BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ivy (The Ivy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Funny, sexy and smart!

I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, ...
I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, Dana and OK. All the characters were interesting and well developed. And, the boys; Gregory (or should I say "Jeffrey") and Clint, well, what can I say about the boys but HOTTIES! Where were these boys when I was in school. Two very different characters but each written in such a way that they both are very appealing just in differnt ways, no wonder Cassie is conflicted - but if I had a say, definitely team Gregory. The Harvard "survival rules" was a fresh and bonus treat at the start of each chapter and left you feeling like you were getting a tidbit of insider information into the lives of students at this prestigeous institution. Put this title on your list of books to read this year! I'm just thankful I can across it recently so that I didn't have to wait months for book 2 (Secrets) which comes out next week on Nook.

posted by PEG08 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Not really what I was expecting

I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I g...
I purchased this as a nookbook because of an intriguing sample and some great reviews. However, I didn't love this book. It started out good, and I loved the extras-clips from Fifteen Minutes, a Harvard magazine, among other things-but things went down hill quickly. I genuinely liked Callie as the protagonist-and her crazy roommates- at first, but Callie soon got on my nerves as she made one bad decision after the other. Near the end I started to wonder why I was still reading the book. There was a lot of language, among other things, and I really didn't appreciate that and it really didn't add to the book. Some of the things that happened to Callie were enough to make me cringe and wonder why exactly they were included. You do feel for Callie, at least at first, but near the end, most of what's going wrong is entirely her fault, and I kinda wanted to yell at her. Some characters were also, in my opinion, rather neglected, which makes me kinda sad since I was expecting to see them more. The cliffhanger does make me somewhat interested in the next book, but not enough to buy it. If you want my opinion, I would think carefully before buying it.

posted by 6644751 on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Funny, sexy and smart!

    I came across this book by accident recently and can't thank my luck star enough. It was one of the best reads this year. The dialogue was fresh, smart and sooo funny - on more than one occassion I found myself laughing out loud especially the scenes with Cassie, Mimi, Dana and OK. All the characters were interesting and well developed. And, the boys; Gregory (or should I say "Jeffrey") and Clint, well, what can I say about the boys but HOTTIES! Where were these boys when I was in school. Two very different characters but each written in such a way that they both are very appealing just in differnt ways, no wonder Cassie is conflicted - but if I had a say, definitely team Gregory. The Harvard "survival rules" was a fresh and bonus treat at the start of each chapter and left you feeling like you were getting a tidbit of insider information into the lives of students at this prestigeous institution. Put this title on your list of books to read this year! I'm just thankful I can across it recently so that I didn't have to wait months for book 2 (Secrets) which comes out next week on Nook.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK! LOVED IT!

    loved this book! very well written and easy to understand and good for teenager to read it basically like what a teen feels like going into college and includes some peer pressure

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    A new favorite!

    This book is one of the most interesting books I have read in a while. Unlike some teen books, the story line was fairly unpredictable and realistic. I can't wait for the sequel to come out in May because the book ends with many questions unanswered. I would recommend it to high schoolers and college students. Very well written!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    People, you are not getting it

    Dear nasty reviewers,
    Those of you who think this is about a shallow freshman girl are not getting the deeper meaning here. She has lost her way. Her known world, where she was athletic and smart, and popular has crashed around her. She is looking for her place in this new place. She is doing what we all do at that age; seeking validation and acceptance from her peers. She is trusting and has a deep concern for others...she's not shallow. Really none of them are. Read with a less "critical" and more careful eye and maybe some of you will see the subtle nuances that make these books brilliant.
    Lighten up, people,
    Your fellow reviewer

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Not smart, but surely entertaining.

    Although the book is based in Harvard University, the best school in the country, this witty story doesn't have much to do with education. Callie Andrews, a laid back girl from L.A, is thrust into the world of competitivity and social classes. If you're looking for a fun and scandelous read, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    LOVE THIS SERIES

    Absolutely a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Way Underscored for No Reason!

    Personally, I think this book is WAY underscored! This book deserves a 5/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was AMAZING! Takes you into the life of students that

    This book was AMAZING! Takes you into the life of students that attend Harvard. The Author's know how to keep your attention and the ending of the book was crazy. I will be getting the next book to read. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book and purchased the next 2 books in the series. Its an easy read and i found myself staying up late just to read 1 more chapter...then reading several!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Question

    Is it appropreite for a mature 12 year old.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    You must check it out for those who are attending colege.

    I found this book The Ivy a good run down on what happens while attending college at the freshman year and going through to your senior year and what goes on in between when you pledge to clubs and their rules and what the group of girls will do to be at the top of the game. You must have the latest clothing that is in style to be the norm. Good reading for those who will be in the college area or planning on attending. Those are the memories that will stay forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I am looking forward to the next installments. It definitely takes you back to college days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Fun read!

    Oh, the college days! This "free Friday" book was one that kept me reading to the end, and then on to the next two!!! I enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Absolutely loved it!

    Fast and fun read. It is light and it engrossed me to the point where I read all 3 in 5 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    WHAT IS THE NEXT ONE

    There needs to be a delicious ending to this book! so another one should come along. Does she marry gregory, clint, matt? Does anyone find the video amusing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I loved it

    I thought it was a cute young adult book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I love free fridays !

    I got this book

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3