Customer Reviews for

Jacob (Nightwalkers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(289)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE

I couldn't put this book down once I started. I read the whole thing in one sitting. I love paranormal romance and after reading so much about vampires it was nice to find something different. It was great how the things we think as evil were given human qualities an...
I couldn't put this book down once I started. I read the whole thing in one sitting. I love paranormal romance and after reading so much about vampires it was nice to find something different. It was great how the things we think as evil were given human qualities and feelings. And Jacob...yum yum.

posted by keelee71 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Too similar to Feehan's Dark books...

I read many of the reviews and cannot understand how no one else sees how similar these books are to Christine Feehan's Dark series! They are so similar I cannot believe there isn't a lawsuit pending. The Demons are like the Carpathians and the Druid women are like th...
I read many of the reviews and cannot understand how no one else sees how similar these books are to Christine Feehan's Dark series! They are so similar I cannot believe there isn't a lawsuit pending. The Demons are like the Carpathians and the Druid women are like the psychic female "Lifemates" in the Dark books. In both, once bonded, they cannot be apart, etc. All of the males in both are heading towards some kind of "darkness" only to be saved by their other half, etc.

The characters were fine. Noah was the most likable and charismatic of the group. These books are fine for a rainy afternoon but if you are a reader of Feehan, the similarities can be distracting at times.

posted by botfish on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    INCREDIBLE

    I couldn't put this book down once I started. I read the whole thing in one sitting. I love paranormal romance and after reading so much about vampires it was nice to find something different. It was great how the things we think as evil were given human qualities and feelings. And Jacob...yum yum.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Too similar to Feehan's Dark books...

    I read many of the reviews and cannot understand how no one else sees how similar these books are to Christine Feehan's Dark series! They are so similar I cannot believe there isn't a lawsuit pending. The Demons are like the Carpathians and the Druid women are like the psychic female "Lifemates" in the Dark books. In both, once bonded, they cannot be apart, etc. All of the males in both are heading towards some kind of "darkness" only to be saved by their other half, etc. <BR/><BR/>The characters were fine. Noah was the most likable and charismatic of the group. These books are fine for a rainy afternoon but if you are a reader of Feehan, the similarities can be distracting at times.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Love, love, love

    I was very pleasantly surprised how much I love the series and this author. I picked up the first book for vacation on a whim and now I cannot get enough of the Nightwalkers !!!! If you like paranormal romances, try this author and her series...you will be going back for more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    An enjoyable read. Jacob is an enforcer for a long-lived race ca

    An enjoyable read.
    Jacob is an enforcer for a long-lived race called &quot;Demons&quot;. His job is keep his people from hurting humans who they stalk during certain times of the year, when their control is thin. What he doesn't expect is to be drawn to a human himself--Bella, a librarian with a surprising abilities that surface when she meets him.

    This was an interesting Paranormal--the world was wonderfully built, the secondary characters intrigued me as well as the main hero and heroine. I found myself wanting to know more about the world and the people in it.

    The heroine herself was spunky, but at times she became a bit wearying--and Jacob too understanding. She had a tendency to pop her hands on her hips that after awhile, was a touch annoying (I wonder how Jacob will feel about it 300 years from now)But,still,I wanted to know why Bella was special, why she acquired her powers--and how Jacob was going to deal with it.

    Another thing I enjoyed--it turned out Bella was there to be Jacobs other half--and she was to help him in his work. This focus on &quot;Team work&quot; was important--because together they can overcome the slow decline that is taking over the Demon race--and reverse it. This appealed to me that one person doesn't save the day--it takes a team.

    I want to read the rest of the series and learn about all the rest of the secondary Characters, like Gideon-the oldest of their race and Adam their king. I adore series like this that introduce multiple secondary characters that bleed out to future books-- because I'm not ready to leave this world just yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Amazing! Loved it!

    Great, well-rounded and realistic characters. The plot is interesting and well written. A different take on a common subject. If you like Black Dagger Brotherhood, you'll love these and vice versa!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    fantastic Read

    amazing is the only word I can really use to describe this book. The characters were awesome, I can't wait to read more of these great books!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Give it to me again!!!

    The book was great. I was thinking, "oh this is gonna be like BDB series." It is similar but goes on its own pathway which is great. I couldnt put them down. Cant wait for th next. All five books thus far I love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Ok

    Although i didnt hate it i cant say i loved it. Too sliw pace for my taste and found myself skipping pages to get to the action. I like the characters but too much writing on their thoughts and feelings i had to flip pages. Still trying to decide if i want to continue the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Not Confusing at all!!

    It was a great read.....don't know what confused the last reviewer about it. Bella is a woman who could hold her own with an open mind to compliment that!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A little bit of everything, Great book!

    So, I'll start off by saying I've already bought and have started reading the next book. I was almost worried at the beginning because it seemed kind of slow, but it quickly got exciting. From there, it was a non stop journey of excitement, passion, and mystery. When I say that this book has everyting, I'm not exaggerating. This is my 1st book from this author which always make me leary of trying out. I absolutely love her version of the Demon world. I've read other books about vampires and different perspectives of how they could live. This includes a lot of other mythical creatures and I'm assuming we'll know more about them in the next books as well as the demons.

    Bella has spunk. I like the way she is innocent in one way but highly intelligent and fiery all at the same time. I could almost picture her and Jacob from the author's detailed descriptions of every inch of them. I can also appreciate that there aren't too many parts that you can figure out easily. Even if you know someone is going to get together or someone is going to die, you don't know how it's going to happen. What else can I say...So far, so GREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Got to read the book

    This the first book I have read of hers. I have looked at her books and was hestitate about a new author but I was not diappointed with this book. I am now read the 3rd in the series and have loved them all. Will read all her books. Love the Jacob and Bella story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read .... loved it!!!!

    Let's just say it had a great ending and I would really love to read book 2. Great love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. i loved both the hero and the heroine. especially the hero. Jacob was perfect. hot. strong. sensitive. insecure in a manly sort of way. and he had an accent to top it all off. i thought the romance was true even while the sex was steamy. adding to all that, the world that was created was really awesome. the twist of the Demon world was pretty original ( the only other thing that comes to close is kresley cole's concept of demons, in the way that they aren't devil creatures). the Demons all had elemental powers that was a new slant to demon lure. the culture that was created was detailed and interesting. i would definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Great Book, Great Author would recommend to other's!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Jacob was wonderful!

    I thought this was one of the most exciting and romantic books I have read in a long time. The main character, jacob is suave, debonair and happens to have supernatural powers because he is a demon. His counterpart is a wonderfully funny, naive character who falls in love with Jacob and makes him love himself. You can't help but love him and all the characters associated with him. I am glad that she has several more books in the series as well as several sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Not so great

    I chose this based on the reviews and I'm really surprised so many describe it as 'amazing' and 'outstanding'. It's just an OK story, particularly if you like cheese and sugar. There's plenty cheesiness and saccharine sweetness to go around. This story really struggles under the weight of silly patronizing endearments, and an excess of adoring conversation. Jacob calls Isabella 'Little Flower' so often I was sick of reading it. If it's possible for a romance to have too much romance, not enough plot, this story accomplishes it. Too much of the story is spent having the characters explain everything leaving very little plot to play out. If ever a series setup was obvious, it's this one. There's too much emphasis on establishing everyone's super powers, demon traditions, history. All that leaves very little room for anything else besides how much everyone loves and respects each other.... apparently there's always room for that. Its saving grace is that the concept is interesting even if the writing is flawed. It might have worked better if the focus had been kept on the necromancer as a counterbalance to the heavy relationship chatter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A fun and exciting read

    Jacob is the first installment of the Nightwalkers series by Jacquelyn Frank. Because of the name of the series, I first thought that Jacob was a vampire story but it's actually about demons. Jacob is a compelling and extremely interesting story with strong likable characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jacquelyn Frank has a way with words. This was an awesome read. Jacob has action, suspense, humor and romance. The romance between Isabella and Jacob was to die for. The supporting characters in the book were very likeable. Can't wait to get started on Gideon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Jacob is a dominate demon enforcer

    I love jacob. I read this along time ago and it still stays with me in my mind when i think about books i enjoyed. I read others in this series but none stuck in my had like this one does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Angel

    Well hello jack, are you goig to stop talking to me causw of it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25