Customer Reviews for

Jack Wakes Up

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I've "read" this book, and others of Harwood as Audiob

    I've "read" this book, and others of Harwood as Audiobooks (they are available in podcast form)
    I like, but don't love the stories. The endearing thing about this story, and the sequels, it that Jack KNOWS he's not the guy he played in the movie, but he jumps into the game anyway to clear his name, and avenge a friend.
    If you are into this genre, I recommend this book and the rest of the trilogy. Trust me, you won't be satisfied till you know how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Jack thinks he's bigger than he is.

    This novel is fairly trite. Seth Harwood's portrayal of Jack Palms as a washed up recovering addict actor detective wannabe is stale and unoriginal. The prose is full of predictable phrases and stereotypical characters. Harwood desperately wants to be a novelist along the lines of Charlie Huston...but he misses the mark with his debut novel. Maybe he can improve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, not great..

    "Jack Wakes Up" is a good noir / crime thriller!

    L.A., drugs & betrayal....

    The characters are good, the main character Jack Palms isn't quite the tough guy I thought he would be. The Czechs are great characters and have all the usual eastern European stereotypes built in. The bad guys really arent too bad at all unfortunately. Maxine, a stripper turned bartender is really the only female character in the book.

    This is not a five star book, but its a great first effort and I think Seth Harwood's writing will only get better!

    I enjoyed the book, the writing isn't quite on the level of Charlie Hustons' Hank Thompson trilogy "Caught Stealing", "Six Bad Things" & "A Dangerous Man", but you have to start somewhere. Also, the book doesn't have that raw feel to it, like Josh Bazell's "Beat the Reaper", but it trys hard.

    I've heard and read about this series having two more books including Jack Palms, I'm not sure if I'm going to read those, but I'll definitely be checking the reviews.

    visit Seth Harwood's website at:

    www.sethharwood.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Action packed thriller

    Seth Harwood used social media and the blogging world to take his first novel Jack Wakes Up climbing up the sales ranking charts at Amazon.com and into a book deal with Random House. Over 10,000 people are avid listeners, tuning in to his podcasts. And the new release from Random features a cover blurb from one of my favourite crime authors Michael Connelly. I just had to read it.

    Jack Palms was an action film start until drugs scuppered his career. He's been clean and sober for three years now, but money is becoming an issue. When an old Hollywood friend asks him to help show some clients a good time while they're in San Francisco, he agrees. But the clients are Czech drug dealers, possibly ex-KGB, their buyers are Columbian kingpins and the female bartender he's sleeping with may be serving up more than just drinks.

    It's getting a little crazy...and you know what? Jack's having a blast.

    Non stop action, a crazy plot, raw dialogue and yes, some laughs all add up to a really great read. Harwood's writing put me in mind of Elmore Leonard. Lots of pulp and violence. I can totally see this being made into a movie, a la Quentin Tarantino or Get Shorty.

    I don't think Harwood will have to work so hard to get his next book noticed.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, not great!

    "Jack Wakes Up" is a good noir / crime thriller!

    L.A., drugs & betrayal....

    The characters are good, the main character Jack Palms isn't quite the tough guy I thought he would be. The Czechs are great characters and have all the usual eastern European stereotypes built in. The bad guys really arent too bad at all unfortunately. Maxine, a stripper turned bartender is really the only female character in the book.

    This is not a five star book, but its a great first effort and I think Seth Harwood's writing will only get better!

    I enjoyed the book, the writing isn't quite on the level of Charlie Hustons' Hank Thompson trilogy "Caught Stealing", "Six Bad Things" & "A Dangerous Man", but you have to start somewhere. Also, the book doesn't have that raw feel to it, like Josh Bazell's "Beat the Reaper", but it trys hard.

    I've heard and read about this series having two more books including Jack Palms, I'm not sure if I'm going to read those, but I'll definitely be checking the reviews.

    visit Seth Harwood's website at:

    www.sethharwood.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic contemporary crime fiction at its best

    Jack Wakes Up is a great journey that never lets up, from the first word to the last. Jack Palms, a one-hit-wonder ex-actor, is hired to accompany a group of Czech gangster looking to play, but instead end up clashing with local crooks, ex-KGB thugs and the San Franciso police. Characters and settings are vividly drawn and dialog and action are dynamic and textured. The story is alive. I'm looking forward to more stories about Jack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    JACK WAKES UP IS A SMACK IN THE TEETH WITH A FROZEN ADRENALINE BAT!

    The title character is a washed up has been actor whose life was ruined by media hype. After too long out of the limelight, he stumbles into arguably the greatest role of his life. On his way to a comeback, he takes a left turn onto the crazy road of REAL life. European gangsters, drug dealers, crooked cops, smokin' hot chicks, and egos the likes of which are rarely seen outside of Hollywood, all conspire to WAKE JACK UP! Has Jack's acting career prepared him to get through this game of real life or real death, or will Jack finally realize that THIS--IS--LIFE??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1