Customer Reviews for

Jacob Have I Loved

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Kayla, a bookworm and 8th grade student

This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her m...
This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her melodic voice and charming disposition. Throughout her life, Sara lived in the shadow of her younger sister. The book's plot revolves around Sara and her struggle to become her own person. The end result is satisfying and rewarding. I would surely recommend this book to any potential buyers.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not all that great

I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was ...
I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was no interesting happenings that made me want to keep reading. Very emotional and deep thoug.

posted by 11071928 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Kayla, a bookworm and 8th grade student

    This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her melodic voice and charming disposition. Throughout her life, Sara lived in the shadow of her younger sister. The book's plot revolves around Sara and her struggle to become her own person. The end result is satisfying and rewarding. I would surely recommend this book to any potential buyers.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    A stunn In g A beautiful coming of age story

    As someone who has read thousands of books, it can take a lot for me to reccomend a book, but this novel is beautiful. I found this book on my book shelf last summer and instantly fell in love with it. Katerine Patterson has a beautiful way with words that will make you want more. A truly wonderful, yet sad book. I highly reccomend.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    LOVE IT!!!

    I read this book back when I was in the 6th grade and loved it. I have read it every year since then. (I am 28 now) The things she has to go through, the life she lives to finally have happiness. This is a great book and will be my favorite forever!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Absolute, Deep-Down Excellence

    As an avid reader, a bit of a poet, a lover of slow truths, a daughter, a sister, and a girl on the brink of adulthood... I love everything about this book.
    Katherine Paterson is easily my favorite author-- in her writing, she somehow finds a way to marry all that is so present in a certain age, a certain time.. That uncomfortable feel of seagrass you can feel itching against your skin, that time when nothing is right before life starts... It's beautiful. I think it's probably one of her best works.
    A definite read for any real reader

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Love Love Love

    I read this book as a teen and couldnt put it down. My Aunt this book for me and she could not have picked a better book for me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Reall good, i loved it

    I really liked this book... nice plot... very descriptive... i reccomend for an advanced 4th grade reading level :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Etan

    Hey

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Jade

    To bad loser we r over bye ugly

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    not all that great

    I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was no interesting happenings that made me want to keep reading. Very emotional and deep thoug.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    great book

    i think this book was awesome. at first it is shaky and uneven and you might not even understand but it was a great book. i am only 13 and i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    This book is one of my favorite coming-of-age stories. The beaut

    This book is one of my favorite coming-of-age stories. The beautiful setting, along with the deep characters make it a very satisfying read. Of course-duh- I loved the ending the most, which might sound like I was ready for it to be done,but no. I highly recommend this book. I think a five star rating is overrated, but a four star is perfect for this book. So go grab a copy of Jacob Have I Loved and curl up in bed with a cup of hot tea. Be prepared! You won't be able to put it down :)
    If you like/love this book you might like,
    I Capture the Castle
    Jane Eyre
    Cold Comfort Farm (it's a good movie too, but read the book first)
    Up A Road Slowly  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Singularity says...

    I read this as a young person and have read it again and again since. I can never quite get past the beauty of this story...painful and difficult in exactly the manner to touch many young people. The book is timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    my name is nick messina and i really enjoyed reading this book.

    my name is nick messina and i really enjoyed reading this book. i have read it for my 12th grade high school english class. i find this book to be quite entertaining. when i saw the title i knew it would be a sweet story and one filled with loved and life lessons. i was right, jacob have i loved really shows the contrast between good and evil. i really love the  way it accurately depicts human emotion and thoughts.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    This is for jacob my butt buddy

    Jacob is great and he is my mail man

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Anonymos

    I borrowed this book from the library and it is really confusing and to me boring. I really dont recomend this book. For 6 dollars it is not worth it. It goes back and forth between her past and her current life for like the first three or four chapters. It was very hard for me to understand but mabyit is my age i am only 13 but what do i know. If you want to get it go right ahead and completley ignore me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    How old to read this book you ask?

    You should be in the ages10-100

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    Pretty good:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Really good book - Could not put it daown

    I can understand why this was an award winner. The story touched me in so many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Great read

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8