BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jack Reacher's Rules

Average Rating 3
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The first thing you should know about this slim, wonderful book

The first thing you should know about this slim, wonderful book is that it is not a novel, something that is immediately apparent, but is instead just what it states it is: A compilation of Rules fashioned by Jack Reacher, the iconic protagonist of 17 books by Lee Chil...
The first thing you should know about this slim, wonderful book is that it is not a novel, something that is immediately apparent, but is instead just what it states it is: A compilation of Rules fashioned by Jack Reacher, the iconic protagonist of 17 books by Lee Child, as well as a new eponymous film, and culled from all those novels.

All “rules” included will be familiar to the many fans of Mr. Child’s creation, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t bring smiles of recognition, and pleasure. The headings include such Rules as “Be Prepared,” “Breaking and Entering,” “Choose Your Weapons,” and 55 others.

There are a number of things within these pages under the heading of “Things you’ll never hear Reacher Say,” including “No more coffee for me” and “Call me on my cell,” guaranteed to elicit those smiles. There are tidbits such as instructions for “The best way to break a finger,” and “If you get a lift, give a destination. Saying ‘anywhere’ sounds like you’re a drifter who wants to go home with them,” enlightening if nothing else. There are also many factual sections that are very interesting, which many readers may know in a superficial way and which are given more detail here, e.g., The Wimbledon Cup [the Marine Sniper School competition]; West Point; the “10-“ Codes used by the Military Police; and “A Medley of Military Acronyms,” which includes The Patriot Act, which I never realized was an acronym: “Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act.”

These and others like them comprise the contents of this delightful book, sure to be a favorite of Reacher fans [“The Reacher Creatures,” as they are fondly known], an introduction for those not yet among that group, and a perfect holiday gift for members of both. Highly recommended.

posted by gloriafeit on November 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

i have read all of these books and tom cruise can not compare to

i have read all of these books and tom cruise can not compare to jack reacher. sorry guys but you picked the wrong fellow to follow in reachers shoes

posted by THEBIGBOSSY on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    i have read all of these books and tom cruise can not compare to

    i have read all of these books and tom cruise can not compare to jack reacher. sorry guys but you picked the wrong fellow to follow in reachers shoes

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Don't waste your money. This isn't a story. It's a lot of bull

    Don't waste your money. This isn't a story. It's a lot of bullet points and quotes from previous books. Definitely not worth $9.99.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first thing you should know about this slim, wonderful book

    The first thing you should know about this slim, wonderful book is that it is not a novel, something that is immediately apparent, but is instead just what it states it is: A compilation of Rules fashioned by Jack Reacher, the iconic protagonist of 17 books by Lee Child, as well as a new eponymous film, and culled from all those novels.

    All “rules” included will be familiar to the many fans of Mr. Child’s creation, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t bring smiles of recognition, and pleasure. The headings include such Rules as “Be Prepared,” “Breaking and Entering,” “Choose Your Weapons,” and 55 others.

    There are a number of things within these pages under the heading of “Things you’ll never hear Reacher Say,” including “No more coffee for me” and “Call me on my cell,” guaranteed to elicit those smiles. There are tidbits such as instructions for “The best way to break a finger,” and “If you get a lift, give a destination. Saying ‘anywhere’ sounds like you’re a drifter who wants to go home with them,” enlightening if nothing else. There are also many factual sections that are very interesting, which many readers may know in a superficial way and which are given more detail here, e.g., The Wimbledon Cup [the Marine Sniper School competition]; West Point; the “10-“ Codes used by the Military Police; and “A Medley of Military Acronyms,” which includes The Patriot Act, which I never realized was an acronym: “Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act.”

    These and others like them comprise the contents of this delightful book, sure to be a favorite of Reacher fans [“The Reacher Creatures,” as they are fondly known], an introduction for those not yet among that group, and a perfect holiday gift for members of both. Highly recommended.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I really enjoy these books and the Jack Reacher character.  Howe

    I really enjoy these books and the Jack Reacher character.  However, I will never go see any Jack Reacher book with Tom Cruise as  Jack.
    Are you kidding me.  6'5" 250 and Cruise is playing him.  
    Who cast him, the head of Scientology?
    Ridiculous.  Lee Child what were you thinking?
    Keep writing great books but get the right person to play Jack.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Terrible, not up to Jack Reacher standards

    This is the worst excuse for any book. A bunch of quotes from all the other books. I think Jack Reacher books are the greatest ever, but this used his name to get us to buy a bunch of crap. The only thing worse is the fact that Tom Cruise is playing Jack Reacher. Did anyone in Hollywood actually read any of the books??? Tom Cruse does not equal Jack Reacher.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Don't bother with the sample.

    I'm not sure why they bother offering a sample of 11 pages, which don't even get you through the index.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Definitely tongue-in-cheek. I was not expecting a story so I found this book to be quite enjoyable. Just imagine Reacher dictating his rules to live by, and you get this book. The real question is: can Tom Cruise accurately portray the larger-than-life Jack Reacher, no middle name, in the upcoming motion picture?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Liam Neeson should play Reacher.

    Has the size, physical and mental Intensity

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Cruise destroyed my image of my hero, I want my money back for e

    Cruise destroyed my image of my hero, I want my money back for every Reacher book I have read! Every one of them! It is too bad it allways comes down to money! I am done with Childs!


    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I have already read all of the Reacher series and find no new in

    I have already read all of the Reacher series and find no new information or entertainment in this one... And as for using Tom Cruise
    to portray Reacher, Bad Mistake... Cruise is a no talent wimp who can not come close to being believable as Reacher!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Why Tom Cruise?

    Simple. Cruise is a producer; he put up money to make the movie.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    OBVIOUSLY this is not a book -but a primer for REACHER CREATURES

    OBVIOUSLY this is not a book -but a primer for REACHER CREATURES... A good reference tool for the coming years for those of us still awake enough to care.
    I do have to agree with previous posts as to Mr Cruise (all 5'2" playing Jack) Hollywood casting needs a little work >I know they don't get reality but Tom as Jack and Lohan as Liz???

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Tom Cruise as Jack!? Yuck! Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson would be a

    Tom Cruise as Jack!? Yuck! Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson would be a much better choice!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Lestall

    No way Tom could be Reacher. I didn't even go see the movie just for that reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Tom cruise is no jack reacher

    Why would they choose tom cruise when jack reacher is supposed 2 be 6'4" and over 200 pounds...tom is a little guy.. plus Reacher has a no nonsense personalitly n Tom turned him in a soft spoken wuss... they should have picked the rock or vin diesel 2 play Jack Reacher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    Any Reacher fan would get a kick out of this book of "Reacherisms"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Huge Disappointment

    I read all Jack Reacher stories, but this one was obiviously just a preview for his movie. (By the way the movie was well done)
    This is the disadvatage of not being able to page through a book before buying)
    This will teach me to look at a preview on my nook b-4 ordering on my nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    A waste of $10

    The first 17 books were a good read, this was just a few pages copied out of them. It looks Lee needed a few dollars and faked a new book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Don't waste your money.

    Jack Reacher's Rules are interesting and many are good to know, but if you are a Reacher fan, you have already know his rules. This book just puts them all in one place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    ok

    Did not know it was a short book and not like the other ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3