Customer Reviews for

James Herriot - All Creatures Great and Small, All Things Bright and Beautiful

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    INSPIRING

    Upon reading this I was overwhelmed. Mr. Herriot had validated in his experiences what I known in my heart. All life forms have a special purpose. I never wanted the stories to end. James Herriot has a gift for showing his readers that all creatures follow their true destiny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Superb

    I was the child in the family that came home with every furry creature I could find. When James Herriot's 'All Creatures Great and Small' came out, I would find myself laughing out loud at the antics of the veterinarians, and the animals, because I could relate to all of them. I could not wait for each sequel to come out. I enjoyed them then, and when I need a heartwarming story or just a great laugh I pull them down off the shelf and find my self immersed in the lives of James, Tristan, and the menagerie. I recommend this book to young and old alike. A wonderful, wonderful read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2000

    Funny, Compasionate, Good time reading

    All of James Harriot's books are favorites. He is witty and downright funny. My husband thought I was crazy as I laughed out loud all through the book. These books are must reads for animal lovers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    This is for everyone

    This book has something for everyone. It has a lot of funny parts and it is filled with accurate information on vetarinary techniques. I loved it and cant wait to read to rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    If you ever farmed, if you are an animal lover, or enjoy country life, this is a "must read" and a "re-read"!

    This is a wonderful account by a veterinarian in the Yorkshire Dales who weaves humor, sweet, poignant, sometimes triumphant animal and people stories together in such a way as to transport you into the midst of each barnyard, living room, country back road or office visit. The character studies portrayed by the author remain consistent throughout the delightful chapters, and some personalities are revisited in sequences of "house calls" or office visits or descriptions of the veterinarian's peers and family. You may find yourself erupting in spontaneous laughter or loud guffaws at one moment, only to rush for a tissue to wipe a few tears before they splash on the next page. You will feel as if you are a privileged onlooker as you "accompany" the author on every occasion and take in the Yorkshire experience, meet the country and town folks, and root for all those beloved large and small animals, pets and farm creatures.
    I have gifted this book to countless friends and family members, and found that each one of them, regardless of background or age, overwhelmingly loved it. It is a win-win experience to read this and share it.
    Some of the author's books are designed especially for children, so look for those animal tales if you know young ones with or without pets of their own. They make for a rich story time, young or old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Fascinating

    A feelgood book. Mr Herriots' works make me want to experience those days, even there was no tv, computer and internet. It's the humble kind of life he has and it's just enough to make a better world to live on. Witty, down-to-earth and fascinating stories. Wish I could meet and be one of those people!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE

    READ THIS BOOK 25 YEARS AGO, AND I STILL ENJOYED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    A great relaxing read.

    So pleased to finally have my own copy of a book I've wanted for some time. It's such an easy pleasurable read. I can picture the Yorkshire dales and how the lifestyle must have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    A wonderful storyteller

    I read this series when it was published and still have the books. I'm getting a set for my godchildren so that they can enjoy these wonderful, true stories. The story of Cedric the boxer is one of the funniest stories I have ever read -- I laughed until I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    COMFORTING

    I reread this whenever I need something to just make me feel good. It makes me laugh, it makes me cry, it's an old friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Awesome book!

    I am only in the 6th grade and I think this is one of the BEST books I've ever read. It was fun to learn what it was like in 1938 as a young vet. sergeon. I would recommend anyone, fifth grade and up that is, to read this book, its heartwarming, charming, and funny as heck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    Total compassion

    Years ago I shared an orthopedic practice in San Bernardino with a hand surgeon. One of my patients loaned me this book. I laughed until my sides hurt. And I cried, too. The stories were very similar (albeit his were animal patients) to some of my experiences with people patients. Herriot is total compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1