Customer Reviews for

Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. Kennedy

Average Rating 3.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

An Intimate Look Inside Camelot

Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so...
Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so much more about her, husband President John F. Kennedy and the world, including the people around them.

While I won't spoil some of the surprises for you, my mouth fell open when I read what she wrote about Martin Luther King Jr. Her words during the Cuban Missile Crisis were amazing. But, what shocked me even more was how people around her felt about Lyndon Johnson.

I applaud Caroline Kennedy for being brave enough to share such personal and intimate details about her family. If you ever wanted an intimate look at the world of Camelot, then look no further. This is it and I highly recommend it.

As an avid reader, I love all genres, but there is another book that I'd like to recommend worth reading, it's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score" and it's on sale here on BN. It's a great book and proceeds from its sale goes to support women and children based charities, like the National Breast Cancer Research Center, Women Against Abuse and the Make A Wish Foundation.

posted by BarbaraRichards on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

It Doesn't play the videos!

I bought this book on Wednesday for $32.00 and it downloaded overnight. It freezes up everytime I try to play a video. I drove all the way down to a Barnes and Noble store, about 27 miles away today to get help with it from the instore tech. She couldn't make it work ei...
I bought this book on Wednesday for $32.00 and it downloaded overnight. It freezes up everytime I try to play a video. I drove all the way down to a Barnes and Noble store, about 27 miles away today to get help with it from the instore tech. She couldn't make it work either so she tried to d/l to the store nook but it took too long and she suggested I call 1 800 the book. I did that and was online with a guy for 30 minutes and he was trying to download the book. He told me to call back in 4 hours and he would leave a note in my account for the next shift person to help me. Well, I did call back and have been on hold for so long that I depleted the battery in 3 cordless phones! I am really pissed now and the book still will not work!

posted by NancyMz on September 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    An Intimate Look Inside Camelot

    Much has been said about the life of Jacqueline Kennedy, but never has the words been this revealing and this intimate. For the last couple of days, I have found myself totally absorbed into this book fascinated by Mrs. Kennedy and in turn, I feel like I have learned so much more about her, husband President John F. Kennedy and the world, including the people around them.

    While I won't spoil some of the surprises for you, my mouth fell open when I read what she wrote about Martin Luther King Jr. Her words during the Cuban Missile Crisis were amazing. But, what shocked me even more was how people around her felt about Lyndon Johnson.

    I applaud Caroline Kennedy for being brave enough to share such personal and intimate details about her family. If you ever wanted an intimate look at the world of Camelot, then look no further. This is it and I highly recommend it.

    As an avid reader, I love all genres, but there is another book that I'd like to recommend worth reading, it's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score" and it's on sale here on BN. It's a great book and proceeds from its sale goes to support women and children based charities, like the National Breast Cancer Research Center, Women Against Abuse and the Make A Wish Foundation.

    49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Enhanced Edition for NOOK Color ONLY!!

    For everyone who can't get this nook book to work, it only works on the Nook Color! If you look where it says: Read exclusively on these devices & apps: NOOK Color. That means you can't read it on the iPad, iPad 2, NOOK, etc......

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    A Real Treasure!

    This Enhanced Edition is my favorite NOOK Book so far - an absolute joy to read, watch, and listen to! Many thanks to Caroline and the rest of the Kennedy family for giving us such an intimate glimpse into the life of this incredibly fascinating woman. For those who are having trouble playing the video/audio in the book, try following these steps to correct the problem: 1. Turn off your NOOK Color completely by pressing and holding down the power button for about 3-5 seconds. 2. Tap Power Off. 3. After one minute, turn your NOOK Color on. 4. On the Home Page, go to Library and tap the sync button located in the lower left corner of the screen.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT! NOOK COLOR

    you have to turn on your animated page turns in order for the video to work. Lets read all of the directions, ppl. I got mine to work after a few minutes. but that is becuz i read the directions. nicely done BnN

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Glimps of history

    The video and sound are a window into a magical time. The only let down is the inability to read the transcript and listen to the interview at the same time, but to be honest, the overview states listen to, or read the interview so this is nothing I didn't know. Other purchasers of this book listed problems like the nook freezing, and sound and video not playing. I've not suffered from any of these.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    Not sure why everyone seems to be having so many issues with this book. Yes, it took a littlt longer to download, but it has worked like a charm for me. It is a little confusing to manuever at first...do not panic when you touch the "Listen to first conversation" button. It sends you to the back of the book, butthat is where the audio is located. Also, you can fast forward and rewind the audio to find your place if you have to stop. I love this enhanced edition. Thanks B&N!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Fantastic.

    I almost didn't purchase this due to some of the strange reviews about it "not working" on the Nook. Sure it was the most expensive book I have ever bought on my Nook but it was sooooo worth it! Listening to the audio was purely awesome. Hearing the inflections in Jackie's voice, listening to things from her point of view, fantastic. You have to keep in context that this woman rarely if ever gave an interview. This was her interview. I was able to view the videos and listen to the audio mostly without issue. A few times it took awhile for it to play but it was only because the audio files were so large. Patience is your friend. Also, it does not appear that you can read the transcripts along with the audio which was a bit disappointing but not a deal breaker. LOVED IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed listening to the audio from this book. It brings you back to a time of innocence and gives you a better understanding of the person, the people and the times. I would listen to the discs on my way to work and wished there were more to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    good book.

    this is the best book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I love this BOOK!!!!!

    I really like how they put it together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Wonderful!

    If you are a history buff, you will like this set. Gives a wonderful glimpse into the life of Jackie and the 60's era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3