Customer Reviews for

Jamaica Inn

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    Don't judge a book by its cover.

    I read this book when I was in the 8th grade. I wasn't very big on reading, but I had to pick a book from a list of classics for a book report. I'm glad I picked Jamaica Inn. The story was mysterious and always kept you thinking. Filled with plot twists, the ending is a huge surprise. This was the first book that I actually liked reading, so it's one of my favorites.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2001

    Daphne's Fan

    I have the oportunity to read several books from her when i was a teenager, something that amaze me is the focus on details that this writer emphasized, even though that this is not a love story, one can say that is a strugle betwen the evil instincts of the human nature agains what is good and honorable.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    My Favorite Book

    I read this book for the first time several years ago, and it stil continues to be my favorite book. It has everything you need- suspense, violence, mystery, and love.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    Leona

    This is very good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    Great Book

    I just got dome reading Jamaica Inn and it was outstandingly wonderful. It had a little bit of everything all thrown into one. Mystery, suspense, romacnce and reality. I would recommend this this book to anyone who likes reading anything at all!!!Just give it a try!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Actually a 3.75 for me. I wasn’t completely enchanted with

    Actually a 3.75 for me. I wasn’t completely enchanted with the goings on of Jamaica Inn.

    Although this was not Ms. Du Marnier’s most famous work it should not be over looked. It has held up surprisingly well for a story written in 1936. By today’s standards it is wordy and over-descriptive leaving the readers mind to wander. It was a also bit jarring to keep seeing the characters first and surnames being utilized. It was another minor note that became annoying as it went on. Again differences in acceptable writing styles have occurred since this book was written.

    Regarding the story itself, the synopsis is designed to not provide a lot of information about what the story holds and I actually liked that – it added to the mystery of the piece. The pacing of the plot was designed to increase the tension of the moment and it did – very well. The characters were drawn vividly enough so they had definable personalities and possibly my modern brain kept bumping into the stupidity of some character actions – they were quite visual. Some of these characters could actually serve as the prototype for famous clichés such as the drunken landlord, the albino priest, the drab & fearful wife, the boggy moor. This is a multi-layered story covering quite a few dark crimes people commit that fans of historical literature shouldn’t miss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutley wonderful, amazing, great, extrodinary, admirable, amazing, astonishing, astounding, awe-inspiring, awesome, brilliant, cool*, divine*, dynamite, enjoyable, excellent, fabulous, fantastic, fine, groovy*, incredible, magnificent, marvelous

    I loved it! So good!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    A provocative story of survival

    The book ¿ The Jamaica Inn¿ written by Daphne Du Maurier is set in England during the mid-eighteen hundreds. The story is written about a young girl named Mary Yellen. Her mother dies, and she is sent to live with an aunt she barely knows. When she arrives she meets her tyrant of an uncle, Joss Merlyn. It is seen in the beginning he is a horribly shady man, and he is the owner of the very dismal Jamaica Inn. Mary finds early on that her uncle is involved in many evil deeds. He is a brute throughout the story and is very cruel and abusive to Mary. As she ages she falls in love with her uncle¿s brother, Jem. They go through many terrible situations throughout the story, and Mary¿s hope weakens. She protects her aunt until her and her husband¿s brutal deaths, after which she lives the life she chooses. Daphne Du Maurier did an incredible job of allowing the reader to share in Mary¿s pain throughout the story. The brutally cruel environment of the novel is placed right into the reader¿s reality. However, many of the brutalities that are portrayed were too intense. By the time they are over, the reader is too enthralled with the last situation to fully appreciate the next. Overall, the story is a triumph of love and war. It is an incredible portrayal of good fighting not to be consumed by evil. The theme is just that good versus evil, and good prevails. Her characters and her descriptive language give the overwhelming sense that courage and fortitude can overcome the hardships of life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    an amazing book with romance, and a fantastic mystery

    one of the BEST books i've ever read--the book has love, doubt, fear...suspence....everything you could possibly need to keep you turning the pages.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    The emphasis on scene and atmosphere

    I'm a foreign reader and Daphne du Maurier was the first novelist I've ever read in English. In this story (as in most of her stories) I've enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of the landscape in which the story is occuring, the nightmarish loneliness of the heroine, and the ominous atmosphere that surronded the all scene.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Get to enjoy "Jamaica Inn" book of Daphne Du Maurier.

    I got this book for my summer reading. Probably, Daphne Du Maurier is my favorite author for the school books. I've read "Rebecca" and have been in love with that book. And now, I have same feeling with this "Jamaica Inn". A little of scary, a little of romance, and the feeling of uncontrollable excited to get to the end of this book. Jamaica Inn really is a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    What a story! Each time I read it am struck yet again at the des

    What a story! Each time I read it am struck yet again at the descriptive power of Ms duMaurier's writing.I am THERE with Mary on the moors, hearing Joss Merlin describe his "stormy night activities" falling in love with Jem. This book is a CLASSIC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even in thrillers, the human race makes time to reproduce. And w

    Even in thrillers, the human race makes time to reproduce. And whatever else it is, Daphne du Maurier's 1936 novel JAMAICA INN is a thriller. Its heroine moves into serious dangers and adventures all alone, with no outside forces as reliable allies or protectors. So at some vague point in the early 19th Century newly orphaned 23-year old Mary Yellan moves to the moors of Cornwall to work in Jamaica Inn, owned by Joss Merlyn, ten years married to Mary's aunt Patience. Giant Joss is a mean drunk, wife abuser, and leader of a hundred strong gang of smugglers and killers. Mary lives only to remove her poor aunt from Jamaica Inn and bring her uncle and brigands to justice.  ***

    That is the plot of JAMAICA INN, thriller.  ***
    The novel is also a dark study in man-woman relations in general. Aunt Patience is not the only otherwise sensible woman in Cornwall who adores an unworthy male. Mary Yellan had seen the same thing happen among the young in her home village of Helford. Mary had concluded that romance or at least sheer rutting and mating is as animal among humans as among chickens and horses. There is no explaining why reasonable women pick the wrong mates. Mary reflects on this paradox over and over as she falls in love with Jem Merlyn, her Uncle Joss's horse stealing much younger brother.  ***

    JAMAICA INN is also justly famed for its gothic descriptions of the bleak moors, storms and rocky coasts of Cornwall. The reader feels in himself Mary's depression imprisoned at least for one winter in these treacherous uplands of Cornwall.  ***  
    One of the most mysterious of all Daphne du Maurier's many dark males is the Reverend Vicar Francis Davey. The Vicar is an albino, weird in appearance and behavior but kind to and empathetic with Mary Yellan. Mary has to unbosom herself to someone about the foul deeds of Uncle Joss and his cutthroats. And reluctantly she does so with two men that make her uncomfortable, Vicar Davey and horse thief Jem Merlyn. She also wonders at times if her alcoholic Uncle Joss is bright enough to mastermind his network of blackguards. Is there a mastermind behind Joss Meryn? Could he be the very bright horse thief Jem? Could he be the Vicar who has drawn a picture of himself in his pulpit as a wolf preaching to a congregation with sheeps' faces?  ***

    JAMAICA INN is not a book that you have to read more than once to make sense of.  It is clearly written and moves very fast. Not precisely a whodunnit, it is more a who is it: who is the hidden mastermind (if any) behind the smugglers of Jamaica Inn? A map of Cornwall would be a great help to non-British readers. And the standard English that the simple folk of Cornwall speak as well as the often elevated level of thought displayed by Mary Yellan, Aunt Priscilla and Joss Merlyn put a wee strain on realism.  -OOO- 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Imposible de olvidar! La he leido tantas veces!

    Imposible de olvidar! La he leido tantas veces!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An awesome book

    I'm going to tell you about a terrific book called Jamaica Inn. It's about a young woman named Mary Yellan, who must move to her aunt and uncles inn called the Jamaica Inn. When she gets there, she realizes that her uncle Joss is an abusive brute, and her aunt Patience is a thoughtless slave around Joss. On her first night at the inn, Mary hears noises outside her window. There are men slipping various items into the inn. She soon realizes that her uncle Joss is in a smuggling ring and she must find a way to alert the authorities without her uncle figuring it out. Then Joss goes out for a while, and a squire comes to search the inn. When Joss comes back, he's angry. He rants at Mary and Patience about him not being allowed in there.
    Then, fast-forwarding a little bit to Christmas Eve, Mary is kidnapped by her uncle and taken to view them murdering a ship full of people.
    What happens in the end, read the book to find out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    THIS WAS AWESOME!!

    Jamaica Inn was an awesome read! I could not even put it down for a second. You can take joys when Mary triumphs and let a tear fall when she fails. Oh and when you get to the end, get ready for a shock that you will have never suspected. And I'm not talking about Mary and Jem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2