Customer Reviews for

Jaguar Fever

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I have to be honest; I was not comfortable when I found out that Maya’s hero will be the cat that had the hots for her sister in law. I was not sure how Ms. Spear would come up with a story that would not make the relationship so awkward. The worry was for nothing though because Ms. Spear did a great job with their romance. I actually like Maya and Wade’s story better than the first book. Not only that she brought on a bigger world with more shifters, Ms. Spear had brought more action, humor, and sexy scenes to Jaguar Fever.

    While Connor and Kathleen are on their vacay in Belize, Maya is on her own. The wild spirit that she is, she seeks out more of her kind. I can totally understand this woman. She has been alienated from her kind for most of her life and now she is just ready to explore. I love that she is very comfortable with her own skin. Maya is as brave, fierce and ready to slash at anyone that threatens her. Unfortunately, her newly found freedom from her brother will bring on more danger than she can handle.

    Wade is the cat who helped Maya and Connor last summer in the jungle. He also had his eyes from Kathleen who is mated to Connor. It was a bit awkward for me going in to this book but Wade won my heart. He works to protect the Jaguar shifters from poachers and he will be the one to save Maya…again. Savior to his core, Wade is alpha as can be. This guy is hot and he cannot take his paws of Maya. Well, they both cannot get enough of each other. The fact that they have waited a long time to commit makes them a perfect match.

    Like I said, Jaguar Fever is even better than its predecessor, Savage Hunger. I love that this world goes beyond just the jungle. It extends to other shifters in the world, making storyline a lot more exciting. In addition, Ms. Spear had added characters with a lot of personality. The interactions between the Wade, David and even the serious Conner were often full of banters and camaraderie. Did I mention they are sexy as sin? Ms. Spear definitely knows how to write sexy shifters, no doubt about that.

    I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys shifter stories in the PNR genre.

    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    - 4 Jaguar Fever Stars - Jaguar Fever is book two in the Heart

    - 4 Jaguar Fever Stars -


    Jaguar Fever is book two in the Heart of the Jaguar series by Terry Spear. I adore Ms. Spear, love her Heart of the Wolf series and will always re-read one of her works. This is a re-read and I enjoyed it again. We get a sweet romance and a little action.


    Wade is an alpha, sexy, dominate and smart. He is protective and territorial of what he deems his. He has a great relationship with his brother David, providing the perfect amount of family ties, sarcasm and humor. 


    Maya I liked her in Savage Hunger. She is/was determined to see her brother hooked up, so she could start looking for a mate of her own. She is strong and a dominate heroine, however she makes a few decisions you want to smack her for. 


    I love that we get such great family dynamics with Conoor and Kat returning as well as the new characters being added. I like the easy camaraderie and banter between them all and how they develop and grow as the story progresses. The relationship is a quick blooming one, since both where introduced in book one Savage Hunger, so their semi-relationship is carried over into this one. I like that we get to learn more about the Jaguar shifter world too.


    These books are the perfect reads for me, especially when I don’t have a lot of time on my hands or need to de-veg from an awful or tough read. Ms. Spears knows how to create a fun world full of sexy interesting shifters with the right amount of suspense, action, and romance. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Nadene R. Book provided by NetGalley for review Revi

    Reviewed by Nadene R.
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I was first introduced to Terry Spear when I discovered the Heart of the Wolf Series. When I found out that she was the author for Jaguar Fever I was glad for the chance to read and review this title. Jaguar Fever, which is a paranormal romantic suspense, is the second book in the Heart of The Jaguar series and it can be read as a stand alone.

    The story is set in Houston Texas and Belize. The locations, especially the the jungle in Belize helped to enhance the story and helped reads to understand how jaguars behave in their natural habitat.

    Character development was ok. I like how the author built on each of the characters and how she developed on the familial relationship that existed between Wade and his twin brother David and Maya and her brother Connor.

    Wade is a jaguar shifter who works for a top secret organization whose purpose is to bring to justice to rogue shifters. Maya is also a jaguar shifter who has lived in the wild all her life. She decided that she wanted to be in the city where she could meet other shifters and have some fun. The chemistry between Wade and Maya was hot and sizzling. Wade wanted to see Maya exclusively but she was more interested in dating several shifters. Her reason for this had to do with her parent’s relationship. The romance between Wade and Maya was realistic and adequately developed.

    The storyline was very interesting. It was an easy and fast paced read. There was lots of action, but there was no element of surprise. It was easy to figure out who the villains were.

    Miss Spear’s writing style as usual is very detailed and descriptive. She has a way of making her characters appear realistic. I felt as if I was actually a part of the story. Jaguar Fever is an exciting read and worth every moment spent reading it. This book is a must read for lovers of paranormal romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Tyler

    Padded in.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Silversnow

    May I join she meows politley. Her silver fur shimmers in the moonlight.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Darkheart

    The deputy ate a shrew.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Willowpaw

    A pretty tortishell shecat and a brown tabby tom padded in. "Hi im willowpaw and this is Barktail may we join?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Redpaw

    *a tom padds in* may i join?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Hi

    She padded in and looked at the handsome tom.
    "May i join?" She asked

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Nightpaw

    A black she-cat pads in, her emerald eyes watchful. "Can i join?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Scarletstar

    "Darkfire, Goldenheart and Viperpaw. Can you guys go on a hunting patrol? We need more fresh kill. When you come back, i will take Goldenheart and Nightpaw on a terriotory patrol. Got it?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Terry Spear writes so me of the best shifter books. This second

    Terry Spear writes so me of the best shifter books. This second book was full excitement and fun characters, which I always find in her books. There is always a great story, full of twists and action, and her thorough research shines through in all of the marvelous detail. She makes it easy to envision the world of the jaguars, as well as their behavior. I really loved how the jaguar world grew so much in this book. It has brought in so many new characters to the series, which means there is so much more good stuff to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love me a shifter romance, and this one didn't disappoint! Jag

    I love me a shifter romance, and this one didn't disappoint! Jaguar Fever was super hot, sweet, and full of shifter danger and fun. I really enjoyed this wonderful paranormal romance.

    Maya was a lovely heroine. She was easy to like. She was a strong character, for one because, if you piss her off, she can shift into a jaguar and claw you to pieces. But, also with other shifters, she refused to let anyone walk all over her. She was clever, not prone to dramatics (thank goodness) and really likable. I thought she was a great character.

    Wade was also amazing. He had a way of stealing the scene whenever he was on the page. He was just very intense and a force to be reckoned with. Not to mention, this guy is on fire hot. And, he could also be very sweet when he wanted to be. I thought he was wonderful and I adored him.

    The romance was scorching. To say these two had explosive chemistry would be an understatement. Whenever they were together, the page caught fire from all the sparks flying between Maya and Wade. And, beyond all that spicy, these two were a lovely, sweet couple. I thought they were perfect together. 

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. The mystery of who was hunting the jaguars and why kept things on edge and gave us plenty of thrills. I loved the story and the ending was wonderful. After reading this book, I'm excited for the next book in the series.

    Jaguar Fever was a fantastic shifter romance. I loved reading this amazing book. Lovers of the genre, this is a book you'll definitely want to read.

    *Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oohy Ooh! A sizzling action packed shifter romance that hits al


    Oohy Ooh! A sizzling action packed shifter romance that hits all the right spots. Even though the story is technically about Wade and Maya, I think my favorite character dynamic would be between Wade and his brother David. They are just so fun for each other, and the tight bond just comes through so well. Of course I love it that Maya is no pushover, and wasn’t afraid to take what she wanted even if she planned on making it be just a fling. Love shifters and especially love the big cats. Thanks Terry-a big 5 heart read.





    Maya has lived in the wild with her brother isolated from the rest of the world her whole life. And when he finds a mate she decides that she has had enough of the isolation and goes into the city hoping to find more shifters and some fun. Fun being the main thing though, because she didn’t want to jump into a relationship only to be abandoned just like her mother.





    Wade Patterson has just fallen head over heels, and the introductions have hardly even been made. From the first moment he saw Maya in the amazon he wanted her. Of course at the time he thought she was taken and was charged by the agency he is employed by to protect her. Now that he knows differently he is pulling out all the stops to reel her in and keep her safe from those hunting their species.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Romance, Suspense, Oh My!

    Author Terry Spear creates a magical realm where paranormal existence becomes realistic. Her ability to blend fantasy and reality into a spine tingling story will having you believing. Wade and David Patterson, brothers and jaguar shifters, are members of an elite Special Forces group that keeps watch over their kind while working to keep their secret from humans. Their current mission deals with finding a group who has been illegally importing wild jaguars into the states for a hunting ranch. Maya Anderson, a jaguar shifter, is looking to connect with relatives she didn’t know she had. Her goal is to enjoy herself a bit out from under her brother’s constant control. When Wade and Maya reconnect, the attraction that eluded them months before in the jungle surfaces. As Maya, her brother and his wife get caught in the crossfire between the Special Forces unit and the hunters, things become explosive. The mission travels to Belize and back again for a steamy adventure. Spear has crafted realistic characters not overshadowed by their paranormal abilities. They’re well developed with flaws and spirit. The secondary characters add flavor to this romance heighten by suspense. An eye for authentic detail, Spear’s extensive research comes through in the distinct descriptions of both locations and jaguar actions. Detailing the sights and sounds of the jungle places the reader in the midst of the action. JAGUAR FEVER is an action-driven story with twists along the way for surprises. The suspense is captivating and the romance is steamy. The interaction among the characters is sprinkled with humor for a well-blended story that will put jaguars in a totally different light. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    I love shifters and when I saw jaguar shifters I knew I had to r

    I love shifters and when I saw jaguar shifters I knew I had to read this.  Seriously, shifters that are Jaguars... too flippin' awesome.  I did not realize when I first picked this book up that it was book two in a series.  That made the first chapter feel less than complete to me, but after that first chapter, I quickly got completely get immersed in the amazing world that Terry created.   
    Mystery, adventure, suspense, and hot romance.  This book had it all.  I loved Maya from the very beginning and was glad to see a strong heroine that had strong family bonds.  Wade is also made of awesome.  He is strong, intelligent, caring, and a hottie ;) .  I really loved how the author took this super steamy shifter romance and added a bit o real life to it. Poaching and Illegal Game Hunting is real and to see those topics approached without it being preachy or afterschool specially made me happy.  
    If you love hot shifters, a sizzling romance, adventure, and some suspense, this book is probably for you.  I will be going back to read book one in this series and keeping my eyes peeled for the next book in this series.  While not everything was wrapped up in a pretty pink bow, this does not end in a cliffhanger and all of the important plot points were tied up nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
    *eARC received from NetGalley
    -Actual Rating 3.5 Skulls

    It was great to have Maya and Wade back, and I just love David; I can't wait for his book!

    Jaguar Fever was a good book, a solid 3.5 Skull read, but I keep wondering if it might have been better for me to wait and read it after the
    editing and BETA reading process was finalized. There were several things that just didn't feel very 'Terry Spear' like to me - characters a
    bit on the shallow, underdeveloped side, some sub-plotlines that felt a bit like they were put in and yet to be expanded upon, etc, but
    knowing it was an un-edited copy, I tried to look past all of that and see the final product's potential. 

    What you get with Jaguar Fever is a sweet paranormal romance with a bit of action and lots of family dynamic. I absolutely love the big
    cats, and Terry writes them in that form beautifully. I'm not sure that anything will beat the heart and soul she has poured into her wolves
    over the years in my personal opinion, but I'm excited to keep reading about our Special Forces Jaguars and the feisty women they fall in
    love with... :) 

    Jaguar Fever is the second book of the series, but it would stand very well on its own. If you are a fan of shifter romance and adventure, I
    do recommend Jaguar Fever and its predecessor Savage Hunger. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jaguar Fever is a sexy, sizzling shifter story. Maya Anderson h

    Jaguar Fever is a sexy, sizzling shifter story.

    Maya Anderson has recently discovered that her and her brother are not alone. For a long time they believed themselves to be the only jaguar shifters left. 

    Wade Patterson is the ultimate shifter special forces. Protecting shifters and their way of life. Now he has his sights on Maya. When Maya decides to adventure out to a shifter bar, Wade's possessive feelings jump to the forefront. Knowing Maya needs more time to accept her new knowledge of the shifter community is one thing, watching the other shifters buzz around her like bees is another.

    When Maya gets into some hot water with poachers, Wade pulls out all the stops to keep Maya safe.

    This is a wonderfully steamy romance and an action packed adventure with shifters while Spear's sneaks in an enviromental twist. The sexual tension and interaction is blush worthy. Spear's descriptive writing makes you feel like you are running through the jungles of Belize right along with the jaguars. Another must read from Terry Spear, Jaguar Fever will get your temperature rising.

    I received this ARC copy of Jaguar Fever from Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on August 6, 2013.

    Written by: Terry Spear
    Series: Heart of the Jaguar
    Sequence in Series: 2
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca 
    Publication Date: August 6, 2013
    ISBN-10: 1402266952
    ISBN-13: 978-1402266959
    Rating: 4.5
    Genre: Paranormal Romance
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2