Customer Reviews for

Jacob Have I Loved

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Kayla, a bookworm and 8th grade student

This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her m...
This story is a bittersweet tale of persistence and patience in a time of despair. Sara Louise Bradshaw portrays a girl who never quite got what she deserved. She was a hard worker, obedient daughter, and benevolent friend. But her sister takes all the glory with her melodic voice and charming disposition. Throughout her life, Sara lived in the shadow of her younger sister. The book's plot revolves around Sara and her struggle to become her own person. The end result is satisfying and rewarding. I would surely recommend this book to any potential buyers.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not all that great

I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was ...
I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was no interesting happenings that made me want to keep reading. Very emotional and deep thoug.

posted by 11071928 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    not all that great

    I had to read a newbery book for school, so i picked this one. It was a little disappointing. It was hard to get into and was slow. I got a quarter of the way through rhe book and nothing happened so i dropped it just like that. Maybe i didnt get to it, but there was no interesting happenings that made me want to keep reading. Very emotional and deep thoug.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Latin wisdom

    Latin- insula
    Italian- ila
    French- isola
    Spanish- isla
    English- island
    Norseish languge some language i dont know what its called- eye-land or i-land

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Jacob i have loved

    O.k.book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Its alright

    I wasnt personally captivated by it, but it was an ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    I wouldn't reccomend this book.

    It was okay.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I It was okay.

    I don't recomend it. May be a little hard to understand.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    okay....

    It was okay...it was boring at first but then it gets better...if you are the kind of person who likes to read about the adventures of the two totally opposite twins....then I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    JAcob Have I Loved

    JOCAB HAVE I LOVED The book is about a girl named Sara Louise who lives on a tiny Island called Chesapeake Bay. She dreamed of becoming a waterman but that not the way she was going. She lives with her twin sister Caroline, her grandma, mom and dad. Her father is a waterman and sometimes takes Louise out on the water. Her mom stays at home and takes care of grandma. Grandma stays home too and is usually in her rocking chair. She has a friend named McCall Purnell, but she just calls him Call. They go crabbing and do just about everything together. Call is just about the only friend she has. They go to high school and her favorite teacher was Mr. Rice, but he leaves to Baltimore to be with his girlfriend. They Louise always talks about how her twin sister Caroline takes everything from her and they pay more attention to her. Louise and Call come across a strange man living in an old house. They call him Captain. After a bad hurricane, the Captain¿s house is destroyed. Louise¿s family lets Captain stay with them, which causes more problems in the house and for an already troubled Louise. I thought the book was pretty good. I liked how they lived on the island and how they go crabbing. I also thought the book was pretty good because the book is easy to read and easy to understand. This book is for people who like adventure, romance, and for anyone who just wants something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    It was okay..

    Jacob Have I Loved has a lot of narrating from Louise's point of view. The only reason it is missing the two other stars to get a perfect five was because in the book, there was critism about God. For example, Sara Louise ditches church, thinks God is crazy, and wishes to curse Him. Although Katherine Paterson believes in God, her character, Louise, is like the complete opposite. I think the content was okay but the part about God was not okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Okay

    It was a pretty good book but not great. It was kind of boring in parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Twin Jellousy

    I think that the book gave a good lesson. I think that Wheese was jellous of her sister and jellous that when they were born Wheese was left alone in the basket while everybody else was with Caroline, just because Caroline was cold and not well. I think that when Wheese was with the other twin babys she had a flashback and realized that the babys should be together so that they don't end up like Sara and Carolione. I also think that Sara want to merry Call and she got jellous when he ask her sister and she said yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Emotional rollercoaster!

    An okay book over all. It keeps the reader involved b/c for some reason we all relate to the main character just a little. The only reason i don't think that it was GREAT was b/c it was really hard for me to understand Louise. I either knew how she felt or felt like she was childish and needed to grow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Hatered Between twins

    The book Jacob have I loved by Katherine Peterson is based on Jacob and Esua. It is a book about two sisters. I enjoyed reading it at the begining. I give it three stars. It has detail, but get boring. It takes pklace on a tiny Chespeak Bay Island. The main character is Louise. They call her wheeze. She and her family live in a cabin near thebay. She has a twin namede Caroline. They were just like Jacob and Esua. Caroline was the favorite like Jacob. Louise throught she was dispised by everyone like Esua. Throughout the story Louise revels how Caroline took everyhting of her. She took her friend Call, most of her parents love, her hopes for school, and her name.Louise remembers the Bible verse Jacob have I loved, and Esua have I hated. She found herself hating her sister like Esua. She thought god would punish her.She wanted to be a waterman beside her father. As She grows she learns that it did not satisfy the women she was becoming. Now, she is trying to be better then caroline. She is fighting to be in the position were caroline isn't, so she does things. To find out what she does you will have to read the book. I recomend this book to twins who fell they hate each other. I also think it could apply to siblens who hate each other. I think an eighth grader would enjoy reading this. I enjoyed certian parts of it. Thats why I gave it three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1