Customer Reviews for

The J. A. P. Chronicles

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. I didn't find it vulgar or offensive. It

    I enjoyed this book. I didn't find it vulgar or offensive. It was a funny "grown-up" mean girls book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Extremely Disappointing.....

    I have to agree with the other reviewers about this book being vulgar and offensive. It 'looked' excellent and had the potential to be so but began to fall apart mid-way with a lot of unnecessary junk that could have easily been left out. The general concept the writer had was great and could have been an excellent novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!!

    FANTASTIC!! Great read that you wont put down! The characters are wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Can't wait for another novel

    By just reading the 'about the author' in the back of the book, it would be easy to hate Isabel Rose. Not only is she lovely, but she is clearly intelligent (yale...?!) and a singer! I was slightly hoping that her writing abilities were less that admirable, but I was proven wrong. The JAP Chronicles is a realistic and very detailed view into the lives of very real women. Rose does not skimp on details and the book is impossible to put down. You will feel the pain and truthfullness of the characters. READ this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    surprisingly enjoyable

    I was expecting some lightweight nothing reading, and instead what I found was a well written story that reinforces the notion that there is much more to people than what can be seen on the surface, and that as wonderful as some people's lives appear, appearances often mask underlying pain. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    a surprise

    I was pretty much expecting this book to be a light, airy, fluffy deal, but it brought of some discussion of very serious issues such as sexuality, hazing, and molestation. This book tells the story of girls that have grown up after attending an elite Jewish girls sleepaway camp and their coming back to it for a reunion. The old group outcast is slated to make a movie about the camp for its anniversary, and she discovers secrets about all her old bunk mates. It was very interesting, but I'm not totally sure if I liked it or not. I would definitley say I have mixed emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    A Total Disappointment

    From the cover, I was expecting a light, fun, and funny book. As it turns out, The J.A.P. Chronicles was dark, depressing, insulting, and at times, vulgar and disgusting. The book seems to make light of issues such as gang rape, molestation, hazing, neglect, and abuse. From personal experiences, I do not believe that this book portrays at all what 'jappy' sleep away camps are really like or what happens to 'jappy girls' when they get older. How others could say that this is a 'quick, easy, and feel good book' is beyond me. I agree with another reviewer who wrote, 'You can't help feeling at the end that you are glad it is over, and that you were somehow tricked into reading it. Not a feel good novel.' I would not recommend this book to anyone that I know. It was truly a total disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Not what I expected!

    This book LOOKS better than it really is. It is raunchy, and even offensive. Some of those girls are really twisted! I Stopped reading it a little more than half way, I couldn't take it anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    i LoVed ThIs BoOk!

    I thought this was one of the best books i've read this summer so far. it was interesting to read about how the wealthier girls of society live.. i never went to camp, i dont live on the upper east side and ive never been to the Hamptons...typical JAP stereotypes :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    A Great Disappointment

    I was looking forward to reading this book, having grown up with J.A.P.s. I was hoping for a story about how the J.A.P.s were when they were younger, and how they changed as adults. Despite the author's writing about so-called 'defining moments' of the characters, none of them except one seemed to grow out of their self-centered, shallow ways. Their characters just grew more and more annoying as the book went on. Save your money and buy a book with more substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Be Still My Heart

    Sweetly sour but fun and lively, ¿The JAP Chronicles¿ is an excellent novel that will fill your days and nights with sinfully good humor. Seven bunkmates at an elite (and I do mean elite) summer camp are filmed years later in adulthood by the subject of their childhood torments who has grown up to be a documentary film maker. We delight in the fall from grace of each of the seven higher-than-thous. ¿The JAP Chronicles¿ is a welcome recommendation that I enjoyed to the same degree as ¿The Twins of Tribeca¿, ¿My Fractured Life¿, and ¿The Starter Wife.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Revolting

    Why anyone would care about the disgusting superficiality of these characters and their self-imposed problems of priviledge is beyond me. As a Jewish woman, I find the representation here abhorant. What's more, the writing is lazy and mean spirited, the pace is grindingly slow, and there is no pay off or satisfaction in the ending¿if you can get that far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Get Your Summer Reading Started

    I finished this fantastic book in day by the pool! It has it all: great characters, witty dialogue and fun and believable situations. I highly recommend this winsome and cafefree book for anyone looking for pure escapism from summertime blues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting relationship drama

    Though a decade has passed since the magnificent seven were bunk mates at prestigious Willow Lake Camp, one of the them award winning filmmaker Ali Cohen has been invited back to film the hundredth anniversary celebration. She was the outsider treated poorly and tortured constantly by her six Jewish American princess bunk mates. In spite of her success, Ali remains haunted by what they did to her so she proposes a documentary on the pivotal moments in the lives of the antagonistic six hoping that God has punished each one of them. Not long after the reunion, Ali concludes there is a God. Dafna no longer has daddy's twenty thousand dollars a month allowance, a job or a spouse. Beth is planning her marriage but desires the photographer not the groom. Arden resides more in rehab than in her home. Jessica is a wannabe actress unable to break out of regional summer stock. Laura is a successful talent agent, but struggles with a lump on her breast. Finally public enemy number one Wendy, wife and mother, hides her affair with a woman. Ali is ready to expose the seven deadly sinners. --- THE J.A.P. CHRONICLES is an interesting relationship drama that enables the audience to see how bullying can hurt a person years after the events have occurred; people do not let go. The characters seem real and unique as Isabel Rose insures her ensemble has differing personalities that each retains throughout the tale. Though seemingly heavenly retribution to each sinner darkens the tale with overkill that takes away from the reality, fans of insightful character studies will enjoy this strong story.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Lots of Fun With JAPS Who Redeem Themselves

    Seven diverse women, formerly bunkmates at summer camp years ago, gather at a camp reunion being filmed for a documentary by one of the women. The filmaker, Ali Cohen, has been harboring a deep pain relating to a horrible incident that had occurred at the camp involving two of these bunkmates. Secretly, Ali plots to gain revenge on her main tormentor by exposing that woman's darkest secret on film. Ultimately, however, redemption and forgiveness reign and Ali and most of the bunkmates find a new happiness with themselves and with each other. And all of this is incrediubly FUNNY. Author Isabel Rose paints great comic portraits of her seven JAPs, creating side-splitting humor by placing them in situations they are woefully ill-equipped to handle. But handle them they do, and in the process, they achieve the growth and gratification they have long sought but never really knew how to find. Rose makes us laugh by lampooning the JAPs' materialistic world in which nothing is everything and everything is nothing -- then shatters that world and shows us how their basic human longings drive them to discover what really matters in their lives. A very rewarding book. Uproariously funny, very very sexy, pretty darn poignant, and an ending that will draw some tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Great Summer Read!

    As a Jewish woman I can completely relate to this book and the characters in it. These women are ones who I have grown up with, gone to camp with, and attended school with. People are not always as they appear on the surface and this book demonstrates that point. For any girl who is confident enough to call herself a 'Jap' this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    very funny and surprising

    I started this book expecting a fun read. I got that and much more, a very funny, very surprising, utterly engrossing story, more Mary McCarthy than Helen Fielding. A sometimes scathing, always witty, and ultimately very moving look at a 'group' in a period in time and their struggles with love, marriage, children and identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1