Customer Reviews for

Jacob Have I Loved

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Kayla, a bookworm and 8th grade student

This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her m...
This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her melodic voice and charming disposition. Throughout her life, Sara lived in the shadow of her younger sister. The book's plot revolves around Sara and her struggle to become her own person. The end result is satisfying and rewarding. I would surely recommend this book to any potential buyers.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not all that great

I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was ...
I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was no interesting happenings that made me want to keep reading. Very emotional and deep thoug.

posted by 11071928 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Anonymos

    I borrowed this book from the library and it is really confusing and to me boring. I really dont recomend this book. For 6 dollars it is not worth it. It goes back and forth between her past and her current life for like the first three or four chapters. It was very hard for me to understand but mabyit is my age i am only 13 but what do i know. If you want to get it go right ahead and completley ignore me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Diddnt read yet

    I havent read it yet and i have to read it for school and out of all the books on the list this sounds the most interesting it seems boring but i havent read it yet hope fully this book is wortg my time becuz i dnt like reading alot

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    For anyone under 13 years old

    I swear- dont read it its so inappropiate.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    ????

    How old should u b 2 read this?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Didnt have it...

    It didnt cut it for me. Wasnt exciting amd it had a so start to it. Wasnt my fav. book. GET THE SAMPLE FIRST! Then u will.see wht i am talking about. See it for ur self.....

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    horrible

    this book was a waste of my time it was horrible so dull and boring nothing happened if u buy this book it will just be a waste of your time and money!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Dull and Annoying

    This book was really boring. I had trouble even finishing it. Sarah Louise complains about her twin sister the entire book and she really starts to get annoying. The only good part of this book was the end. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    I didn't like this book

    The book I was reading is called Jacob Have I Loved. I didn¿t like that book at all. Because it wasn¿t the book we choose. The author of the book is Katherine Paterson. The book was boring it was not my kind of type of book at all. I¿m not a big reading person so I really don¿t like to read that much. I didn¿t finish the book I only got to the middle of the book. So I really didn¿t understand everything. The characters of the book were Caroline and her sister I think her name was Louise. They were twins and they loved each other like sisters, but they did fight some times. This book happened during World War II. If you like to read books about the war this might be a good book for you to read. If you like books about romance you might like to read this book. The only character I liked in the book was Caroline because she was talented and could sing. The book is set on an Island and if you like stories about boats and fishing, then maybe you¿ll like this book. I prefer to read stories that are real. Biographies or mysteries are more my style. Jacob Have I Loved Is a fiction story with no hidden plot or mystery. The story line just didn¿t grab me. So if you like excitement don¿t read this book. If you¿re having trouble getting to sleep just pick up Jacob Have I loved and you will be asleep in five minutes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Depressing and Disappointing

    I read this book and was greatly disappointed throughout. It was depressing and extremely annoying. This book is inappropriate for young teenagers, especially when the main character, Sara Louise, lusts for a 70 year old man. Disgusting. The ending did not make up for the long, long, drawn-out torture of enduring the main character's pain and hatred. The supposed happy ending made no sense considering what a messed-up teenager she was. The last 2 chapters tried to tie things up nicely to make the reader feel relieved that the main character grew up and made a good life for herself. However, those chapters have little relationship to the rest of the book. How did she magically get over her hatred of her sister and herself? Just by yelling at her mother, she is suddenly cured? I do not recommend this book. I'm still wondering why it received a Newbery Medal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    How Negative Book This is

    This book is about Sara Louise¿s feelings and thoughts through her life with her twin sister, Caroline, and the story is going with her thoughts. She is a very negative person because of her family. She has a twin sister, and she always feels like she is a shadow of her sister. This book is also talking about family relationships. I think the topic is good, but I felt it is too tedious. When I was reading, I felt very gloomy because of Sara Louise¿s thought. She is a very negative person, and she felt she is like Esau in Holy Bible. I know it is because of her situation, and her grandmother also worked to make her negative, but when I was reading, my feeling became worse and worse. I wanted to read more positive story, but this book has negative thoughts more than 90%! After reading, my feeling was polluted by negative thoughts even it has good ending. I don¿t want to recommend this book for other people except people who like negative topics. It makes people very depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1