Customer Reviews for

Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    I laughed out loud at a lot of the commentary in this book. One really funny example is the recipe on page 110 'Hotter Than Hell Sabbath Dip' (From a drag queen in New Orleans who claims to be the original Creole Lady Marmalade) Very campy, very southern, other recipes make reference to Tennessee William's 'A Streetcar Named Desire' and there are so many with that distinctly New Orleans flair. This book shows the city and its cuisine from a new, refreshing angle and not the same old boring 'BAM!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    The White Bean Creole Soup is good and so is the Mud Bug Salad. Nice collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Learn to make a roux (pronounced rew) like a pro, and be entertained in the process. I proudly recommend JAMBALAYA to all aspiring Cajun cooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Love this book. The One Jambalaya recipe that calls for sugar, sounds like a strange idea at first but it is truly delicious. Mr. St. Pierre writes and develops recipes for the top cooking magazines in the country and he has a unique yet wonderful way of experimenting and improving many dishes. The poetry is very insightful, giving the reader a glimpse into the Cajun world! I look forward to his new book 'Mari Gras Cuisine' due out in 2002!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Was skeptical at first with all of the ultra-positive reviews, but I am now a believer. Not your typical cookbook because of the extraordinary recipes & the wonderful poetry. Makes cooking fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Experience Louisiana's food traditions without leaving your own home. Enjoy the blend of flavors, unlike any other regional American taste out there. Find out how 'The Holy Trinity' Is the key to any good Cajun meal. (Holy Trinity: chopped onions, bell pepper, and celery)This book will indroduce you to the best that Cajun & Creole Cuisine has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Includes many of the legendary Louisiana foods and stories that have been around for generations. Lots of local color in this collection, makes me want to cautch the next flight to New Orleans. The shrimp dishes are superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    I ordered this for the Mardi Gras King Cake recipe, I made it and they loved it! But I got a lot more than I expected! This one really cooks baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Included is information on customs peculiar to Louisiana, along with very helpful techniques which may be unfamiliar to out-of-state cooks, yet it's all described so vividly, and delivered with the skill of a good storyteller!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    The variety of dishes in this collection are so easy to follow that even the cooking challenged will not find them difficult to prepare. New Orleans style food at its finest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    If you don't feel joy after sampling a few of these dishes you might wanna get your head examined. All around good recipes and hilarious to boot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2000

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Very nice book here, really well thought out. For lovers of all things Creole!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    Simply delicious Cajun & Creole food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Reasons Why I Like This Book

    1)The most popular Cajun dishes are in the front of the book. Classics like 'Seafood Gumbo,' 'Jambalaya,' and 'Shrimp Creole.' It saves me time & frustration. 2)It is informative. Besides the good food it shares with the reader many interesting facts about the Cajuns & their 'Joy of Life.' 3)It is reasonably priced for all you get. 4)The Author's personality shines through in each recipe. 5)I love New Orleans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2000

    Jambalaya, Crawfish Pie, File Gumbo: Cajun and Creole Cuisine

    This is a really good choice when it comes to New Orleans cookbooks, you can't go wrong with these easy to follow and delicious recipes. The author suggests other ingredients/substitutes if a particular food item is unavailable in your area. The Mardi Gras King Cake is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2000

    Cool Book

    I have really enjoyed this book since I ordered it in June!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1