Customer Reviews for

Jack and Jill (Alex Cross Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another Outstanding Cross Novel

Reading the series in order and have yet to be disappointed. If I were to rank them in order, Kiss the Girls would come first, followed closely by Jack and Jill and then Along Came a Spider. If you're new to the series, read them in order - the characters develop as...
Reading the series in order and have yet to be disappointed. If I were to rank them in order, Kiss the Girls would come first, followed closely by Jack and Jill and then Along Came a Spider. If you're new to the series, read them in order - the characters develop as you go and references are made to previous novels. Patterson has a great writing style and he has given us characters who are real and who we can enjoy. So glad I've finally started reading the Cross series.

posted by SlapShot62 on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A let down for Cross

A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running t...
A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running throughout the book. The Jack and Jill plot is resolved with some satisfaction, but I felt the other killer's tale to be lacking in resolution. Over all this is not the best Alex Cross novel out there.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    A let down for Cross

    A few years ago a friend of mine loaned me the first 2 Alex Cross novels. I liked Patterson's writing style, so I thought I'd read this next book in the Alex Cross series. I found this book lacking in direction with the storyline. It had two different plots running throughout the book. The Jack and Jill plot is resolved with some satisfaction, but I felt the other killer's tale to be lacking in resolution. Over all this is not the best Alex Cross novel out there.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I have no clue.

    Are these books apropiate for 12 and under?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    James Patterson can be accused of being hokey and at times his w

    James Patterson can be accused of being hokey and at times his writing certainly is but here in Jack And Jill he writes a compelling mystery with a competent yet flawed lead in Alex Cross. The villains are a serious threat and the mystery is a good one. Overall a good but not great read by one of America’s most popular writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    good book Great read

    Not bad good plot nice twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    so-so

    I am new to the Alex Cross series - but thoroughly enjoyed book #1 and #2. This one however, had too many plots happening at one time. I think the story would have been so much better if Patterson had chosen one to focus on...still a decent read overall. I will certainly finish the remainder of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Kept my interest but definately had its weak moments and holes in the plot. Could not believe all the typos

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    fair

    This isn't my favorite Patterson book, but was ine of the first I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    good

    It was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Good read!

    Enjoyed the story, always love anything by Patterson. Too many spelling errors, though. Very distracting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jack and Jill fell down the hill

    Jack and Jill had its high points (not very many) and its lows, quite often. The plot is pretty enthralling, an assassination attempt on the U.S. President as well as several other seemingly unrelated murders Alex Cross races to solve. The parts I enjoyed the most, which were also the shortest, were the stories of the various serial killers. Quite intriguing and a little exciting, I looked forward to those the most. The main story, Alex Cross's narration, was rather dull. He just went on and on about his life, as if I care. Sure the character is a staple of James Patterson novels, but as a first-time reader, I was bored-ed out by every single thought Cross had on every little detail of his life. All I wanted to know was what the killers were going to do next, not how his kids were the sunshine of his life. I suppose Cross's humanity did breathe life into the story, but it was built up to be a murder mystery, not the heartfelt tale of a detective on the tough streets of D.C. Overall, an O.K. read, nothing special. Don't know if I'll read other Alex Cross novels, although I have seen "Kiss the Girls" which was superbly haunting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Don't Buy This Book!!!!

    I am a hudge fan of James Patterson's work but I was really disappointed when I read this book. I have read 'Along Came A Spider' and 'Kiss The Girls' in the past and thought they were excellent. So I saw 'Jack and Jill' in the bookstore and decided to see what it was like. But I was very shocked that there was no twists of turns or surprise endings in this book. If you really want to read a James Patterson book go get 'Along Came A Spider.' It's so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3