Customer Reviews for

The Ivy Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, uproarious, delightful - Worth More than Five Stars!

As a reader of `serious literature only┬┐, I read this book only after having met the author at a conference. Karen is a truly exceptional storyteller with a unique voice, engaging us in the antics of Ivy on every page. This book offers a mature, humorous look at relat...
As a reader of `serious literature only┬┐, I read this book only after having met the author at a conference. Karen is a truly exceptional storyteller with a unique voice, engaging us in the antics of Ivy on every page. This book offers a mature, humorous look at relationships, life transition and moral choice. I could not put it down. I laughed so long and so loudly that my family called my physician to see if I was on some new medication. I couldn't catch my breath long enough to tell them that I had unexpectedly 'struck (reader's) gold' simply by turning a page in this book. Please, Karen, give us some more!

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Trying to hard

The book starts ok enough but goes into the sublime and ridiculous. Can you fit anymore sex,death,power and money in a story.Trashy

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Amazing story!

    Such a good story! I live in the NYC and I really know the challenges you have to go through to get your daughter in a prestigious private school. Although I am not a mother, I'm merely a teenager, I have experienced this before. This book was really funny and is a great spring read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I highly recommend reading this book if you are in the education field. It is highly insightful on private schools on the east coast and is a great read too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Great Laugh Out Loud Book

    I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I actually laughed out loud many times while reading it. I wanted a light, easy read and this was just right. Highly recommended if you are not looking for a deep, intense book. I am looking forward to reading more of Karen Quinn's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Amazing, uproarious, delightful - Worth More than Five Stars!

    As a reader of `serious literature only¿, I read this book only after having met the author at a conference. Karen is a truly exceptional storyteller with a unique voice, engaging us in the antics of Ivy on every page. This book offers a mature, humorous look at relationships, life transition and moral choice. I could not put it down. I laughed so long and so loudly that my family called my physician to see if I was on some new medication. I couldn't catch my breath long enough to tell them that I had unexpectedly 'struck (reader's) gold' simply by turning a page in this book. Please, Karen, give us some more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    most humorous book yet

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud so many times I was certain I'd wake my sleeping twins. Also, first and only book I've read since having kids, and I could hardly put it down. It's a must read for Mom's everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Super Funny!

    My bookclub chose this as a "light" and "easy" read. It fullfilled our need. Everyone loved it. It is one of those laugh-out-loud kind of books, so be careful reading in public places!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    As a former nanny of parents that the book portrays - I must tell the readers that are skeptical - they really do exist!! When I heard about 'The Ivy Chronicles,' I picked it up and read it in 4 days. Of course, this was in between being on beck and call for my current employer (a.k.a the family of 2 upper east side brats!) It may seem funny and over the top to some but they are out there. Thank-you Ms. Quinn for letting the rest of the world know what some NYC parents and their children will do and go through to be on top of that social ladder. On another note... this book is an enjoyable read even if you don't know anything about NYC's private school world. You will look forward to each time you are able to sit down and read a few pages. I can't wait for the movie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    From the first couple pages, I guarantee any reader will be drawn into Ivy's world. The character is easily likeable and you route for her with anxious excitement till the end. It is filled with laughs, love, dreams and shock (sprinkled with a bit of laughs, of course). The characters are well developed and the plot never slows down. This book was very well written. Hope Zeta-Jones pulls the roll of Ivy off and does the book justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    The passenger next to me on the plane last week was laughing out loud. So, I bought 'The Ivy Chronicles' when I landed and could not put it down. I laughed out loud too. A fun and exciting read. Excited to see what Karen Quinn will give us next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    From the very first page Ivy, the main character pulls us in and we escape completely. This book is a wonderful smooth and funny read with an exciting plot and characters beyond hillarious. Quinns talent is all over this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I loved this book. My aunt recomended it because she loved it, after the first chapter I was hooked. It's an easy read, especially for the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Loved it!

    What a great first book for Author Karen Quinn. Great characters. Funny plot lines. Creative Love Triangle. Can't wait for the movie, however I'm sure it won't do justice to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Fun, Fun, Fun

    I loved every minute of this book. Ivy's ups, downs, trials, and tribulations kept me hooked the whole time. This is a great read anytime...a definite peek inside the psyches of over-achieving parents and what they can do their kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    You have to love New Yorkers

    I laughed until I cried. I was the first to read this book at my local library. I didn't want to return the book. Please read with an open mind and heart. Do not analyze. Just read until you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Read it in THREE DAYS!

    This book was such a fun, quick, hilarious read I could not put it down. Anyone who likes a stong (yet flawed) female lead and tons of interesting and fleshed-out minor characters should read this book. And probably anyone who liked The Nanny Diaries or The Right Address as well. GREAT JOB, KAREN QUINN! I hope you write another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Not so far from reality

    This book is both hysterical and touching. It is art imitating life. The book is well written and you can really envision the characters! Ivy Ames reminds me of so many women that I know who have had to pick up and start over in their careers and in their private lives. While it is a funny story it has an underlying sad reality about working mothers trying to make it in both corporate America and on their own. This is a fast enjoyable read. I got upset when I could not reserve the time to read it regularly until I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    DELIGHTFUL & ENTERTAINING

    The circumstances of a woman having to reinvent herself, just when she fels her life is perfect, is a much too common phenomenon in today's society. Sharing Ivy's new life is a great ride, and I enjoyed every moment. Ms. Quinn has a delightful writing style and I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Ivy Chronicles

    I laughed my way through THE IVY CHRONICLES by Karen Quinn recently, and can't think of a better way to spend a cold, wintry February weekend. The privileged world of the Upper East Side of Manhattan is as alien to me, a Midwesterner, as Mars; yet there's something about the lives of the rich and famous that always fascinates the rest of us mere mortals. And Quinn does a brilliant job satirizing the privileged, pampered people whose number one goal for their children - even while still in labor, apparently - is to get them admitted to 'The Baby Ivy's.' These parents will stop at nothing to achieve this goal and so, it appears for a time, will Ivy. Yet Quinn still manages to give Ivy a soft, gooey center (even if it's wrapped up in Donna Karan), and you cheer for her in the end. A terrifically funny debut novel, from an author with a sharp eye for satire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    My wife kept reading aloud

    My wife loved this book so much she kept reading me the funny parts aloud--which meant I got no sleep. Okay, okay, I admit it... I wanted her to keep reading aloud because those funny parts were really, really funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    A clever, fun, 'escape' of a read

    I just finished this book... and can't believe how much FUN it was to read!!!! The story is extremely clever and amusing... and gives you a hilarious vies into an elite world that most of us will never know. The author does a great job of bringing the characters to life, making them 'human' and making you care about them. The family portrayals were great... I couldn't wait to see which kids got in to which schools!! And I also thought the romantic story lines were very well done... I loved the fact that there were two love interests... and the fact that both were so attractive that I couldn¿t even decide which one I wanted the heroine to end up with. I was sorry when the story ended¿ and can¿t wait to see what the author writes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2