Customer Reviews for

Jackie and Me (Baseball Card Adventure Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    very good book

    I really like the series and this is one of dans best books yet!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great read

    Myself liking cards helped me understand part of it more, but you still will understand and like the book. It is based in1947 in Brooklyn, as the main charecter Joe Stoshstack uses his unique power to travel through time with baseball cards. He finds himself as an african american. And as the dodgers batboy. Paft of his goal is to get some rare baseball cards for his dad. But he forgets them, and you willhave to find out what happens next. Bi!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Jackie and me

    This is my all time favorite book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great read

    My 9 year old and I really enjoyed reading this together!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

                     Jackie and Me was a surprisingly good book. Dan

                     Jackie and Me was a surprisingly good book. Dan Gutman wrote a beautifully detailed play-by-play of what happened in 1947.
    This book is a must read for baseball lovers.
                     This book describes how segregation was so harsh then. Jackie Robinson is one of the main reasons that segregation was
    outlawed, and how we live today. Jackie Robinson made it possible for colored people to play in the Major Leagues. He was the first
     baseball player to earn the Rookie of the Year award.
                      In this book, Joe Stoshack goes back in time to learn about Jackie Robinson for a history project, but he runs into a bit of
    trouble back in 1947.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    G

    B

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Jakey

    Trent

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Awesime best book ever

    I luv this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Favorite book

    You have to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    awesome

    awesom

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Stupid

    I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE, AND DI I MENTION HATE HATE HATE BASEBALL??? ITS SO STUPID!!!!!!!!! -LENNON

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Awesome

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Baseball fantasy with a moral

    My 9-year old grandson loves baseball and needs to do more reading. This series has intrigued him. I've only read a little of the books but they each carry lessons. Jackie & Me examines prejudice, Shoeless Joe & Me is about honesty. The fantasy of the middle-school boy, also named Joe, being able to go back and meet these baseball greats keeps my grandson's interest during his entire reading time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Jackie & me

    Great book read with class everyone loved it so much eveyone shoulld get this book because it shows raisism and what Joe Stoshack and jackie robinson have to go through in a twist sort of way very fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Love it

    You should read this it is crazy awesome!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    highly recommend

    Both my 11yo(daughter) and 8yo(son) read this book and really loved it. Ironically as they were finishing the book the movie "42" came out in the theaters. We went to see it. Several times they both said "that was in the book!" Knowing that, 8 may be a little young for some of the content. Know your child. My kids are loving this series by Dan Gutman. Already a big fan of the Weird School series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Great!

    I love this series and this book really explained a lot about history like Jackie Robinson and ho it was like for him to grow up and such a great great book.-sydney

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Ohmygoodness%21

    OK+one+of+you+posted+a+comment+that+was+posted+on+the+best+day+of+my+life%21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3