Customer Reviews for

Joe

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping, thrilling, suspenseful, and a complete masterpiece

    H.D. Gordon continues to surpass what I expect in her books and Joe is no different. Her writing grows by leaps and bounds with every page turning book she writes.

    Joe is a quiet clairvoyant that tugs on your heart strings. She says she is no hero but I strongly disagree. With all the hardships in her life I think most of us would end up in the fetal position. While she is nothing like Gordon's heroine Alexa, from the Alexa Montgomery series. She is just as much the warrior, maybe not the trained bad-ass, but a warrior none the less. This quiet girl with a stutter feels responsible for every vision she has and takes it upon herself to do everything in her power to stop her premonitions from coming to life.

    This book is written from eight different perspectives so that you get to know every character and silently root for them to make it through the majorly horrific encounter they might face. "The Decider" is the psychopath they will potentianlly face when he decides he will try to accomplish the largest body count ever in a school shooting. "The Decider's" point of view is chilling and I can't believe how real his scenes were, it was truly like seeing into his psychopathic nature. I found myself rooting for every character that this Psycho plans to slaughter. Six of these characters you can identify with, could even be you, and I prayed that they would all make it.

    The ending was utterly enthralling and I could not put it down, Gordon's "running scenes" never have I seen anything like this done before, never before have I read anything like this and was absolutely enthralled. If you read any other book this year... read this one. This heart pounding paranormal thriller has it all and it utterly magnificent.

    Just stop reading whatever you are reading and pick this up immediately.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    OMG....THIS WAS EPIC. The Story Joe is the type of person that

    OMG....THIS WAS EPIC.

    The Story
    Joe is the type of person that sticks to herself, she has not lived the easiest life and on top of that she can see snippets of the future. Sometimes, she sees a major event. This is the story of one said event, a student at her university is going to shoot up and bomb the school. This book chronicles how she handles this information, it also tells of a bit about the people who are also affected by this event.

    Likes and Dislikes
    -Okay, so my copy had a couple of errors...a name messed up here and there, but I think this was just due to calibre conversion.
    -Also, I didn't really care for Marion's side of the story. I kinda skimmed over it.
    --EVERYTHING ELSE was great. The writing poured emotion out of me, I cried at the ending. The author did a great job eliciting those emotions.
    --Joe was an amazing person and I felt connected to her while reading. I wanted to scream at the author and tell her to make Joe's life easier.
    --Michael, while this is not a romance story in the slightest, with Michael you know there is possibility and I sooooo badly want for that quiet romance, where the characters grow into each other. So in my minds eye, this is what happens after the book is over.

    Conclusion
    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I very much enjoyed this novel, and would both recommend it AND

    I very much enjoyed this novel, and would both recommend it AND am excited that it's a series (and that book two is already out - no waiting around, hooray!) Joe Knowe is a likeable character - quiet, reserved, and precognitive. She wants to do the right thing, but her fear of failure (and guilt from past failures) is almost crippling at times.

    The book is titled "Joe," but this isn't just Joe's story. The author weaves eight different perspectives throughout her narrative and alternates the POV between these characters who are all connected. Some of the connections were fleeting (two of the characters are lab partners; one of the characters is a student of the professor's) while others were more in-depth (like Michael and his interest in Joe). Joe herself is very likeable and appeals to readers who don't quite "fit the mold."

    I did have a little difficulty keeping the various characters straight at first, mostly because I wasn't expecting the multiple perspectives. I hadn't read any reviews of this book beforehand, just the blurb and excerpt, but I think if I'd known ahead of time that the story is told from multiple POVs they would have been easier to keep track of. I also would have liked to have seen an unlikeable (although not evil) character amongst those featured in the novel. All of the characters whose lives come together in the final conflict are good, decent people; a less-than-admirable character whose life would also be affected by the upcoming potential bloodbath would have provided a nice contrast.

    The author does get a lot right, however. This novel provides interesting insight into the mind of a psychopathic would-be mass murderer as he outlines the steps for his plans to propel himself into infamy. The pacing as the story moves towards the climax is almost spot-on; as the conflict draws near, the chapters get shorter which really helps to speed up the action and heighten the tension. Ultimately, as the conflict itself is happening, the chapters not only shorten but actually merge into one another, with the thoughts of one character blending into the thoughts of the next as the author shares each person's view of the events. I really liked this technique and thought that it worked very well. Also, the author has no qualms about "killing her darlings" – literally.

    This fast-paced supernatural thriller is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    A dark tale about clairvoyance and murder A dark, chilling tale

    A dark tale about clairvoyance and murder
    A dark, chilling tale that centers around one special girl, Joe, and her quest to stop a wanna-be mass murderer. Joe is a 21 year old college student at the University of Midwest Missouri State (UMMS) who, in her own words, is "...no exceptional beauty." She pretty much stays to herself and doesn't speak often, due to a pronounced stutter. She doesn't truly fit in, nor does she want to. You see, what makes Joe special is that sometimes she can see the future. Not like a Madame Zara fortune teller, but rather in snippets of events that will come to pass. She sees the mundane, she sees the somewhat serious, and in some situations, she sees the truly dreadful, horrific future...cataclysmic, huge events. Those types of events are preceded by an itching in her left palm, followed by an almost trancelike state where she unconsciously draws a depiction of the event with the No. 2 pencil that she always carries.One morning as she sits in her American Literature class she has one of these episodes, and when she glances down at what's been drawn, she sees a gruesome depiction of a mass shooting. Even worse than that, she recognizes the location as being on her campus in an area called 'The Quad'. Joe knows that this event will come to pass in just a few short days...unless she can find a way to stop it. But how?The narrative bounces back and forth between several characters who inevitably play different parts as the story unfolds. One of these characters is the would-be mass murderer himself, and we get a glimpse into the mind of a crazed psychopath. Fueled by his desire to have 'the largest body count' of any school shooting in history, he pushes himself to think of and plan for any contingency. But what he doesn't plan on is the clairvoyance of Joe, the raven-haired girl.This story gripped me from the very beginning, when I was first introduced into the mind of the killer. The characters are well developed and likable, and the plot kept me guessing until the very end. I would recommend this book for mature readers 16+, for some disturbing material.This book made it to my favorites shelf! Kudos to author H.D. Gordon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Joe’s gift is like that of ‘Isaac Mendez’ in H

    Joe’s gift is like that of ‘Isaac Mendez’ in Heroes, who could paint the future. That said, in Joe you are not reading just Joe’s story but that of the Decider, John, Claire, Marion, Eric, Mina, and Michael as well. A lot, right? I knew it would all tie up together and at the end it did, but still…to how many characters are you supposed to get attached in just one book? A killer for me right there.

    Another killer: Joe’s constant complain (at nauseam) that she is not a hero (when obviously she is), that she is a failure and a fool. I mean, I don’t look like Jennifer Aniston either but I don’t complain about 24/7. And how many times can you read “the raven-haired girl”? Her hair is black. I got it the first time, thank you.

    What I liked: the Decider. Have you ever wondered what goes in the mind of rampage killers (Aurora, Oak Creek – recently)? The Decider gives you a close idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Joe is a strange girl who struggles with visions of the future.

    Joe is a strange girl who struggles with visions of the future.

    This story is told from multiple points of view, but it couldn't flow more smoothly. I loved that you got to see what was going on with multiple people that would be involved the day of the shooting. I really loved Mr. Landry.

    Joe receives a vision of a shooter standing in the middle of a massacre at the college she attends. This is the only piece of the puzzle she receives though and she needs to figure out when this horror will happen and how to stop it. She has received visions in the past, but has not been very successful preventing them. Will she be in the right place in enough time to help the potential victims, or will she fail yet again?

    HD Gordon's writing just gets better and better. I've read all of her novels and they just can't come fast enough. I received this book for review from the Goodreads group Pulp Fiction. Thanks for the opportunity to review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    H.D. Gordon tackles a serious subject without seeming too sentim

    H.D. Gordon tackles a serious subject without seeming too sentimental or movie-of-the-week, populating this rather mature work with astoundingly realistic characters and superb writing. "Joe" is one of the most suspenseful books I've read in awhile, rapidly building tension as the book proceeds, right up to the stunning conclusion. Emotionally satisfying (I admit it - I cried), this is a book that haunts you long after the final page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Joe is not the usual type of book I read, but I heard so much ab

    Joe is not the usual type of book I read, but I heard so much about it that I had to see for myself. It is a thriller written from eight different points of view. The author does a good job of developing each character and weaving them into a compelling story.

    Joe has a gift/curse of seeing the future. She never knows when these visions will come to her. This gift, coupled with her stuttering problem, has filled her life with ridicule and rejection. While attending college, she gets one of her visions and will have four days to try and prevent the coming massacre.

    I enjoyed this story even with the eight points of view. I would definitely recommend it to adults looking for a gripping thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I won’t rehash the blurb, it tells what you need to know a

    I won’t rehash the blurb, it tells what you need to know about what this book is about. I was glued to this book, all the way to the very climatic end. I will however say that it is told from eight point of views. This was definitely intriguing and different. Not many books are written this way. You get in the heads of key characters of the book. Knowing of their possible impending doom makes for a gut wrenching read, especially the role of the Decider. Definitely not for the light hearted or those searching for a light read. I did however, not care for the eight point of views. It felt a little jumpy to me. It was definitely done well though, like a massive web woven together expertly to pull together at the end and make one breathtaking story.

    When I say that I found this book seriously disturbing, I mean that in a good way. Not that being in the head of a psychopath is not disturbing, but I found Joe’s prospective even more so. Her life is haunting. One would akin it to a horror story almost. I won’t give anything away but I found her absolutely fascinating in how she has dealt with her life and all that has happened or been given to her, even in the darkest times of her life. She is a brave person if I ever saw one. Even portrayed as a quiet, reclusive and does her best to fade into the background due to her gifts and her ever present stutter. I understood her demeanor well but it also made it seem so lonely. I kept rooting for her the whole way through.

    Definitely not your everyday read, I highly recommend this book, it’s stomach twisting, intriguing and makes you hold your breath a little too long. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chilling

    Okay, so I finished this yesterday. I'm still struggling to review Joe by H.D. Gordon for a few reasons, but the main is this is not my normal read.

    I go for rainbows and sunshine, which this book had very little of. I'm a huge fan of H.D. Gordon and I still am. Although I did not like much of this book, I felt emotion throughout the whole thing. When I say I didn't like it, what I'm saying is I don't like to know the inner workings of a psycopath. I did not like being in his head. He was one major mess job, and that is the beauty of this book. Ms. Gordon has once again created characters that feel real.

    She has infused this story with tension and flat out horror if you ask me. I felt many things while reading Joe...sick to my stomach first thing...sorry for Joe...sorry for other characters...frustration for some of them...anxiety for all of them up until the end.

    I pretty much figured out what was going to happen before it did, but that didn't matter because it played out like a nightmare almost. Especially the climax where Joe has to face the Decider. That scene is written so well that it makes me gasp to think about it.

    Great job, Ms. Gordon...now I want more of Alexa Montgomery. LOL. She is more to my taste, but this was a book I will remember for a very long time.

    I do want to leave a warning here, though, this is not a book for children. 18+ in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I had never read anything from this author in the past, but I wa

    I had never read anything from this author in the past, but I wanted to review it after noticing a few people writing about it on their blogs, as well as being attracted by the kind of plot it deals with. It turned out to be quite the gripping novel in many aspects, and I found myself drawn to it more and more with each page.

    The themes perused in the book are of the kind that tend to hit home. Enjoy life while it lasts, because you never know what will happen tomorrow. Don’t put back what matters until tomorrow, because tomorrow might just not come. It’s when you’re about to lose your life that you finally understand its worth. And, of course: if you were able to foresee such a terrible event as presented in “Joe”, what would you do? Would you face it, even knowing there’s no chance to win? Or would you run away, saving your life at the cost of that of dozens of people? Perhaps such themes will seem overrated or hackneyed to some readers, but to me, they always provide perspective and questioning, and I like that. I like being confronted with such conundrums.

    The eight people whose points of view we follow through the story all have questions and/or problems of their own to deal with. The almost-retired teacher with only two months left before she is ‘free’ from her job at last. The depressed student who’s taken a terrible decision. The kid who can’t wait to meet his teenage-years sweetheart. The single mother wondering if she should allow herself a new chance at loving, and find a new father for her children. The young man estranged from his family because of one mistake, with a fierce desire to get a new start. The killer—the Decider, with his cold point of view that will send shivers down your spine. And, of course, Joe herself, struggling with her insecurities, her power that may or may not be a curse, the decision she will have to make. All of them I found interesting to follow. All of them I wanted to see survive in the end. But from the start, you know that in such a story, not everyone will get a chance at life again. This inescapable conclusion is absolutely heart-wrenching.

    As a side note, the “eight POVs” aspect didn’t bother me. I’ve read stories with even more POVs than that, and here I think the voices of all those characters were introduced clearly enough each time (if only because their names are mentioned) to make them flow nicely. Also, the way they were used near the end was a clever addition, giving the feeling of cut scenes interweaving into each other. I quite liked that. The only thing I couldn’t determine until well into the novel was: why make Joe’s point of view the only one in the first person? I couldn’t decide if it was justified or not, because I feel the story would have worked just as well had it been in the third person. In the end, though, I chose to view it as a good point. It marks the centre of the whole web, gathers all the threads together, while setting Joe apart, which is also justified if we consider her odd ability that has always made her different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1