT TWO ON MY MUST READ LIST!!! CALLIE IS EIGHTEEN AND A FIRST YEAR STUDENT AT A VERY PRODIIGOUS SCHOOL OF HIGHER LEARNING HARVARD !!! SHE IS FROM CALIFORNIA , MIDDLE CLASS AND LOVES TO WEAR THONGS.( NOT THE UNDERWEAR KIND) SHE IS VERY PRETTY AND ATTRACTS THE SCHOOLS "HOTTIES" WHICH CAUSES PROBLEMS WITH THE ELITE FEMALE STUDENTS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Easily sucked in - ready for book 2

    I really liked this book, I haven't started book 2 yet but I LOVE this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Fun and fast read!!

    Fun book to read - love how the author incorporates new age technology into the chapters. Had to read Series #2 after finishing this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It took me a minute get into it, but once I did I really liked i

    It took me a minute get into it, but once I did I really liked it, and will be saving to get the 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3