Customer Reviews for

Jack and Jill (Alex Cross Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another Outstanding Cross Novel

Reading the series in order and have yet to be disappointed. If I were to rank them in order, Kiss the Girls would come first, followed closely by Jack and Jill and then Along Came a Spider. If you're new to the series, read them in order - the characters develop as...
Reading the series in order and have yet to be disappointed. If I were to rank them in order, Kiss the Girls would come first, followed closely by Jack and Jill and then Along Came a Spider. If you're new to the series, read them in order - the characters develop as you go and references are made to previous novels. Patterson has a great writing style and he has given us characters who are real and who we can enjoy. So glad I've finally started reading the Cross series.

posted by SlapShot62 on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A let down for Cross

A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running t...
A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running throughout the book. The Jack and Jill plot is resolved with some satisfaction, but I felt the other killer's tale to be lacking in resolution. Over all this is not the best Alex Cross novel out there.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Outstanding Cross Novel

    Reading the series in order and have yet to be disappointed. If I were to rank them in order, Kiss the Girls would come first, followed closely by Jack and Jill and then Along Came a Spider. If you're new to the series, read them in order - the characters develop as you go and references are made to previous novels. Patterson has a great writing style and he has given us characters who are real and who we can enjoy. So glad I've finally started reading the Cross series.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Alex Cross novel so far!

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Jack and Jill was my favorite. This novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    An oldy but a goody.

    Classic Patterson. Reading Alex Cross series in order & Jack & Jill is #3, I enjoyed it. So many twists and turns and never a true resolution, it held my attention.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    A let down for Cross

    A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running throughout the book. The Jack and Jill plot is resolved with some satisfaction, but I felt the other killer's tale to be lacking in resolution. Over all this is not the best Alex Cross novel out there.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    DISAPPOINTING!!!

    This book had many twists, all of which were unpredictable and riciting. However, there was no James Patterson flavoring. Moreover, the entire course of the book consisted of two seperate stories. So, it is natural to assume that at the end there is a connection of these stories (it even said there was on the back cover summary). However, THERE WAS NONE!!! The book eneded leading into the next Patterson book--a desperate marketing ploy. I was extremely disappointed in this ending as well as the storyline. However, it is worth reading (it was a good read).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Loved it!

    I am reading all the Alex Cross books. They are interesting and I can't put them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    And the Murderers Did It Because...

    CD/Abridged/Mystery/Spoilers: This is an older Alex Cross novel. I just finished Postcard Killers (a newer novel) about a month ago, and there are a lot of similarities with the J&J killers. The biggest mystery of the book was trying to figure out why the killers did it, which is never answered completely. At the beginning J&J are playing with a game board of some kind, but that is completely forgotten after a few chapters & has nothing to do with the motive. There are too many red herrings to the point of sloppiness. When it comes to the end, you're scratching you head b/c there were not any clues to the identity of the killers. Alex Cross has another case with children being murdered in a schoolyard. Again, too many red herrings and the killer's motive never is clearly seen. The killer is only after black children and you never know if it was just opportunity or racism. A point of note is that the future Mrs. Cross, Christine, is introduced. The reason I bought the audio was because John Rubinstein did part of the audio. He does the John Kellerman audios and in this plays all the killer's voices. Blair Underwood is the voice of Cross and he is awful. I may be biased, but I wanted Morgan Freeman because Underwood read too fast & it's hard to keep up the change in scene. Rubinstein was wonderful and did not jell will Underwood. Even with Rubinstein, I do not recommend this novel. The police work is sloppy and Cross never catches or IDs the killers. They make mistakes or turn on each other. You are never told a motive or if the Real Jack is playing the board game with the Real Jill or the Fake Jill. This book is a waste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    An Exciting Page-turner

    A well-written suspense story with several interesting twists. I would fault the novel for one simple reason, and that is its reliance on conspiracy theories. In the sciences, we follow the principal of Occam's Razor, that the simplest argument is usually the best. In modern parlance, it is known as K.I.S.S., or keep it simple stupid. Patterson is a devotee of the conspiracy theory...MLK, RFK, and JFK. This belief permeates Patterson's stories, and I feel detracts from them somewhat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Horrible!!

    I am typing this for my wife who after finishing this book last night launched the book into the bathroom. She then proceedd to yell at the book. All she did was whine about the horrible ending.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Lily

    She wrapped her tail around her paws. "Thank you."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Zixzan

    "No need too." "Now lets head back"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great read

    Great book, can't go wrong with James Patterson books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A great read- Alex Cross series

    Like all Alex Cross books, this one offers suspense and a page-turning experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Alex cross best series ever

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Terrific Read.. Action filled.

    James Patterson has grabbed me and caught my imagination with Alex Cross.. Great read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Excellent

    Great book, had you thinking the whole way. Right when you think you have it a wild change in facts throws you back to square one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I have no clue.

    Are these books apropiate for 12 and under?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    jack and jill

    Enjoy his books. Going to read the next one recommanded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Heartily recommend for all mystery/dectective readers.

    This is a tough book to put down. The background that Patterson puts to work in his efforts with the Alex Cross Series (Jack & Jill being one of the best) realistically depicts the good, bad, and ugly of today's law enforcement departments along with the mentally brilliant and crazy murderers they face in todays' well equipped world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book

    Highly recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18