BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jaded

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~ 3 Jaded Stars ~ A nice read & a sweet hometown feel. Jade

    ~ 3 Jaded Stars ~ A nice read & a sweet hometown feel.

    Jaded is my first experience with author Anne Calhoun. I’m not a big contemporary reader. I read mostly PNR or UF, but I felt I needed a break before diving back into my regular reads. I had won Jaded several months ago and felt it was time to check it out. 

    Jaded was a nice read. It had that sweet little hometown feel to it. The plot was ok. Not eye popping spectacular, but sweet with the cliche of hometown cop and head librarian, which even the main characters acknowledge. At times I did wondered how people new each other, but it did not pull away from the story. Yes, I did’t realize this book was part of a series until I was halfway through it, but oh well it can stand on it’s own. 

    Alana and Lucas their relationship was lukewarm, not very hot. I was never really taken by Alana and Lucas together. Their relationship starts of with sex and little else, but as they spend more time together it deepens. I liked Lucas the Hometown Cop who was wounded by his ex-wife and past pain caused in his job. Alana I never really got into her. She never could make up her mind on anything, the reasons for her to go back to the family where kind a foolish, and it felt like she was not into the relationship as much as Lucas was. I liked the side characters more then the main ones. I enjoyed the storyline on the teenage kid that Alana helps and Lucas with his cousin. You see that the relationships Lucas and Alana build in there lives/town with others is important to them and helps them both find what they need in each other and themselves. 

    Jaded was a nice read from my usual. The sweet hometown feel and the gradual build up in the relationship’s through out the story were nice and sweet.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    ** 3.5 stars ** Jaded is the second book in Anne Calhoun's Wal

    ** 3.5 stars **

    Jaded is the second book in Anne Calhoun's Walkers Ford series, and yes, it can most definitely be read as a stand alone, though the couple of book one do show up and have some significant moments that were enough to have me wanting to read their story, Unforgiven.

    In Jaded, we have the story of Alana and Lucas, two lovely, lonely people who think they have their lives figured out, have what they need, only to discover that every moment is better when you have someone to share it with. While it does focus more on Alana, I felt Lucas' story was just as important.

    Lucas and the people of Walkers Ford show Alana that every person, every step in the community engagement/betterment process is important. You don't have to effect change on a global scale to matter. Searching for a quiet place to find herself, Alana instead finds a home, a community in which she has the power and know-how to effect change, friends, and love. Alana, through her involvement in bettering the community and mentoring Cole, reminds Lucas why his job matters. That he might not be able to save every troubled kid, but it is good enough to save any troubled kid.

    Jaded is a love story, but the author gives us a socially relevant story as well. There is a strong focus on small town America, the power of a involved community, and simply caring for your neighbor. The story touches on addiction, poverty and hunger, the isolation that can come from being poor in a rural community and the power change can evoke. That even the most basic amenities we take for granted - a library, Internet access, art supplies, or simply a safe place - can make a difference.

    I had an interesting experience with Jaded. I liked it, though I wasn't especially wowed at an particular point. It wasn't a book that I had to devour, but I did feel sort of compelled by the story and wanted to keep reading. Though it didn't have a huge wow factor, I did sit back at the end and realized that as a whole, Jaded was a very nice story. There's a bit of sequel bait dangled at the end, and if my suspicions are correct and the next book is about Alana's friend Nate, I'm so on board.


    Favorite Quote

    "I want to finish what we started last night."
    "Too general," he said bluntly. "Be specific."
    The blush heated her cheeks as she looked at him. His five o'clock shadow dusted his cheeks and jaw like dark sand, and as time slowed and heated between them, she found she could name one very specific longing.
    "I want to know what your beard feels like against my lips."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Storm

    Whats up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Wolfclaw

    Hi grace

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Grace

    Waits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Shay to all the boys out there

    Go to Shay res 1 if you have any game

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Colten

    Walks in. Hey jade

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Kevin to jade

    Congratulations. Your my newest stripper ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Cum to 'sex club' all res!!!!!

    ~Liz

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Maci

    Hey. Im single and wanna fuq

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Chase

    No clue

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Come have some hot fun

    Se.x club for fun! Fuq me and ither girls ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Author Anne Calhoun continues her Walkers Ford series with Jaded

    Author Anne Calhoun continues her Walkers Ford series with Jaded, the story of a big city cop who returns to his small hometown to become sheriff and a pretty young librarian who is about to leave town for good. Readers who haven't read Calhoun's other books will be surprised by her expertise with setting. Walkers Ford gives readers an enchanting small town feel with engaging, reoccurring, characters and plenty of spice. A great feel good story that will leave readers wanting more.


    What I liked:


    There were plenty of things to like about this book, which happened to be my first from Anne Calhoun. Walkers Ford is the kind of small mid-western town that many readers would like to live in. The community is close and everyone knows everyone. Unfortunately that means everyone knows your business too. LOL! I thought the author did a great job of showing what life is like in a small town. There was definitely a lot of realism in this story and I liked this town.


    Heroine Alana Wentworth isn't exactly a part of the town of Walkers Ford. Shes only in town in order to save the local library and ends up showing everyone what the library means to them. I loved this plot line. I am a library reader. The library changed my life and showed me that I could go anywhere in the world in the pages of a book. So Alana's cause was one after my own heart. I loved the fact that not only did she show real heart by trying to save the library, but she also tried to help others as well. A great lead character, who wanted to have a little fun with no strings attached.


    Lucas Ridgeway has been a cop in Denver for far too long. He's become jaded and wants a change so her returns to his hometown, he puts me in mind of another cop who became police chief, Jesse Stone, I'm sure many of you are familiar with Robert Parker's Paradise chief. Lucas has some issues and wants some peace of mind and a little affair with the chick next door wouldn't hurt. I thought Lucas was a bit hard in the beginning, but he needed to be to pull off the whole idea of a jaded cop. I loved the way he began to open up when his relationship with Alana got more serious. He did a 180 not only with her but in the way he dealt with his cousin and everyone else in his life. He turned out to be quite a good hero.


    The chemistry between these two was electric. It obvious when they meet that sparks will fly. It's just a matter of whether it will stay fling or whether it will become more. At first their sexual relationship reminded me of a 'friends with benefits' kind of thing, but it quickly heated up to something a whole lot more complicated. Out of frying pan and into the fire as far as Lucas is concerned. In end it comes down to whether Alana will return to her wealthy family in Chicago or whether she will stay in Walkers Ford.


    What I didn't like:


    There were a few moments where Lucas comes across as a self serving egotist. But like I said I think that had to be the way he was portrayed. Maybe he could have come around a little sooner and not been so abrasive for so long.


    Bottom Line:


    I definitely want to go back and read book one and I want to read other books by this author. I loved the setting and the whole sex with no strings fling grew on me. I think readers will fall in love with Walkers Ford and the people who live there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Alana Wentworth comes from a large political family. After an e


    Alana Wentworth comes from a large political family. After an embarrassing public proposal, she takes the opportunity to act as a stand in librarian in a small town of Walkers Ford and escape a life she never thought was meant for her. Lucas Ridgeway returned to Walker's Ford to serve as their chief of police after an incident in Denver bringing him back home to start over. He doesn't want any distractions but the blushing librarian next door is proving to be one he cannot ignore.

    Cute story. I juggled between 3.5 stars and 4 stars on this one, and in the end I decided to give it 4 for many reason.

    I really enjoyed the romance. I felt the sparks between them and so much more. The interaction between Lucas and Alana was comfortable and easy. After reading a bunch of heavy stuff, this was rather welcoming. There was sparks and of course just the right amount of chemistry.
    It takes place in a small town and if you been following me for a while you know I love my small town romances. They make me all warm and fuzzy on the inside with their small close knit community and recurring characters. Speaking of which, thought I have not read the first book, I did look to see who was in it and Adam and Marissa do appear in this book as well!
    The pace of the book was pretty good. The story flowed and I found myself really immersed in it. Sure there was some parts that were kind of slow in the end but they where brief and minor and did not take away from the overall enjoyment of the book.
    I liked the storyline, especially in the end. Alana was not meant to stay in Walker's Ford. She was there to propose a project in rebuilding the library and in the end managed to show the community how important the library was to the town and it's people. How many of them it has helped, and how central it was to the community.
    Lucas. A brooding chief of police with a retired police dog named Duke? Yes please. Thought Lucas did manage to get on my nerve at times, I was so glad that in the end he allowed to town and it's appeal to kind bring down his own walls and start to actually help people a little more on a personal level. I did not like how he treated Cody and Tanya at first, but everything clicked nicely in the end!
    I liked the supporting characters. There was trouble and people who come from broken homes and Alana had managed to get entangled with each and one of them and make an impact on their lives. Even Lucas had bought down his walls in the end. I really loved that he did not give up on his cousin Tanya and had drug addiction as much as Alana did not give up on a teenager by the name of Cody who also came from a broken home.
    The writing. Calhoun did a wonderful job in luring me into the story that I found myself invested in the small town and connecting with her characters.

    Lovely story, so much more then just a romance I liked the other stuff that was going on in the background just as much. Of course I enjoyed the romance in this book as well. Thought a part of me wishes she didn't jump into Lucas bed right off, since I do love and enjoy the build up more. It did seem to work!

    Looking forward to more from Walker's Ford and it's characters :) with familiar faces.
    Source: I got a copy of this book from goodreads first reads in exchange of an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    Jaded by Anne Calhoun is a wonderful romance, with an interestin

    Jaded by Anne Calhoun is a wonderful romance, with an interesting and sweet storyline. Alana Wentworth comes from a high profile family, with political backgrounds. Alana helps her older sister, as she specializes in research. But when an unwanted proposal causes embarrassment, Alana decides to take a consulting job in Walkers Ford, South Dakota. He r job is work up a proposal to revamp the town library, which is something Alana excels in. What she doesn’t plan on, is falling for her landlord, Lucas Ridgeway, the towns chief of police.

    Alana doesn’t want commitment, as she knows she will only be in Walkers Ford for a few months, but that doesn’t stop her from trying to attract the attention of the hot Lucas. Of course, Lucas, who himself isn’t interested in any kind of entanglement is no match for from Alana’s attempt to get his attention. Their romance, which begins fast, with each claiming no commitments, just for their fun; but it becomes a very sensual, scorching hot affair. Jaded is also a story of how many people become involved working with Alana, and she changes and affects their lives; from the local teenage bad boy; the elderly lady who works with Alana; Lucas’s sister & Duke the dog; and of course, Lucas. He knows he is falling in love with Alana, but understands that she has commitments and he will lose her.

    Alana finds Walkers Ford feels more like home, then her own world she lives in. It is a beautiful story, with Alana being an important part of helping people rise above their issues, and change; as well as opening Lucas and her own heart. Will Alana go home? Will Lucas express his love to Alana to keep her? Will Cody, the teenage bad boy revert back to his bad ways? You need to read this book to find the answers. Anne Calhoun has weaved a wonderful story, in a small town; with a hot steamy couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1