Customer Reviews for

Jake, Reinvented

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented= The Best Book EVER!

    Jake, Reinvented is a very good book. It takes place in the present day high school. You follow Rick Paradis through a series of events that will change him forever. Jake Garrett is the mysterious new kid in town, and already he is popular. He throws the best parties. Jake has eyes for Didi the prettiest girl in town. The problem with this is that Didi has a boyfriend already, Todd Buckley. Todd is the quarterback of F. Scott Fitzgerald High¿s football team. This of course causes controversy. I like this book because you I can relate being in high school, and around the party scene. I also like the relationships in the book. The cheating, the start of new ones. I give this book five stars. I recommend Jake, Reinvented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Mixed thoughts on Jake, Reinvented

    The book Jake, Reinvented is a great book for teens. It really does relate to high school. I like the way it describes the parties in so much detail. There was a lot of drama in the book, which made it interesting. Overall, I think it was a good book. There are some negatives to Jake, Reinvented as well. I thought the worst part was the ending. I didn¿t like how it did not give much detail in the end, after Jake was done with his situation. I thought the book ended too soon. When you finished, you were left with a confused feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented-is a great book

    I think Jake, Reinvented was a really good book. It tells about how life is now, and how teenagers make mistakes in life. Some of the mistakes that Jake and the people in Jake, Reinvented made, helped me realize how not to make the same mistakes. I thought this book was a really good book. It also made The Great Gatsby easier to read. Some of the things I didn¿t like about Jake, Reinvented. At the beginning of the book when Rick tells about how he moved and the neighborhood it¿s kind of boring. Also the book could be a bad influence to teenagers are whoever reads it, because of all the parties and drinking. This book could give someone the idea that drinking is okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Reinvent Yourself or Not

    Should you reinvent yourself or not.In Jake,reinvented that is what Jake did.Jake is the new kid at F. Scott Fitzgerald High School and gets on the football team. He becomes a popoular guy that throws alot of parties.Rick ,Jake's new best friend, tells what happens to Jake.Everyone wants to know who the real Jake is. I liked this book because its about being in high school and I wanted to find out what was going to happen to Jake next.Would he get caught or not?Jake wants to date Didi but she is dating Todd.Would Jake get the girl or would she stay with Todd?You need to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    jake reinvinted gold silver star

    There are some things I like about the book. The first thing I liked about the book how Jake and Didi are always together. And how Jake is always throwing parties. There are a few things I dislike like that Todd cheats on Didi and that did cheats on Todd. I also did not like when Didi did not stand up for herself. I did like when Jake did stand up for Didi. I would recommend the book to someone over the age of 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake, Reinvented... Kegxellent!

    Jake, Reinvented is a great book for young adults. This book is much alike high schools everywhere. The main character is Jake Garret. He is new at school and seems to be a super cool guy. He throws many parties that it seems everyone from school attends. These are some of the things that make this a great book for teens. These event are so understandable for teens because it is very similar to normal high school life. I would strongly suggest this book to anyone from their early teens to their early twenties. The only flaw that I have found is that it is a bit short. I say this because it is such a great book I wish I could have read more of this story. Overall this is a great book and I would give it two cups up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Good book Jake,Reinvented

    Jake reinvented was the book I was reading. It was a good book to read to me becasue it related to teens,And the parites were fun to read about.The drama in the book was also good drama between the students.It was a very good book that i would recommend to teens,or just to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jake Reinvented The most outstanding book ever

    I like Jake Reinvented because it¿s an awesome book. It has lots of drama and fighting that¿s the kind of books I like to read. As you read the book it makes you get deeper into it just makes you want to read it non-stop. If it was up to me I would give this book a 5 or 6 and recommend every person in the world to read this book. What I disliked about Jake Reinvented is it could have had more characters. The book also could have been longer. At the end of the book when Jake had to go to court and had to move with his mom it should of said what happened to him. Like when he moved with his mom it didn¿t say did he have any more parties or what his dad thought about the situation he was in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    A kid named Jake is Reinvented

    Jake Reinvented is a very exciting book. It starts off with a new kid named Jake Garrett who showed up out of the blue. He is the best long snapper that every played for the Broncos. Jake starts throwing parties and all the guys want to be like him and all the girls want to date him, but Jake has his site on Didi, a girl from his past. But there's a problem, Didi is going out with Todd, the quaterback. Todd likes Melissa and he is cheating on Didi but when everything starts to get out of hand Todd tells Nick that Melissa is cheating on him with Jake, and then Didi hits Nelson on the head with a beer bottle during the party, then the cops come. Jake has to go to court and made a deal that he had to leave the country and couldn't come back until he was 21.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    somebody you thought was your friend

    This story is about Jake a new-comer to town. He throws parties big parties for people will like him. Rick and Jake become friends. At one party he sees Didi at they party and they become friendly. But Didi is dating Todd but she likes Jake too. At the end of the something happens to Jake. Personally, I like the book because it relates to us. They throw parties, and boys and girls cheat. He had written for people like us for we can read it. I didn¿t like how Jake used Rick to get to Didi. I didn¿t like how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Teenagers life

    5 star Jake, Reinvented 12/11/07 3rd By Josh Webb - Jake, Reinvent is a great book for teenagers in high school. Most teenagers in high school can relate to a character in this book. Jake is a person that shows that we can do what we put our minds to. Although he also shows us that what we want in high school isn¿t always good for us. No matter how much we think it is. That is one of the reasons why I like this book. The book Jake, Reinvented, is a great book to read. The book is easy to read, and is really easy to relate to. It seemed like for a while to be a book about teens, high-school, parties and cliques. However it was really about love and how far some people are willing to go to win it. This book helped me understand The Great Gatsby so much better. Therefore I think this book is a great book for teenagers to win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Reinvention of Jake

    The book Jake Reinvented was too slow. It took too long for any of the good stuff to happen. This made it very boring. I didn¿t understand why Jake goes after Didi so much when he knows she has a boyfriend. Another thing didn¿t understand is why the cops never showed up at the parties. I didn¿t like the fact that there was so much drama. However I did like the story line in general. It reminds me of my life today. I liked the events that took place before and during the parties. I liked how they always had kegs, it sounds fun. The fighting between people added extra excitement. I recommend this book because I think teens could relate to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The New Jake being invented

    There are some very good things in the book Jake Reinvented what I like about Jake Reinvented is how it talks about the teenage life. All it does is explain what he like doing and he just want to hang out with our friends, not sit in the house all day and listen to your parents nag on you. And it kind of shows you the one's you think are so lame could really be cool, and the one's you think are so popular could be nerdy. I like the book title it is pretty decent. There is some dislikes in the book Jake Reinvented. I do not like the character Dipsy because he acts to childish to be a teenager. My other dislike is why were there any black characters not to saying I¿m against the race or anything there just should have been at least one black character. The last thing I dislike is not enough action excitement scenes in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The party life

    The book Jake, Reinvented is a very exciting and extravagant novel. The book is based on the life of today¿s high school students. From people on the football team to the wild parties the main character Jake throws, the book gives everyone an inside look at being a teenager. The parties are wild and crazy and will keep you reading to find out what the next party will be like. I found this to be the highlight of the book, it kept me reading for more. One of the main characters Rick, in Jake, Reinvented, does a good job of narrating the book. He does a good job of depicting the mood, the parties, and the romance, and how they affect everyone. To me he really brings out the book and makes it more interesting. Gordon Korman, the author, does a great job of relating Jake, Reinvented, to the early version of The Great Gatsby. I believe however, that Jake, Reinvented is a much better book and is more realistic. I think it is a very good book and will capture you once you pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    the great jake

    If I could pick only one book in the world to read till I die, it would be the book Jake, Reinvented. Once I started reading it I didn¿t want it to stop. I mean the setting is just perfect for teenagers these days. I like the drama the book brings to the reader because it feels like you¿re in high school again. I also like the character Rick because he is honest like me. On the other hand I had some dislikes in this great book. The fact that Jake got exiled wasn¿t the best ending. The only other part I don¿t like is how they cuss in it. Overall it¿s a good book. I recommend this book to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    You should read this book

    jake is a popular nice guy who is new in his neighborhood. He throws parties practically every day and has a lot of girls around him all the time. All the guys at jake's school does not like this at all. Jake's friend Rick thinks Jake's preatty great as a friend espessially as a party thrower. Jake makes alot of friends and a few enemies just like any normal guy would. But everyone is starting to wonder if Jake is so normal after all. They accuse him of coming out of no where and noone doesn't even know where he lived or what he likes to do besides party. Jake could have any girl that he wants at school but his eyes are only on DiDi one of his old kid buddies. Jake doesn't want to think of DiDi as a buddy anymore he wants more even if that means taking her away from her boyfriend Todd. This book is very intense and romantic with all the fighting and trying to get one person to fall in love with someone else it's very complicated in other words. Everyone wants to know who Jake really is and why he is there if you want to know also you should get this book today it's very fun to read and you'll be laughing the whole way through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    the kid that gets reinvented at school

    Jake reinvented This book is about a kid named Jake. He is a new kid in school. He goes to school and is on the football team. On the football team he is the ball snapper. And he don¿t have to do anything else besides snap the ball. Something about this book that some people may not like is that they cuss in this book. I liked the book because it has stuff about football in it and I like football. Also it¿s a book that gets straight to the point. This is the only book I have read of Gordon korman, and this book isn¿t part of a series. Jakes family is wealthy and his dad is always out of town on trips. And his mom don¿t live with him. Them are some reasons that Jake has enough time to throw parties every weekend. And have his house get trashed from the parties and he will still have a lot of time to get the house picked up before his dad notices that there has been a party at his house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Can You Really Reinvent Yourself?

    A mysterious new student shows up at F. Scott Fitzgerald High and he seems to have the life everyone wants. Jake Garret is the new long snapper for the varsity football team, he hosts the biggest party every Friday night, and he wears the most fashionable clothes you can think of. Every guy wants to be him, and every girl wants him! But of course, Jake only wants Didi, the beautiful and unavailable girl who¿s dating Todd, the varsity quarterback. But once Jake¿s secret comes out, everything goes wrong. Can Jake really reinvent himself into the coolest person ever or be his true secretive self? Read this book to find out. This book was pretty good. The only bad thing was that the book was slow moving and it was the same thing over and over again. It was still good though because it¿s the kind of book that I enjoy. I would recommend this book but not for advanced readers. Kids who like to read about everyday modern life will definitely enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Jake Reinvented A Great Book

    Jake Reinvented is a awesome read for teenagers and young adults. Jake is new to school and every friday he throws the biggest parties at his house which makes him untouchable, the most popular student in school but when he meets his old friend he starts flirting with her and gets her boyfriend todd extremely angry until they find out the real truth on Jake Garrett. i give this book four stars because it shows how wanting something or someone can get you to do crazy things and it shows alot of things that alot of high schools do now and also shows how they solve their problems. a good read for those within the freshman-senior years of high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    this book was so good

    I loved this book and I though that it was really good. I was really sad when I finished it becuase I knew I could not read it any more. I would totally reccomend this book to other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3