Customer Reviews for

JFK and the Unspeakable: Why He Died and Why It Matters

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Compelling read

Just finished " JFK and the Unspeakable". For anyone intrigued by the implausibility of the Warren Repot and the mysterious silence surrounding the assassinations of JFK, RFK, Oswald, and MLK in the 1960's this is a must read. Painstakingly researched and well presente...
Just finished " JFK and the Unspeakable". For anyone intrigued by the implausibility of the Warren Repot and the mysterious silence surrounding the assassinations of JFK, RFK, Oswald, and MLK in the 1960's this is a must read. Painstakingly researched and well presented, hard to put down,totally engrossing, can't wait to pass it on to friends. The conclusions are familiar but most disturbing.

posted by crawl on October 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

JFK and The Unspeakable, Why He Died and Why it Matters.The story of the Kennedy years, and the events and conditions that lead to JFK's death.

This book, JFK and the Unspeakable, is for the serious student of Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon years in general, and the Kennedy Assassination in particular. It is an very detailed chronology of events and conditions that preceded, and lead up to, the assassination of JFK. I...
This book, JFK and the Unspeakable, is for the serious student of Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon years in general, and the Kennedy Assassination in particular. It is an very detailed chronology of events and conditions that preceded, and lead up to, the assassination of JFK. It is an excellent resource book to be used as the reader decides for himself if the assassination was the act of a lone deranged gunman, or the product of a conspiracy by the CIA and the "Military Industrial Complex." To this end, the chronology of events serves to introduce the student to ALL the characters, be they participants in these historical events as viewed by the Warren Commission, or the Conspiracy Theory pursued by Louisiana prosecutor Garret. This chronology is one of the book's strengths, do not look to be entertained, as this is not the writer's purpose.
With the Kennedy assassination being the subject of so many prior writer's, the author starts from a unique perspective. First, he seems to elevate JFK to the level of a martyred saint, who was brought down because of his progress towards ending the cold war. This effort at world peace had come about by working together, "under the table", with Soviet Primer Krushchev, and Cuba dictator Castro. Much documentation is provided to support this premise, and I considered it one of the books strongest claims to "new insights." It was interesting to note that Krushchev was out of power within a year after JFK's assassination. Both he and Kennedy seemed to be more ready for an end to the cold war than the other leaders of either man's country. The growing relationship between these two world leaders was described in detail by Krushchev's son, in his memoirs. I found this theme to be one of the most enlightening parts of the book.
Another unique approach used by the author, made no sense to me; the introduction of the Trappist monk, Thomas Merton, who the author claimed to have special insights into the events of the times, was prevented from publishing a manuscript on the subject. This supposed "Nostrodomus" was forced to express his views through letters from his residence at the Abbey of Gethsemani, in Kentucky to such famous world people as Clare Boothe Luce. Also, the author seem to be trying to weave the pope and the Catholic Church into the story, but never seemed to carry this line to completion. I failed to see how this entire theme contributed to the book. However, it seemed to be more of a side light and as such did not take away from the strengths of the book's chronology.
Finally, the end of the book seemed to leave me hanging. The original sub title "Why He Died, and Why it Matters, seems to be unanswered. The book will remain on my book shelf to use as a reference for future discussions on this subject. I might add that my interest in this book comes from two sources. First, it is clear that a majority of today's Americans believe that Kennedy's death was the result of a conspiracy. I believe that decaying of our governments "credibility" in the eyes of her citizens was one of the greatest results of JFK assassination, and its presumed cover up. This was why the "Unspeakable" really mattered! Secondly, "Watergate" under the Nixon administration, was a part of my daily life, during my military career, and any study of Watergate and Nixon, must begin with JFK's death.

posted by FCP on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Compelling read

    Just finished " JFK and the Unspeakable". For anyone intrigued by the implausibility of the Warren Repot and the mysterious silence surrounding the assassinations of JFK, RFK, Oswald, and MLK in the 1960's this is a must read. Painstakingly researched and well presented, hard to put down,totally engrossing, can't wait to pass it on to friends. The conclusions are familiar but most disturbing.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    JFK and The Unspeakable, Why He Died and Why it Matters.The story of the Kennedy years, and the events and conditions that lead to JFK's death.

    This book, JFK and the Unspeakable, is for the serious student of Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon years in general, and the Kennedy Assassination in particular. It is an very detailed chronology of events and conditions that preceded, and lead up to, the assassination of JFK. It is an excellent resource book to be used as the reader decides for himself if the assassination was the act of a lone deranged gunman, or the product of a conspiracy by the CIA and the "Military Industrial Complex." To this end, the chronology of events serves to introduce the student to ALL the characters, be they participants in these historical events as viewed by the Warren Commission, or the Conspiracy Theory pursued by Louisiana prosecutor Garret. This chronology is one of the book's strengths, do not look to be entertained, as this is not the writer's purpose.
    With the Kennedy assassination being the subject of so many prior writer's, the author starts from a unique perspective. First, he seems to elevate JFK to the level of a martyred saint, who was brought down because of his progress towards ending the cold war. This effort at world peace had come about by working together, "under the table", with Soviet Primer Krushchev, and Cuba dictator Castro. Much documentation is provided to support this premise, and I considered it one of the books strongest claims to "new insights." It was interesting to note that Krushchev was out of power within a year after JFK's assassination. Both he and Kennedy seemed to be more ready for an end to the cold war than the other leaders of either man's country. The growing relationship between these two world leaders was described in detail by Krushchev's son, in his memoirs. I found this theme to be one of the most enlightening parts of the book.
    Another unique approach used by the author, made no sense to me; the introduction of the Trappist monk, Thomas Merton, who the author claimed to have special insights into the events of the times, was prevented from publishing a manuscript on the subject. This supposed "Nostrodomus" was forced to express his views through letters from his residence at the Abbey of Gethsemani, in Kentucky to such famous world people as Clare Boothe Luce. Also, the author seem to be trying to weave the pope and the Catholic Church into the story, but never seemed to carry this line to completion. I failed to see how this entire theme contributed to the book. However, it seemed to be more of a side light and as such did not take away from the strengths of the book's chronology.
    Finally, the end of the book seemed to leave me hanging. The original sub title "Why He Died, and Why it Matters, seems to be unanswered. The book will remain on my book shelf to use as a reference for future discussions on this subject. I might add that my interest in this book comes from two sources. First, it is clear that a majority of today's Americans believe that Kennedy's death was the result of a conspiracy. I believe that decaying of our governments "credibility" in the eyes of her citizens was one of the greatest results of JFK assassination, and its presumed cover up. This was why the "Unspeakable" really mattered! Secondly, "Watergate" under the Nixon administration, was a part of my daily life, during my military career, and any study of Watergate and Nixon, must begin with JFK's death.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    JFK: HIS DEATH MATTERS TODAY

    JFK and the Unspeakable utilizes information from documents that have been released since the film "JFK helped to force the creation of the AARB. The author's conclusions are well founded, and backed up by factual information.
    Inevitably, Mr. Douglass will automatically be attacked from some fronts merely for the stance that he defends, and not the information it is based on. He does an admirable job of tying together many facets of the assassination in a way that enlightens the reader.
    If you find this subject of particular interest, or wish to know more about the events, this is a wonderful read.
    Thank you, Mr. Douglass for your work.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    James Douglass' well-written, exhaustively reasearched book makes a compelling case for the argument that JFK's conversion to peacemaking sealed his fate at the hands of the CIA and the Generals. This is an important book which should be read by everyone who seeks to know the truth about Kennedy's Presidency and assasination. The implications for today are alarming!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I am loving this book.

    I've read many books about the JFK assassination, but this one by far is the most eye-opening for me. It's written in a way that's very readable, and the author has obviously done meticulous research as evidenced by his many, many pages of references. I can't put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    James Douglass is dead on with his analysis of the JFK assassination.

    The years and years of research that Douglass has done gives us an all consuming analysis of the assassination and its' reasons. This reading is complex and takes great consentration to follow the characters and logic that led to our own government overthrow of its' president. The detail and documentation that Douglass provides leaves no doubt on the how's, why's, and who's of the assassination. The accumulation of irrefutable evidence woven throughout the book not only provides answers to the JFK assassination but allows us to understand other such unspeakable deeds that have happened in our society and the knowledge of the distinct possibility of more of these acts in our future.
    The reading of this book is only for those that are committed to and can handle the truth.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    To understand the present you must understand the past. I've on

    To understand the present you must understand the past. I've only recently come into the true nitty gritty of JFK research, i used to be someone who just assumed the government had a hand in his murder but this book really makes a hard to deny case for that very conclusion. While, to this day, the details, contradictions, poor investigative actions on part of the Warren Commission can be seen and researched what really sets this book apart from all those others, many great books in their own right, is the fact that this book concentrates on JFK's politics, his worldview and how he truly believed in exercising the powers of his office as a true leader and not some corporate puppet. If you are still on the fence or aren't willing to admit the possibility that dark forces within our Military Industrial Complex and national security state are capable of such a despicable and treasonous act, read this book, see the evidence for yourself. NSAM 263, the Chicago Plot, Oswald's "defection" to Russia are only a few of the compelling pieces of evidence that should open your eyes to what really happened on November 22nd 1963. If that still isn't enough for you then remember this... JFK and Allen Dulles were blatant political enemies, their animosity toward each other having been established in his dealings with Africa in the fifties and later when Kennedy outright fired him as a result of the Bay of Pigs fiasco. Allen Dulles was then put in charge of the Warren commission to investigate the death of the man he hated. If that doesn't seem like a red flag to you, i'm sorry for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended! A MUST READ!

    GREAT!

    THE BEST BOOK THAT I READ IT IS A GREAT SORCE OF INFORAMTION FOR JFK: LIFE AND HIS ASSIAINIATION.

    CLASSICLY WRITTEN LIKE A TRUE ARTHOR!

    I THINK TEENS WHICH I AM ONE, DONE PICK UP BOOKS BEACSUE THERE IS NOT ENOGUH BOOKS OUT THERE LIKE THIS ONE!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Anyone who is a intrigued by the Kennedy Assassination

    Great read and theory.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Highest recommendation

    James Douglass has compiled a pivotal work on the JFK assassination. He writes from an unusual (for this genre) perspective: he is a theologian, thus his approach is fresh and nearly unique. The result is a narrative that interweaves much of the (now) forgotten truth of JFK presidency, (i.e. how events affected his understanding and growing mistrust of the military-intelligence complex) with information now available through accepted historical sources that clearly refute the official "lone-nut-with-a-cheap-gun" hypothesis. Douglass reminds us that the historical record demonstrates that Kennedy was increasingly at odds, to put it mildly, with his military and intelligence advisors on nearly every issue. Time has clearly shown that his approach was the correct one but in the early 60's he was considered by the hawks as being treasonous. The events of the assassination, when reviewed against this backround, tell a far different story than, say, the Warren Report. A caveat: this book will, for want of a better word, "read" differently than any of the other assassination works. Douglass takes a theologian's approach to the events and at times compares them with the work of Thomas Merton, a well known anti-war activist. (An aside: Mertons works are well worth the read in their own right). If you are one of those "just the facts" people this will seem odd, but one of his points is that Kennedy was developing a peace policy designed to end cold war tensions and the looming treat of nuclear war. Some of Mertons writings are a lens through which to understand this. In any event his narration of the now publicly available facts leading up to that terrible day in November of 1963 refute the official version(s) and leaves the reader with a much clearer understanding of what actually happened. Footnotes support every claim and comment. If you read only one book on the JFK assassination, read this one. It's really that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended, a must read.

    This book is one of three I recommend; "and we are all mortal" and "A Certain Arrogance", both by Georg Michael Evica, and LBJ: The Mastermind of the Assassination of JFK". This book relates more to the policies of JFK which relulted in his murder by the CIA and the cover-up by the "patsy" Lee Harvey Oswald. It relates to the "back-channel" machinations of JFK in working with both Fidle Castro and Nikita Kruchev to find a solution to the "Cold War" and the "military-industrial" complex which former president Dwight Eisenhower had rightly predicted would be a problem for whomever would fllow him to the White House. A well-thought examination of the facts as known at the time. We now have further evidence from which to draw other conclusions, but a truly great beginning from which to develop our study into the assassination of John Fitzgerald Kennedy and possibly Martin Luther King and Robert F. Kennedy. Charles Warren Francis Munro

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This book is simply amazing. I am always interesting to find out more about the JFK assaination, this book is in the top 3 books that i read about JFK assasination. However, i recommend that you read "Profiels in Courage" first then, this book then "The Man Who Knew Too Much" a great book about a man who tried to stop lee oswald to kill JFK -as far as we know it was him (or an imposter).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    More revews from readers

    I just bought the book and just the first chapter I'm already so engrossed. I may continue to read it the whole day, and the next. Fascinating! I'll write a review on it 'soon as done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    I have read dozens of books on the JFK assassination and even di

    I have read dozens of books on the JFK assassination and even did a master's degree project on the subject.  This is in the top two or three books I have read on the subject.  Very in-depth, yet well written and the book seems to flow effortlessly.  It really pick up addressing the events in Dealey plaza.  The backgrounds on Cuba and Vietnam are interesting, and Douglass does a great job tying them into the assassination.  Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Very interesting.

    I am only about 60 percent finished. There are a lot of facts to digest so it takes more time to read thoroughly. I never questioned the more than one gunman theory but I do now. My son is also reading it but I have not had a chance to discuss it with him. I will right again when I have finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    An actual review contained herein

    Excellent - the author's perspective is unique and original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Scarear

    Sits

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Rainfall

    Hunts

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Saphirekit

    Picks up moss

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2