Customer Reviews for

Jake, Reinvented

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    To much

    To much sex and underage drinking. Didnt really grab me like kormans other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    The joys of being a teenager

    Jake, Reinvented is a well-rounded book. Gordon Korman tells the classic tale of a typical teenager, Jacob Garrett, who changes his image and engages in things cool kids do in the hopes of being accepted. I am pretty sure that any teenager can relate to this book on some basis. We've all experienced the need to be with the popular 'in' crowd, have the most desired and hottest boyfriends, dress to impress, yadda yadda yadda. Great job bundling 'average teenage chaos' into one, Mr. Korman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvinted, a great read

    Jake, Reinvented is a fantastic, because the underage drinking. I like the awesome characters. I like how the setting could be anywhere and how the high school was named after F. Scott Fitzgerald. I like what happens in the end. I really like it because I can relate to it because they are the same age as me. In the book, Jake is the main character. He is a very smart person who moved to F. Scott Fitzgerald High School to get closed to the girl of his dreams that he tutored back in the day. He joins the football team to get popular and he has these parties every Friday with basically everyone there. Jake is a cheater and can¿t do nothing else on the football team except long snap. I think you should definitely get a chance to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    this was the greatest reinvention of a jake

    In the book Jake Reinvented there were a lot of thing I liked about it. First it explained what happened at the parties pretty well. Another thing is that the parties are like the parties in today¿s life. This is a very good book it has a lot of twist and turns to it. This book is one to not pass up, I recommend it. There is not many dislikes about this book. There is one thing I believe that the book should have had a couple of more parties. Other than that I really don¿t have anything else I disliked about it. This is a book that everybody needs to read. Like I said before, this is a book I recommend that you read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    this book was the digidy dankest

    Jake Reinvented by Gordon Korman was an excellent book of describing how most high school life is. This book is a great book for reading in school. I like how the author made all the different clicks and explains their rolls throughout the book. I like how it took a classic story, The Great Gatsby and brought it to a new age. The book Jake Reinvented starts with this kid Rick going to parties that start getting worse as the stories continues. Another thing about the story is how the ending sneaks up on you. One disappointment in the book was that it would have lead to someone¿s death. That is why I would have to recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    5 stars for Jake Reinvented

    I thought this was a good book. It was very interesting to a person my age. I was drawn in by all of the action and parties. There was a lot of underage drinking. I believe this is a great book to read in the classroom. Jake Reinvented is the story of a teenage boy who is trying to change his past. He wants to recreate his image to impress a girl. Along the way he is caught in many bad situations. This book is written well but it could have been longer. I feel there are many things that could have been talked about upon further reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Great Reinvention

    If you enjoyed reading the book The Great Gatsby, you will love reading Jake, Reinvented. This book was one of the best books I have ever read. The more I read, the more I liked it. It kept me at the edge of my seat. I never knew what was going to happen next. The crazy parties were first to catch my eye. This book was mainly about a boy who fell in love with a girl and would do almost anything for her, including move near her and throw crazy parties hoping she would show up at one of them. The only thing I didn¿t like was the ending, but you¿ll have to read it to find out what happens. This was a great comparison to The Great Gatsby, however, it was in modern day time and younger characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Five Star Jake, Reinvented

    Jake, Reinvented is a good book for teenagers to read. Most teenagers can relate to the book. Most people can compare themselves to some character in the book. Therefore you get into the book because you feel like you are living the story. The book is about how far someone will go for someone they love. This is a few reasons why I like this book so much. The book is very easy to read, because it is written in our young language. Yet it helped me better understand The Great Gatsby. This was a very hard book to understand, because it was written back in the 1920¿s. However I found the ending of the book was not as good as the rest of the story. Yet this was still a very good book. I would recommend any teenager to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented Is the best

    Jake Reinvented is a wonderful book for teenagers to read. Jake is a new kid at the high school and he throws awesome parties every Friday night. He has a huge crush on one of his old friends from school. I like this book because teenagers can relate to it and read that every teenager has the same problems. I think every teenager should read this book during high school at one point or time. I would rate this book a four star book. Jake, Reinvented teaches you to always be yourself and don¿t try to be anyone that you¿re not. This book also shows how people will go to extreme risks just to get a boy or girl to look at them. I like that it has peer-pressure in the book because it could help teenagers now a days that are in high school coop with their problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Reinvented Jake

    Jake Reinvented is a good read for anyone who wanted to understand the teenage mind better. This book is a five star in my opinion because it was an easy read but interesting at the same time. This book is a story about Jake¿s move to a new high school. Also, this book deals with key issues most high school students go through. Finally, I would recommend this book to anyone within high school. I had a lot of likes and dislikes to this book. One of the positives I had with this book is that it¿s really easy to relate to. A negative would be that the book focused too much on Jake¿s relationships. A main positive I had with the book is that it didn¿t get boring. Finally, the conclusion of the book will still keep you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented-mixed review

    A book I really liked was Jake, Reinvented. I liked it because its about a bunch of high school kids that love to party. It starts out with a party at this new kids house who had just moved in. his name is Jacob Garret. He likes this girl and she is supposed to be verty beutiful. At the end theres alot of drama just like in high school.Everyone gets cheated on or something bad happens.One thing I dont like about this book is the end. It was very disappointing. I reccomend everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A Good Book, Reinvented

    Jake Reinvented overall is a good book for the teenage age group. The book keeps your attention and has the reader wanting to read more and more. The book has a great story and interesting climaxes. Also the characters have interesting and unique personalities. One better thing about the book is all the action at the parties. Jake is a mysterious character that comes out of nowhere and becomes poplar in an instant. The parties he throws attracts everyone people he knew and didn't know. He has a heavy crush on this girl named Didi, which he is doing everything to try and get her. His best friend, Rick, has his back trying to keep him out of trouble. The tension builds as Tom, Didi's boyfriend, finds out about Jake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A kid that was reinvented

    Jake Reinvented is a exciting book. It starts off with a new kid named Jake Garrett who showed up out of the blue. He is the best long snapper that the Broncos have ever had. He starts throwing parties and they during each party new people come. He becomes friends with Nick. Didi shows up at one of the parties and Jake remembers her from his past. When his parties starts to get out of hand the cops come. I liked this book because it relates to high school kids. They throw parties and have fun every Friday. It has a lot of drama. It has a book from the version on the 1920 called The Great Gatsby. It is a very good book and if you like to read about kids having parties, with a lot of drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake Reinvented= The Greatest Book In The World

    I was very interested in the novel Jake, Reinvented, and loved the book. This book is the only novel I have read that relates to me as a teenager. Although there were some things I did not like about it, there were many things I loved. I loved how there were so many parties and drinking because high school is so much like that these days. I also like how there was teen romance. Some of the things I did not like was the ending of the book and the way Jake handled the situation. All together I thought it was great and loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Unrealistic

    Jake, Reinvented is not a good book for highschoolers to read. Real-life parties are not like what is portrayed in the book. There is no pizza guy or pizza. When you throw a party, you will normally keep everyone and everything under control. Also, why would you pay for the beer at a party for hundreds of people? This is not realistic. If someone came crashing through your front door on a motorcycle, then you would be extremely mad. When that happened to Jake, he didn¿t even care. Once again, this is not realistic. I don¿t know about you but this just doesn¿t seem like a regular high school party. None of this crazy drama would have happened if these had been regular parties instead of this ridiculous, unrealistic fantasy parties.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    A Book For You

    Any book a person can relate to is usually easy to read. Jake, Reinvented is a really good book because it¿s easy to relate to. The book is also easy to read. I don¿t even like reading, but I couldn¿t put the book down. There is a love story and almost a mystery. You wonder is Jake going to get Didi. Or are Jennifer and Rick ever going to get together. It keeps you in suspense about what¿s going to happen next. You think you know what Jake¿s up to and how he gets so much money, but by the end of the book everything turns around. Another great thing is the details. It was easy for me to paint a picture in my head. Although this was a really great book there are a few things I thought were unnecessary. For example, the anaconda being at the party, or the motorcycle crashing into the house. That in no way relates to The Great Gatsby. And some of the injuries that go on seem a little overboard. Other then these small event, Jake, Reinvented was an outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented outstanding

    This book was absoultly amazing. I cant say enough about it. I am not a big reader, the only time i read is when im told to by a teacher. i have never really read a book that i was that i enjoyed but after i read the first page of this book i couldnt put it down.i was actully sad to finish reading it. Jake, reinvented tells the story of how a highschool boy trys so hard to impress a girl from his childhood and ruins his own life by doing so. What i loved most about this book was how it realtes to what highschool students go through today with all the wild keg parties and problems with girls. i recomend this book to anyone but espeicaly young adults i promise you that you will be blown away by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Jake Reinvented is the Best

    I thought that the book Jake Reinvented was a very good and exciting book. The book was in great detail and explained many real life circumstances. Jake Reinvented is very realistic, that is what makes the book as popular as it is. High school students really like this book because they can relate to what is going on in the book. It shows what kids in high school do and how they go on with themselves. I give this book five stars because it is such a great story. It has great characters and a setting that I can relate to. The author kind of exaggerates the parties, but other than that you can¿t touch this book. This is one of the few books I have ever read and it is defiantly one of the best. It is defiantly number one on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake is Great

    In Jake, Reinvented by Gordon Korman, I like how the writer relates to the high school drama that many of his reader experience. The way the author organizes the dialect between characters was enjoyable and some of the readers may think it is acceptable to drink under age. Although the novel has positive and negative points, it is successful in appealing to youth. My English class just read The Great Gatsby, and read Jake, Reinvented a month before. I think Jake, Reinvented helped me understand the characters and storyline of The Great Gatsby. Jake, Reinvented was more in a modern language for the youth than The Great Gatsby. I think Jake, Reinvented is an excellent book, and I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    An Amazing Book!!!

    I thought that Jake, Reinvented was a good book. There are many reasons why I liked the book and many reasons why I didn¿t like the book. The reasons why I like the book is because it was short, it was an easy to ready book and you could easily get into it, and it was based on present time and also had a good narrator. To go along with the many reasons that I liked the book, there are many reasons why I disliked the book. One of the reasons why I disliked the book is because it wasn¿t really realistic. In some ways it could relate to really life but come on, nobody has relationships like that without getting caught. The other reasons why I didn¿t like the book is because the relationship guidelines were semi-hard to follow and the fact that Jake got into big trouble at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3