BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    I have just finished reading Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander

    I have just finished reading Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander by Paul
    Vickery. The book is extremely well written with a great deal of
    background to help you understand the context of Jackson's story.
    Andrew Jackson rose from an orphan to the lofty heights in the White
    House as a result of his grit and ambition. As a general he was
    strong-willed charismatic man, respected by his men. In one incident he
    stopped a brigade's mutiny by himself. Jackson had strong opinions
    about the British and Spanish, as well as the First Nations tribes,
    believing they compromised the new country's sense of nationalism and
    security and must be controlled or removed. He never swerved from these
    beliefs, sometimes bringing him glory and other times causing scandal.
    Admired him or not, he was an extraordinary man for an extraordinary
    time. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    As a child, I remember taking a tour of Andrew Jackson’s h

    As a child, I remember taking a tour of Andrew Jackson’s home The Hermitage and was immediately taken in by how homey and down to earth it felt. After that tour I was always fascinated by President Jackson and when I came across this book, it was a no-brainer, had to read it to learn more about the man. Jackson, the Iron-Willed Commander was a book that captured my attention from the very first page. During the War of 1812, he earned the title “Old Hickory”, a name that stuck with him throughout his military years. Often compared to the nation’s first president, George Washington, Andrew Jackson was a charismatic man who, though slight of frame, was able to spearhead and lead many into battle. Paul Vickery’s book is very easy to read and has a flow about it that makes the reader want to keep turning the next page. It is not heavy on dates and numbers but rather the story behind his military action. It is captivating and sheds some light on lesser known failures and successes of his and how he was able to persevere. Excellent read for a book club, those interested in historical books and for students tasked with writing an essay on Andrew Jackson and want to take it to a different level.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Jackson The Iron-Willed Commander By Paul Vickery I have read


    Jackson
    The Iron-Willed Commander
    By Paul Vickery

    I have read every book in this series of The Generals,being a fan of history i have enjoyed each one of them.
    I must admit just knew a few things about Andrew Jackson,but after reading this book i've gained so much more knowledge on the man he was.Paul Vickery has done his homework on this book.Backed up by facts and truths he digs deep into this man of many titles,and lets you feel his achievements as you read along.Anyone who loves history i highly reccomend you buying this book. you will not be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Paul Vickery's "Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander" is

    Paul Vickery's "Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander" is one book in the series of "The Generals". After reading the book on General Grant, I had really high expectations for "Jackson", and this book did not disappoint. I wasn't sure that the "Jackson" book would have the same type of whole life story as "Grant", but as soon as I opened up the book, I knew I was in for a treat. This book traces the entire life story of Andrew Jackson, from childhood in South Carolina, through his Presidency of the United States, and the legacy he left behind. What is interesting is that even though each of the books in this series have different authors, they all tell an interesting and thoughtful story of the life and career of each person they profile. "Jackson" includes so many interesting facts about the man who is known as a great military leader, and President, like that he chose to begin studying law at age 17! I loved this book, and will definitely recommend it to anyone who loves history. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    "Jackson : The Iron Willed Commander" by Paul Vickery

    "Jackson : The Iron Willed Commander" by Paul Vickery is another installment in The Generals series of books. The book profiles Andrew Jackson, from early childhood through his presidency and ensuing legacy. What I love about this series of books is the focus on the early lives of these great men in our history. Nearly everyone knows some of Andrew Jackson's most important career achievements, including that he was the 7th President of the United States. But the human element of some of the facts about his earlier years are absolutely fascinating. For example, as a young man Jackson fought cocks, drank alcohol, and gambled! Who would have thought that such an upstanding man would have had such a rowdy spirit in his earlier years! I also found it very interesting that he married a woman who was divorced, believing that the divorce had been finalized, only to discover two years after he married her, that the divorce had not been finalized. I thought this book was well written, and I really enjoyed how all of the little details about Jackson's life come together to give a surprising and interesting picture of the man that is counted among the greatest Generals in our nation's history. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in history or Presidential history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    I received a copy of JACKSON: THE IRON-WILLED COMMANDER by Paul

    I received a copy of JACKSON: THE IRON-WILLED COMMANDER by Paul S. Vickey, PhD, from Thomas Nelson, via BookSneeze. It is from The Generals, a series edited by Stephen Mansfield. I have been interested in President Andrew Jackson since my student teaching assignment in a fifth grade classroom. The students were learning about him and needed to write a poem, so I knew some tidbits, but this book took him into a new light. From school, I had developed a dislike for him. The fifth-grade textbook portrayed him as a man who drove the Native Americans off their land. This biography made him out to be much more than that. \

    The biography reads easily, like a novel, and spans his birth through his death. I was disappointed in how few pictures were included, but otherwise discovered delight in the chapters. President Jackson became a breathing man for me, rather than a distant figure in history. Dr. Vickey shows both his good and bad sides, well-rounding him to the reader. I enjoyed the usage of quotes and descriptions, as well as citations, reminding me of how it is fact and not fiction. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in learning more about Andrew Jackson’s life, as well as to any history buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Born to poor Irish immigrants - gone to White House

    Life for the young Andrew Jackson was not easy. Life was hard for most people during this time period, but especially for poor Irish immigrants carving out a place in a new world. Andrew Jackson lost both father and mother and was orphaned early. By the age of 13 he was with the military. He was impulsive and quick to exercise the common means of setting disputes for his time - dueling. Chronically ill and slight of frame throughout his life, he endured various illnesses, wounds, deprivations, and hardships as he forged ahead in his quest to succeed. His goal - the settlement of America. With a high sense of nationalism and impassioned as a commander of the military, he was a strong leader in the growing nation and its struggle to expand its borders. He commanded the Tennessee militia in the War of 1812, led the struggle of the young nation in the bloody Creek Indian conflict, and other battles in the areas now known as Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Alabama. Jackson was known to friend and foe by two names - "Old Hickory" and "Long Knife." He earned them by his determined hard leadership and his ability to strike with force the enemy. The Indians, the French, the Spanish, and the British were all opponents in Andrew Jackson's journey to grow a great nation. As an Indian fighter, Long Knife (Jackson) was unequaled and greatly respected and feared. As a general, his strong decisions, courage, and firm leadership moved the army forward to victory and Jackson closer to the White House. His wife of many years was the beloved Rachel whom he loved until the day he died. She was in an abusive marriage when Andrew Jackson began to love her. Though Andrew Jackson and Rachel married after her divorce, there was no scandal involving Jackson. In 1828, Andrew Jackson became the seventh President of the United States of America. Paul Vickey has written a short, yet thorough biography revealing much about the boy, the man, the politician, the general, and the President that was Andrew Jackson. The book is a good read, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves history and to school libraries. I gleaned bits of historical information from this read hitherto unknown to me. Were they in my history texts while in school? I don't know. However, I found it quite informative. "One Man with courage makes a majority." --Andrew Jackson Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publication Date: July 17, 2012 ISBN: 9781595554543 DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of Jackson: The Iron-Willed Commander by BookSneeze on behalf of the publisher Thomas Nelson and author in exchange or my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1