Customer Reviews for

The Jacket

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This Book Is A Great & Highly Recommended - You Should Read It :)

This Book Is A Great Book Because Explains The Problem very clearly & it gives specific details based On How The Boys Fight Over The Jacket also, it also have to do with segregation because in this book the boy think he is getting picked on because he is a different ski...
This Book Is A Great Book Because Explains The Problem very clearly & it gives specific details based On How The Boys Fight Over The Jacket also, it also have to do with segregation because in this book the boy think he is getting picked on because he is a different skinned color. I Think should read this book because its academical & good to read!

posted by AlexisDavis on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not long enough!!

I bought this book cause it looked okay and it ended up being only 37 pages on my nook! 37! i read a lot so i needed a longer book! they really need to say how long it is in the summary otherwise it is just a rip off to pay $6!!!!!

posted by 7387951 on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Not long enough!!

    I bought this book cause it looked okay and it ended up being only 37 pages on my nook! 37! i read a lot so i needed a longer book! they really need to say how long it is in the summary otherwise it is just a rip off to pay $6!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    This Book Is A Great & Highly Recommended - You Should Read It :)

    This Book Is A Great Book Because Explains The Problem very clearly & it gives specific details based On How The Boys Fight Over The Jacket also, it also have to do with segregation because in this book the boy think he is getting picked on because he is a different skinned color. I Think should read this book because its academical & good to read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    Simple Read

    I thought the book was an easy read and very good. Phil was a 6th grader so we can all relate. He accused a younger African-American boy of stealing a jacket. This made Phil ask himself, 'Am I making a big deal out of this because of the jacket or because the boy is a different race?'. This book shows us that we need to get all facts of a situation before we accuse and it makes us ask ourselves if we are racially prejudice.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    whoa

    the overview is like the whole book. i have read it before and thats like almost half or 3/4 of it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    Positive Message

    This book gives a positive message on a difficult topic that kids can understand. I used it in my fourth/fifth grade classroom and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    T

    I liked this book but it was only 37 pages this is a rip off this book should be free

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Short book

    Too short of a book you pay to much for that little of a book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Stupid.

    Stupid book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    WHAT!!!!!!!?

    ONLY 37 PAGES? THATS RIDICICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Only rea the beginning but

    Liked it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    hi

    The overview is super long! And I bet that if the book is only 37 pages long the overview is most of the book. i haven't read the book so the rating is a question mark.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    a great read

    great book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Could have been longer!

    I thought this book was okay, you know for little kids like 3rd or 2nd graders. It had a strong message, but didn't show it that much. Like I said, could have been longer. In all good book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Compared to all the rest of A.C.'s books...

    This book was okay, but compared to all the other Andrew Clements books, it was sort of bad. Even though I'm an Andrew Clements fan and a book fan, this book wasn't that good. It was just about some jacket that this kid gets from his nana and how another guy thinks that the jacket is his brother's.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    A REALLY STUPID BOOK

    This book was for 1st graders.I thought it was the dumbest book in the world.Clements must have wrote this book in a hurry or something because it was really dumb.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    RJ...

    Ok...there's a person...who shizzes in pplz swimming pools n farts in their faces n POSES AS THEM!!(lmfao) her names isabella*shows u a photo* find her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great book

    This book was really interesting to read. But maybe you should extend the book a little and have a full version. It is great to read. If you haven't started reading the book, then get right to it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    warrior cats

    To the people that comment on all books about the stupid warrior cat series, please stop. Its annoying because some people want to read a good review bur instead theres this...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This is my pleasure reading

    This is my summer reading but it is also a good pleasure reading book if you like action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Falconwing to moonbeam

    Black tom red eyes excellent hunting and battle skills dont like s*x dirty. (Im only 10 years old) looking for kits too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2