Customer Reviews for

The Ivy Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Laugh Out Loud Book

I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I actually laughed out loud many times while reading it. I wanted a light, easy read and this was just right. Highly recommended if you are not looking for a deep, intense book. I am looking forward to ...
I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I actually laughed out loud many times while reading it. I wanted a light, easy read and this was just right. Highly recommended if you are not looking for a deep, intense book. I am looking forward to reading more of Karen Quinn's books.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Trying to hard

The book starts ok enough but goes into the sublime and ridiculous. Can you fit anymore sex,death,power and money in a story.Trashy

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Trying to hard

    The book starts ok enough but goes into the sublime and ridiculous. Can you fit anymore sex,death,power and money in a story.Trashy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Amazing story!

    Such a good story! I live in the NYC and I really know the challenges you have to go through to get your daughter in a prestigious private school. Although I am not a mother, I'm merely a teenager, I have experienced this before. This book was really funny and is a great spring read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I highly recommend reading this book if you are in the education field. It is highly insightful on private schools on the east coast and is a great read too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Hard to believe

    This book was alright but some parts of it were down right ridiculous, especially what happened to the people at Myoki and her relationship with someone way too young for her. I'm sorry but no forty year old would ever land a twenty five year old. There are some humorous parts but overall it is an annoying read due to its two page long chapters and ridiculous plotlines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Great Laugh Out Loud Book

    I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I actually laughed out loud many times while reading it. I wanted a light, easy read and this was just right. Highly recommended if you are not looking for a deep, intense book. I am looking forward to reading more of Karen Quinn's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Amazing, uproarious, delightful - Worth More than Five Stars!

    As a reader of `serious literature only¿, I read this book only after having met the author at a conference. Karen is a truly exceptional storyteller with a unique voice, engaging us in the antics of Ivy on every page. This book offers a mature, humorous look at relationships, life transition and moral choice. I could not put it down. I laughed so long and so loudly that my family called my physician to see if I was on some new medication. I couldn't catch my breath long enough to tell them that I had unexpectedly 'struck (reader's) gold' simply by turning a page in this book. Please, Karen, give us some more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    most humorous book yet

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud so many times I was certain I'd wake my sleeping twins. Also, first and only book I've read since having kids, and I could hardly put it down. It's a must read for Mom's everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Super Funny!

    My bookclub chose this as a "light" and "easy" read. It fullfilled our need. Everyone loved it. It is one of those laugh-out-loud kind of books, so be careful reading in public places!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    quick read

    This was an interesting take on the New York Elite from a family perspective. I found it entertaining and pretty mindless. However, it wasn't predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    gradual momentum

    I chose this book purely as a diversion from my usual murder mysteries. Living far from the bustle of New York City I'm always amused by the strange ecosystem that exists only there. Only in NYC would families pay $20,000 for guidance on getting their children into the "best" kindergartens. I great diversionary read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    As a former nanny of parents that the book portrays - I must tell the readers that are skeptical - they really do exist!! When I heard about 'The Ivy Chronicles,' I picked it up and read it in 4 days. Of course, this was in between being on beck and call for my current employer (a.k.a the family of 2 upper east side brats!) It may seem funny and over the top to some but they are out there. Thank-you Ms. Quinn for letting the rest of the world know what some NYC parents and their children will do and go through to be on top of that social ladder. On another note... this book is an enjoyable read even if you don't know anything about NYC's private school world. You will look forward to each time you are able to sit down and read a few pages. I can't wait for the movie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    From the first couple pages, I guarantee any reader will be drawn into Ivy's world. The character is easily likeable and you route for her with anxious excitement till the end. It is filled with laughs, love, dreams and shock (sprinkled with a bit of laughs, of course). The characters are well developed and the plot never slows down. This book was very well written. Hope Zeta-Jones pulls the roll of Ivy off and does the book justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    The passenger next to me on the plane last week was laughing out loud. So, I bought 'The Ivy Chronicles' when I landed and could not put it down. I laughed out loud too. A fun and exciting read. Excited to see what Karen Quinn will give us next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    From the very first page Ivy, the main character pulls us in and we escape completely. This book is a wonderful smooth and funny read with an exciting plot and characters beyond hillarious. Quinns talent is all over this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I loved this book. My aunt recomended it because she loved it, after the first chapter I was hooked. It's an easy read, especially for the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Loved it!

    What a great first book for Author Karen Quinn. Great characters. Funny plot lines. Creative Love Triangle. Can't wait for the movie, however I'm sure it won't do justice to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Fun, Fun, Fun

    I loved every minute of this book. Ivy's ups, downs, trials, and tribulations kept me hooked the whole time. This is a great read anytime...a definite peek inside the psyches of over-achieving parents and what they can do their kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Far Fetched

    Being in a similar business in NYC, I was eager to read this book. I found it overly simplistic, unrealistic, and unimaginative. A few of the chapters describing the nature of private school competition were humorous, but would have made a better magazine article than book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Funny, light read

    This book had me hooked by the 2nd page. Funny, light and witty read. A few parts were a little unbelievable and far fetched, but added to the book's character. Perfect beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    It Can't Be True

    While reading this lovely tale, I wanted to disbelieve some of the antics of the characters, but in my heart they seemed just too real. I am sure much truth was exposed in the guise of jest. I found Ivy loveable, memorable and quite human. It did not have 'perfect' fixes for the problems of the characters, but it did make peace for everyone involved. I would love to see Ivy in another adventure, something less potentially dangerous to her state of being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3