Customer Reviews for

Ivy and Bean (Ivy and Bean Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Ivy & Bean book #1- Great book!!!

My daughter is 6 & primarily loves Fancy Nancy books well we had read all of those so I was looking for something similar. I FOUND IT! We LOVE this book even my son liked it, who is also 6. I am going to be purchasing more from this series that is for sure. I love the c...
My daughter is 6 & primarily loves Fancy Nancy books well we had read all of those so I was looking for something similar. I FOUND IT! We LOVE this book even my son liked it, who is also 6. I am going to be purchasing more from this series that is for sure. I love the contrast between Bean who is a tomboy, loves creating "adventures for the to get into and Ivy who at first you think is a girlie girl but soon find out she has a few crazy ideas of her own. I recommend this book highly!

posted by 3043178 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

ZERO

LETS MOVE ON BARNES AND NOBEL..... PLEASE DONT HAVE ANOTHER REPEAT OF THE SAME SELECTION OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!!! NITEHAWKIM14@Y

posted by 16598426 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ivy & Bean book #1- Great book!!!

    My daughter is 6 & primarily loves Fancy Nancy books well we had read all of those so I was looking for something similar. I FOUND IT! We LOVE this book even my son liked it, who is also 6. I am going to be purchasing more from this series that is for sure. I love the contrast between Bean who is a tomboy, loves creating "adventures for the to get into and Ivy who at first you think is a girlie girl but soon find out she has a few crazy ideas of her own. I recommend this book highly!

    55 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Who can hate Ivy and Bean??

    They are awesomeee!!! I love them!!! ;)))))) theres nothing negative to say about them

    36 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    LOVE IT

    I love ivy and bean

    29 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Seven-year-old Bean does not want to be friends with Ivy. Her mother keeps telling her that Ivy seems like a very nice girl, but Bean knows what that means. Nice means prim and proper and sitting quietly reading big books. Nice means boring.

    At least, Bean thought Ivy was boring. When she plays a trick on her big sister and Ivy offers a quick hiding place, Bean isn't so sure. Nice is supposed to be boring. And Ivy does seem nice. But she's also training to be a witch. Besides, how nice can anyone be who has a vast supply of face paint, her own wand, and a spell that involves lots of worms?

    Bean and Ivy didn't plan to be friends, but they might be a perfect match in Ivy and Bean (2006) by Annie Barrows and Sophie Blackall (illustrator).

    Ivy and Bean is the first book in the series which is very popular with younger readers. The text is not as advanced as the Clementine or Ramona books but the characters all have similar qualities that will appeal to readers looking for girls with spunk. This story was not as compelling, for me, as the Clementine series but it was a fun fast read that will work for young readers and reluctant readers. Blackall's illustrations add a lot of appeal with her delightfully horrifying pictures of Bean's horrible older sister and Ivy's wonderfully scary witch attire.

    There are some surprisingly vocal negative reviews (seen on Amazon) accusing the book of promoting everything from bad behavior to witchcraft. To such concerns all I can say is books don't make ill-behaved children anymore than guns kill people all on their own. At its core Ivy and Bean is nothing more and nothing less than a sharp book about two singularly creative girls who are ready and willing to make their own fun be it with pranks or a new friendship.

    Possible Pairings: Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker and Marla Frazee, Dessert First by Hallie Durand and Christine Davenier, Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    It's good!

    I loved it! Cant wait to get #2

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    So good!

    This book is so good!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Ivy and Bean is a really great book to read!!!

    I really enjoyed reading "Ivy and Bean" these 2 girls never wanted to meet.Bean didn't even need Ivy,all the kids in the neighborhood came to Bean so they could play.And Ivy didn't need Bean,she was more interested in magic and potions... but Ivy and Bean meet.i would tell you more but then i'll end up telling yal the whole story.i really think u should read this book.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Paris

    I remember last year when my mom said I could pick out any book. I picked Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but Mommy was bugging for me to check out Ivy and Bean. But I was like " Diary of a Wimpy Kid is good. " And then when I started 2nd Grade, My teacher told us pick out a chapter book, by the time I got there, there only one left. And you guessed it. Ivy and Bean. Soon math class was over. And my teacher said " Okay class, 20 minute break. Take out your chapter books." And then I read it. I fell in love with it!!!!!! I recommend this to people who start 3rd Grade ( that is the grade that im in ). Signed, a Ivy and Bean fan, Paris.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Love

    I love this book

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    ?...

    It was an easy read but great wish they were longer

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Ivy + bean

    This book does not really deserve bad comments

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!

    Ok, so I am tweleve and i still love these books!!! I have been reading them since, i dont know , since i was 7? six??? I love these books and in my mind, anybody can read this book and still have a good time with it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Adore this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good book!

    It is a good book with trost and friend ship. Thats why i think it shood be a 4 stare

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Awsome

    The first book is amazing, so if you like the first book, THEN DON' T BE CRAZY AND JUST READ THE WHOLE AWSOME SERIES!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ivy and Bean is a juicy, fantastic book

    The main charactors in the book Ivy and Bean are Ivy and Bean. Bean plays a trick on her older sister then Ivy needs to help. It is always a nice, blazing hot day when their adventures begin. Her mom would be so mad at her and ground her for her life.

    My favorite part of the book is when Ivy helps Bean do a halarious
    trick on her older sister, Nancy. I don`t want to tell you what happens so read Ivy and Bean to find out!!!!!!!!!

    I think it is a great book to share with your friends and I also love this book because it is about friends. It is a great book to read to your friends to have fun. I think you can count at least 20 adjectives in this book. Also if you don`t have a lot of friends you can learn how to get friends in this book.

    I would recommend all kids to read Ivy and Bean. That is why Ivy and Bean is a great book for kids!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Series with a Great Story Line

    My daughter really enjoys reading Ivy and Bean. She is in 1st grade and it challenges her reading skills. She has recommended this series of books to her friends.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I love it!!!!!!!

    I love Ivy and Bean I have book 1,6,7,and 8 and Bean is my favirite because she has really funny and she is so like me I'm funny and I make fuuny noises and I have ideas like and I have brown hair and si does Bean.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Best book

    I love the ivy and bean books! They are toatss my fav<3

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Reply to is this a kids book

    Yes, this is a kids book...its really cute

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11