BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jacob's Courage: A Holocaust Love Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Really moving and a great read!

    I purchased this novel because I love reading about people who survive the Holocaust; whether it is a fictional story or real account. Reading about how someone can survive through brutal conditions and everything is just amazing and leaves me in awe. This story not only shows the true terror of the Holocaust but also constantly shows how two people could love each other so much in such a terrible time. The love shared between the two main characters is amazing and deeply moving. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about survival Holocaust stories. Yes, its over 500 pages but each page sucks you into the story and you honestly feel like you are right there with the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Powerful Story

    Jacob's Courage, by Charles S. Weinblatt, mixes the atrocities of
    World War II and the holocaust with the hope and courage of a young
    couple in love. Weinblatt weaves such detail into his story that the
    reader comes away with a powerful sense of what life was like for the
    Jews during this horrible period in history. Weinblatt's knowledge of
    the slums the Jews were initially forced into, then the death camps
    that followed, is masterful. While the story can be incredibly bleak
    at times, Weinblatt uses Jacob and Rachael's intense love for each
    other to lift the mood and give us all something to hope for.

    Jacob's Courage may be a work of fiction but it shines a spotlight on
    the truth. Anyone interested in World War II, the Holocaust, Jewish
    history, or a love story, should pick up Jacob's Courage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finding the Courage to Live

    Imagine being seventeen years old. The world is before you and anything is possible. You come from a great family and have a wonderful relationship with your dad. Best of all, you are in love for the first time in your life and have been swept completely off your feet. You have met your soul mate and now the most difficult thing for you is to separate yourself from them while you go off to school to study medicine. Life is beautiful and your future is exciting.

    But life is not beautiful. It is 1939 and you are a Jew in Austria. Your future deteriorates quickly as the Nazis move into Austria and you are forced to move into a Jewish ghetto. Members of your family die one by one, you are shot in the leg and crippled for life, and the love of your life is raped and she becomes pregnant with her attacker's child. How would you maintain your will to live? What would keep you going?

    Not since I read Corrie Ten Boom's The Hiding Place have the horrors of the Holocaust been brought to life for me in such vivid detail. Charles Weinblatt takes you to Nazi Germany through the lives of Jacob Silverman and Rachel Goldberg, two young people whose world is torn apart at a time in their lives when it should be blossoming. Weinblatt holds your attention as this young couple tries to make sense of what is happening and find a reason to live in spite of the madness that surrounds them.

    Reading the book had a dual impact on me. There were times when I couldn't put the book down as I read about their escape through a collapsing tunnel. Other times I had to set it down after reading about Jacob's mother dying in the gas chamber at Auschwitz. Weinblatt does a masterful job of touching your emotions throughout the book by placing you inside the lives of Jacob and Rachel.

    The events that took place in this story happened 70 years ago but we should never forget. I recommend you pick up a copy of this book and a box of tissues. Get ready for a good cry and a heart warming ending as Jacob and Rachel find the courage to live.

    - Rick Rodgers, CFP®, author of The New Three-Legged Stool: A Tax Efficient Approach to Retirement Planning

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love in Action

    As I read 'Jacob's Courage", I was struck with how much it reminded me of one of the greatest books of the 20th Century.

    I can't add any more to the reviews here about how well Weinblatt has painted a picture with words of the horrors of the holocaust. He has done so in a haunting and evocative way. Even though he has done and excellent job of putting the reader in the shoes of Jacob and Rachel, much of their experience during the holocaust has been written before.

    So what's unique about Weinblatt's book? I'll tell you.

    In 1956, Viktor Frankl wrote a book called "Man's Search for Meaning" based on his experiences as a Nazi concentration camp inmate. In his book he describes his method of finding a reason to live - to believe in something beyond oneself - that kept him and others alive during a terror, that today, we could hardy imagine.

    "Jacob's Courage" is a personal, real life example of this method based on real people of Weinblatt's family that validates Frankl's beliefs.

    In his book, Frankl quotes from the Song of Solomon. "Set me like a seal upon thy heart, love is as strong as death." (Song of Solomon 8:6)

    The love that grows between Jacob and Rachel is what sustains them through the horrors of life in a Nazi death camp. They find the power of love - believing in something beyond themselves - their love for each other. We all could learn a lesson from these two teenagers coming of age and faced with the greatest existential threat to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    The author maintains a driving, relentless pace.

    If the unspeakable horror that was the Holocaust can be encapsulated in single moments, perhaps they would be similar to the terrible scenes in Weinblatt¿s fictional story of teenage Jacob Silverman and his family ¿ seeing lives snuffed out in the execution pit as bulldozers push dirt over the still-breathing, in the concentration camp showers as Zyklon-B engulfs screaming women and children, in the Auschwitz medical laboratory as internal organs are removed from the living without anesthesia. The author maintains a driving, relentless pace as Jacob and his beloved Rachael try to escape the madness of Nazi Germany while maintaining their humanity in the end, the visionary protagonist (Jacob sees his future in a series of prophetic dreams) comes to echo his Biblical counterpart who fled danger in his own country and saw a lifechanging vision in his dreams.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Travesty Brought to Life!

    Not your childs book! If you have always wanted an up front and personal look at the war and the death camps from a Jewish perspective this is the book for you! Deeply DEEPLY moving. The characters are brought to life in all their Awesomeness! You have heard about the holocaust but here is your chance to experience the holocaust through a survivors eyes. Believe me the experience will leave you chilled to the bone at mans benovolence. I cannot understand how one human being can be so mean to another human no matter what their race, religion or sex, no matter a whole country against a whole race! Brutally honest. This book will keep you thinking long after you turn the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1