Customer Reviews for

J.R. Ward The Black Dagger Brotherhood Novels 1-4

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bugged

I don't recommend these. Get the books individually. I bought 1-4 and 5-8 as the sets and both gave me issues. It would get stuck on a page repeatedy throughout both. I would have to leave the book, open another book, turn a page or two for good measure, then go back to...
I don't recommend these. Get the books individually. I bought 1-4 and 5-8 as the sets and both gave me issues. It would get stuck on a page repeatedy throughout both. I would have to leave the book, open another book, turn a page or two for good measure, then go back to the set. Not worth it.

Other than that the books are amazing and I cannot wait till the next book in March.

posted by eBook_Girl on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Cost Less to buy individually

Each book cost $7.99 individually, which makes it $31.96 for all four, three cents less than this four pack

posted by 5730746 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Cost Less to buy individually

    Each book cost $7.99 individually, which makes it $31.96 for all four, three cents less than this four pack

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Bugged

    I don't recommend these. Get the books individually. I bought 1-4 and 5-8 as the sets and both gave me issues. It would get stuck on a page repeatedy throughout both. I would have to leave the book, open another book, turn a page or two for good measure, then go back to the set. Not worth it.

    Other than that the books are amazing and I cannot wait till the next book in March.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Better than GREAT!

    I knew I would like this series when my friends were all excited about it, but I never expected to be drawn in so quickly and totally to the world of the Brotherhood. This series has taken me on an emotional roller coaster ride that I wouldn't trade for anything! It is very well-written. There is plenty of excitement and twists and turns to every book. I like how each book teases you with tidbits of what is going to be coming up in more detail in future books where the other Brothers are featured. J.R. Ward does a fantastic job of hooking your interest and reeling you in for the ride from one book to the next. Every time I think I have a favorite character, I start a new book and change my mind again. I believe there were just the right mix of easy to figure out what will happen next situations and WTH, I never saw that coming situations to keep me glued to every single page! Just when I think I can't possibly get more emotionally involved with a character, I find myself bawling my eyes out with a new one. This is one journey I'm glad I didn't miss! Try it. If you are looking for an original world where humans, vampires, and other evil manage to co-exist without relying on shutting your brain off to accept the ridiculous, then you will enjoy this series. It is packed with action, suspense, and romance like nothing I've read before. I can't wait to dive in with books 5-8! Just don't ask me to pick a favorite!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    One word....outstanding!!!!!

    My friend told me about this series. I was reluctant bc I didnt want to be strapped down in reading a whole series (11 books) but Iwas glad I did. Knowing the btotherhood and how they loved there shellans, boy! What a ride! This author is brilliant with her made up vocabulary and the lessers. She has a vision that takes you to a vampire world that not only is centuries old, but modernized at the same time. The only peeve that i have is the abbreviations..... grrr! I neeed the web to look them up. ( girl, just write the words!) Plus, i don't see some of the male characters saying them- especially Wrath. Overall, A Must Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Not Enough Words.....

    This entire series is phenomenal. You'll be roped into the world so quick you'll wonder how you ever lived without these guys! Rage is so much like my own man its kinda weird, but in retrospect, each of them posses a quality that remind me of my man. Love them. And in my heart, Z is the greatest hero of them all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I wish I could read it

    This ebook doesn't work for me. I talked to Barnes & Noble customer support and they are supposedly looking into it. I'll update this review if and when they fix it, but until then I cannot advise buying it, since they don't give refunds on ebooks and I'm stuck with a product I can't read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I am so hooked on this series, I have read all nine books and pr

    I am so hooked on this series, I have read all nine books and pre-ordered # 10, they are by far the best I have read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    MUST READ SERIES!!

    This series is Awesome. I read the first four books in a matter of 3 wks, could not, and would not put the book down... I hooked all my friends and co workers into this series and they love them as much as i do...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Amazing

    These books are a great. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!

    Wonderful work. The set was the best way to enjoy the action and unraveling story. Glad to discover this author. Be sure to try it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Fantastic series!

    A must read series of books. You will not want to put these books down. They are an awesome read. J.R. Ward is a wonderful writer. The books are like ongoing stories and you really get to know all the characters. I look forward to each new book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great!!!!!!

    This is one of the best reads i had in such a long time..... could not stop myself from reading this series. J.R. Ward makes you want to live in the world of the Blac Dagger Brotherhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Best book series I have read so far!

    J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood is the best series I have read. I was so hooked after book 1 Dark Lover. I wanted more! I wanted to know about the other heroes! Ms. Ward does not fail with the delivery! I was lucky to have read the entire series back to back. After reading Dark Lover, I purchased the rest of the series. It was worth every penny! Much love for Ms. Ward's steamy, funny, heartbreaking, clever writing! I love the Hip-hop & rap music that I can clearly picture ( and heck even hear) when she implements it in her stories! THIS IS TRULY A MUST BUY, MUST OWN, MUST READ SERIES!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    The Black dagger brotherhood 1-4

    I was completely awe struck by the author's sheer genius. The writing, settings, and characters draw you into the world of vampires. You become apart of the lives and their battle against the Lessening Society. You walk away from this book wanting to get bitten, or mated, or both. You just want in their world so bad that you read every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Nothing negative

    Cannot say enough about his series. Love it love it love it! Have recommended it to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    I enjoy becoming a part of each Brothers life.

    I have laughed, cried and become so emotional over each Brother in these books. Amazing concept of vampires in these books, not the same ol' same ol'. Thank you J R Ward. A bit racey, but racey is good in these stories it is apart of their race.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Clever

    I love her brain and the way she writes their world. It's so complete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hooked on these books.

    Hooked on these books. Love the stories. Very descriptive and you can visualize what's going on. Gets you wanting to read more about the brothers and feeling their pain. Can't wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Kay

    Great the best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    One of the best so far!

    My favorite of all the books was lover awaken. Loved, loved, loved Zhadist and Bella! Ward’s vampire version brings a unique point of view to this common theme. Her vocabulary is hardcore, and sexy. The sex scenes are graphic, to say the least. I bought the compilation, given that one can’t ever just read one. Her books captivate you from the moment the first one is opened, till the moment you finish reading the last chapter of her latest one. Leaving you feeling anxiously yearning for the next one to be published. I love her style of storytelling. Yeah, yeah, the sex scenes are graphic, you want to be each and every one of the “Shellans,” but reading between the lines Ward does pop out with some real substantial life messages worth paying attention to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4