BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Izzy, Willy-Nilly

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

:) :D

Izzy has always been a good girl, A student, pretty, and OK with boys. But when the cutest guy in school asks her to go with him to a party. Her parents are OK with it and she has a blast. Up until she has to leave. Her date has been drinking and is a little out-of-it. ...
Izzy has always been a good girl, A student, pretty, and OK with boys. But when the cutest guy in school asks her to go with him to a party. Her parents are OK with it and she has a blast. Up until she has to leave. Her date has been drinking and is a little out-of-it. Everyone offers her a ride but her date takes her home anyway. Well let's just say he was moe drunk than everyone thought. He rams them into a tree causing Izzy's leg to gey infected. The docter tells her, her leg has to go. Yah, that's right, Izzy's leg is amputated. The rest of the book is about her recovery and a life lesson she will never forget.

posted by paigeturner77 on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Izzy Isn¿t So Willy Nilly

Legs are to humans as flippers are to seals. Izzy Willy Nilly was a fantastic book written by Cynthia Voight. The main characters are Izzy also known as Isobel, her mom, her dad and her friends Lauren, Lisa, and Suzy. Izzy gets into a car crash when she got into a car w...
Legs are to humans as flippers are to seals. Izzy Willy Nilly was a fantastic book written by Cynthia Voight. The main characters are Izzy also known as Isobel, her mom, her dad and her friends Lauren, Lisa, and Suzy. Izzy gets into a car crash when she got into a car with a drunken friend. Now Izzy has to get her leg amputated off. Izzy gets her leg amputated but still has the knee part of her body so they can put a fake leg on her. In one point in the book Izzys¿s friends visited her in the hospital but didn¿t act like themselves. They were acting like they didn¿t want to be there because of her missing leg. After that a girl from school named Rosamunde visited her and they became friends quickly. Rosamundes and Izzys friendship turns out to be better and stronger then with Laurens her old friend. Loosing a leg is harsh but gaining a friend is great! Izzy Willy Nilly was actually not the greatest book. Most of the time Izzy just complained about her leg. But the book was a bit interesting because Cynthia Voight wrote it in a good way. Izzy Willy Nilly was an over all bummer of what I thought it would be. Many people read different kinds of books. I recommend this book to people who like to read about people who lose body parts and over come the problem. Also if you like to read challenged books this book is for you. It was among many challenged books. The age of people who want to read this book should be between the ages of 10-15. If you like exciting adventure books this is not the book for you. Recommendations can be helpful and may not be.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    :) :D

    Izzy has always been a good girl, A student, pretty, and OK with boys. But when the cutest guy in school asks her to go with him to a party. Her parents are OK with it and she has a blast. Up until she has to leave. Her date has been drinking and is a little out-of-it. Everyone offers her a ride but her date takes her home anyway. Well let's just say he was moe drunk than everyone thought. He rams them into a tree causing Izzy's leg to gey infected. The docter tells her, her leg has to go. Yah, that's right, Izzy's leg is amputated. The rest of the book is about her recovery and a life lesson she will never forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Izzy, Willy-Nilly: An Unforgettable, Life-Changing Novel That Gives Teenagers a Different Perspective On Drinking and Driving And Its Consequences!

    Izzy, Willy-Nilly is about a 15 year old girl named Izzy Lingard who has to deal with a disability for the rest of her life. Izzy has everything in life: a supportive family, fantastic friends, and has a spot on the cheerleading team. A senior named Marco Griggers asks Izzy out on a date. Little did she know it would end in a disastrous car crash, losing her leg. This accident changed her life forever, making her life become a challenge. Her friends don't want to be friends with a cripple and her family doesn't understand how she really feels. Suddenly the dorky, no-nothing girl at school named Rosamunde offers her hand in friendship. Rosamunde may be the only person to help Izzy conquer her new life. Izzy, Willy-Nilly only had a few themes/messages including being happy with who you are and what you look like because things could have always been worse, knowing who your real friends are, and making good decisions about a person you just met. Even though Izzy lost her leg from the car accident, nothing worse happened like being on the verge of dying or having a terminal illness. Izzy wasn't going to feel like herself for awhile, but that didn't mean she would completely change. People continuously told Izzy, "How could such a horrible thing happen to such a nice girl." Her sweet personality toward others never changed, but she was more self-conscious with her physical appearance and didn't want people staring at her all the time. In reality, this accident made Izzy stronger! Knowing who Izzy's real friends were helped her realize who she was again. Her three old best friends weren't as close to her after the accident and wouldn't be caught dead with a cripple. Rosamunde, the dorky girl, comes in wanting to be Izzy's friend. She's always honest and open with Izzy and said she would be there for her. This wasn't the type of friend Izzy would ever have, but Rosamunde made Izzy feel like herself again. The last theme was getting to know a personto make a good decision. In this case, Izzy made a bad decision. Izzy hardly even knew this senior and got in the car with him when he had too much to drink. That was a very poor decision. What I liked about this novel was how it was realistic. It really made me look and think about life in a whole new perspective and how quickly a life could change due to drinking and driving. It's scary what a drunk driver could do to change people's life in an instant. I liked the way the author portrayed ideas to the reader by making the novel so realistic; it makes it more interesting to read and you're able to put yourself in Izzy's shoes! The only thing I disliked about the novel was that it was repetitive. When Izzy was at the hospital, all the days were like the first day. Nothing had ever changed. Someone should read this book because it's a very good life lesson for teenagers who have or will experience drinking and driving and its effects on a person. It was interesting and it was easy to relate to Izzy's position. It was a real page turner, with challenges and obstacles Izzy faced. It's a quick read and easy to understand. It's a novel to cherish and is relatable in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    izzy wiilly nilly

    i think that this book was very good and that it is good for young girls to read (and buys of course) it was intresting and entriging i liked it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    What a way to start your life.

    I thought that this book was awesome. I loved how it was so precise with the details. I felt like it was happening in this town and was one of my friends. I thought that this is how real situations are and that the people who make the accident happen don't even feel sorry for the people that got hurt. I think that this is a really good book to show what really happens when you go to a party with an upper classmen and they are drinking. So if you want to read a really good book about a hardship in a teen's life this is a wonderful book to show you that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Izzy

    "Please just fu<_>ck me." She adjusts herself on the counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Izzy Willy-Nilly is a very good and intersting book. It made me

    Izzy Willy-Nilly is a very good and intersting book.
    It made me think about all the things you have to think through before you do something.
    It's a book worth reading. it's a real eye opener.
    - nathally

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Its a good book with life lessons mixed in.

    The book Izzy Willy Nilly by Cynthia Voigt is about a fifteen year old girl, Isobel, who's life is immediately changed in one night. One night in high school Isobel, (called Izzy by her friends) went to a party with a senior guy she had a crush on and he had had too much to drink but decided to drive her home anyways. They got in a bad car accident and Izzy ended up having her left leg amputated. For a fifteen year old cheerleader, this was a life changing event. Most of her friends couldn't find time to visit her in the hospital and ignored her once she finally returned to school but she became good friends with a new girl, Rosamunde, who was not very popular at all. She always sees her little kid self in her mind to pass the time. When Izzy was happy she would try and imagine Little Izzy doing back flips and hanging out with her friends. But after the accident, Izzy would silently cry to herself because she knew everything was changing.
    Over all this book was a good read. I highly recommend this book for young teens like myself. You don't have to buy it, just check it out at your local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    a reviewer

    Eh, it wasnt the best book ive ever read, in fact i was a little disappointed, i wanted them to explain in the begining izzy's life, how her life was, explain it more, but yea, otherwise its a good book, i really did like the way the author had her cope with her injury.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Great Book

    the book was awesome i loved the way that rosamude helped izzy [isobel]actually find the real izzy the book was great and the best [art of it was the fact that izzy didnt hate her-self so much threw out the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    A reviewer from Lynnhaven Middle School

    I loved the book, and it was worth the time. But the only thing was that it sometimes just had a little too much information in it so after a while I kind of got a little bored. But I tend to do that on long books. But other than that I would recommend this book to almost anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    What happens when you DrInK & DrIvE

    I loved the book it really made people wonder about what can happen when you drink and drive and what can really happen. it made me also think how you can put other lives into dange when u drink and drive.even tho it all turned out well I still hope people really think next time they drink and drive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    great book...kinda sad though

    Izzy Willy Nilly was a great book and I loved it! Although it was kind of sad, I really enjoyed it. It was pretty much about a girl, Izzy, who gets in a car accident after going to a party with a senior who got drunk, and has to get her leg amputated. I know it sounds like it wouldn't be a good book because it might be really sad and boring to read, but it was great. Before the accident, she is so popular and everyone loves her. But after, when she ends up having a walker and a wheelchair, no one seems to care about her and she is no longer "popular." But she meets a girl, Rosamunde, who she had seen before but never paid attention to because she was not popular, and becomes friends with her. Rosamunde is a great person and Izzy thinks she is definitley a better friend than her other so called friends that she used to hang out with. Now that she has a fake leg, they ignore her and act like they don't know her. Izzy realizes that those are not real friends. This was a really good book and I recommend this for 13 year olds and up. READ IT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1