Customer Reviews for

Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

An Intimate Look Inside Camelot

Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so...
Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so much more about her, husband President John F. Kennedy and the world, including the people around them.

While I won't spoil some of the surprises for you, my mouth fell open when I read what she wrote about Martin Luther King Jr. Her words during the Cuban Missile Crisis were amazing. But, what shocked me even more was how people around her felt about Lyndon Johnson.

I applaud Caroline Kennedy for being brave enough to share such personal and intimate details about her family. If you ever wanted an intimate look at the world of Camelot, then look no further. This is it and I highly recommend it.

As an avid reader, I love all genres, but there is another book that I'd like to recommend worth reading, it's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score" and it's on sale here on BN. It's a great book and proceeds from its sale goes to support women and children based charities, like the National Breast Cancer Research Center, Women Against Abuse and the Make A Wish Foundation.

posted by BarbaraRichards on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

It Doesn't play the videos!

I bought this book on Wednesday for $32.00 and it downloaded overnight. It freezes up everytime I try to play a video. I drove all the way down to a Barnes and Noble store, about 27 miles away today to get help with it from the instore tech. She couldn't make it work ei...
I bought this book on Wednesday for $32.00 and it downloaded overnight. It freezes up everytime I try to play a video. I drove all the way down to a Barnes and Noble store, about 27 miles away today to get help with it from the instore tech. She couldn't make it work either so she tried to d/l to the store nook but it took too long and she suggested I call 1 800 the book. I did that and was online with a guy for 30 minutes and he was trying to download the book. He told me to call back in 4 hours and he would leave a note in my account for the next shift person to help me. Well, I did call back and have been on hold for so long that I depleted the battery in 3 cordless phones! I am really pissed now and the book still will not work!

posted by NancyMz on September 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    An Intimate Look Inside Camelot

    Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so much more about her, husband President John F. Kennedy and the world, including the people around them.

    While I won't spoil some of the surprises for you, my mouth fell open when I read what she wrote about Martin Luther King Jr. Her words during the Cuban Missile Crisis were amazing. But, what shocked me even more was how people around her felt about Lyndon Johnson.

    I applaud Caroline Kennedy for being brave enough to share such personal and intimate details about her family. If you ever wanted an intimate look at the world of Camelot, then look no further. This is it and I highly recommend it.

    As an avid reader, I love all genres, but there is another book that I'd like to recommend worth reading, it's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score" and it's on sale here on BN. It's a great book and proceeds from its sale goes to support women and children based charities, like the National Breast Cancer Research Center, Women Against Abuse and the Make A Wish Foundation.

    49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    It Doesn't play the videos!

    I bought this book on Wednesday for $32.00 and it downloaded overnight. It freezes up everytime I try to play a video. I drove all the way down to a Barnes and Noble store, about 27 miles away today to get help with it from the instore tech. She couldn't make it work either so she tried to d/l to the store nook but it took too long and she suggested I call 1 800 the book. I did that and was online with a guy for 30 minutes and he was trying to download the book. He told me to call back in 4 hours and he would leave a note in my account for the next shift person to help me. Well, I did call back and have been on hold for so long that I depleted the battery in 3 cordless phones! I am really pissed now and the book still will not work!

    36 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Enhanced Edition for NOOK Color ONLY!!

    For everyone who can't get this nook book to work, it only works on the Nook Color! If you look where it says: Read exclusively on these devices & apps: NOOK Color. That means you can't read it on the iPad, iPad 2, NOOK, etc......

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    FRUSTRATION! -10 stars

    OMG,do not purchase the nook book. Video works, but audio options are minimal. You can pause but it will not resume where you left off. And if you try to forward it, it starts over at the beginning. Don't sit down to listen to it unless you know you won't have to pause it. It also randomly stops at times, which means you have to start over AGAIN. Nook CS is ridiculous. I am demanding a refund.

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I should have read the reviews, it won't play audio or video

    I really wished this would work on the Nook. Why is it for sale if it doesn't work as advertised? I'l be seeking a refund and hoping the customer service is better than the marketing.

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Audio and video will not play!

    I ordered this book the first day it was released and it would be great, if only I could watch the video and listen to the audio! This needs to be fixed!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    DO NOT purchase Nook Enhanced

    Neither video nor audio work. Last night, Customer Service told me this is their FIRST complaint. He's "reporting the problem to the publisher." Had me archive the book and said to "check back in 10 business days." Don't think so.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Sucks

    Audio does not work!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Listen and read

    I can't get it to allow me to listen and read along. Kim

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Be aware!

    If you purchase this ebook and get the videos and audio to run, you need to be aware that you cannot read the transcript as you listen to the audio. You can do one or the other but not both at the same time. That really bites!

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Frustrated!

    Format: Nookbook! Bought this nookbook last night and still haven't been able to download it on to my ebook. Your better off buying the book!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    A Real Treasure!

    This Enhanced Edition is my favorite NOOK Book so far - an absolute joy to read, watch, and listen to! Many thanks to Caroline and the rest of the Kennedy family for giving us such an intimate glimpse into the life of this incredibly fascinating woman. For those who are having trouble playing the video/audio in the book, try following these steps to correct the problem: 1. Turn off your NOOK Color completely by pressing and holding down the power button for about 3-5 seconds. 2. Tap Power Off. 3. After one minute, turn your NOOK Color on. 4. On the Home Page, go to Library and tap the sync button located in the lower left corner of the screen.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Audio and video wont play

    Apparently im not the only one who thinks its rediculous that it wont play the audio or video! Looked forward to this for some time now. Now im just irritated. Customer service isnt much help either. Their answer was to refund my money. Well how about the book just works like it should. If u make it and market it for audio and video then it should work!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT! NOOK COLOR

    you have to turn on your animated page turns in order for the video to work. Lets read all of the directions, ppl. I got mine to work after a few minutes. but that is becuz i read the directions. nicely done BnN

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Cant get video and audio to play

    Looked forward to this book and extras...do I need special app to make it work?

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Takes forever to download

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    So far, so good

    I am enjoying it on my Nook color. Whoever decided on the price was a genious. In my opinion all digital books should never be more than $9.99. I think this is a smart marketing move...publishers & authors would sell more books in the long run.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Boring

    This should have been kept sealed. Silly opinions by someone totally uninterested and uninformed about politics. Makes both JFK and herself look ridiculous. Could anyone be less of a feminist. . . Even in the 60's?

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Glimps of history

    The video and sound are a window into a magical time. The only let down is the inability to read the transcript and listen to the interview at the same time, but to be honest, the overview states listen to, or read the interview so this is nothing I didn't know. Other purchasers of this book listed problems like the nook freezing, and sound and video not playing. I've not suffered from any of these.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Price raisedPoor customer service

    Just yesterday the price was $32.00 now its over $45.00 Plz give us a break so we can get it........

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10