Customer Reviews for

James and the Giant Peach

Average Rating 4.5
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    I had never gotten it until now....

    I had seen the movie and had never got the point, and I thought it was just plain wierd. It went from reality to animation. It was not until I read the book had I gotten it, I now get it all.

    - Hannah Anderson

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    CLICK HERE!

    LOVE THE BOOK! :) Hated the sample!:(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love this story!

    First time I read this story was way back in grade school. Even took a school field trip to see the play. Now I'm 31 yrs old and I still love it. I am reading it to my children now and they love it now too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    James

    Love the book read it a buch of times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    James and the giant peach

    It is a good book. I just started reading it and I like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Roald Dahl has written some of the most timeless children's book

    Roald Dahl has written some of the most timeless children's books. I read James and the Giant Peach to my girls. It was the first time for all of us, and it was a lot of fun. While it's not my favorite book from this author, it's easy to see why it became a classic. It's easy to understand, yet it's just as much fun for me to read as it is for my daughters.

    Content: Clean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Terrific

    This book is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Um

    How many pages is this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very enjoyable book, I highly recomend it

    James and the giant peach by roald dahl is a story about a little boy whos parents died when he was a little boy, so then he moved in with his two absolutly evil aunts who were horrifingly ugly, and they thought they were pretty :) then james finds some magic beans and he drops them on to the ground into the roots of the old peach tree, then the tree bloomed a peach and then the peach started to grow, soon enough it was as big as a house. Then he finds some new friends that you might not expect. i highly recomend this book because it was very facsinating and also it tought me that if you have a positive look on a disaster, then things won't seem so bad. This book also tought me that even the most of unlucky situations can be fixed if you beleive they can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    My Book Review: The book James and the Giant Peach was a good book it gave lots of detail in the story. The book had a very uncommon idea but it was a good book the way he wrote it. I really liked the genre fiction is my favorite and that was what the genre was in this book. The story didn't talk about the characters much so I didn't really know what he looked like. He also didn't talk about the setting I didn't feel what it was like living in his room. They made a movie about the book and I thought it was much better than the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    James and the Giant Peach

    Roald Dahl really works with imagination in this book. The idea of a boy having an adventure on a peach is rather obscure. The beginning and ending of the book, his parents being run over by a rhinoceros and the trip to New York, is extremely blunt. However, leaving the introduction and conclusion aside, it is the journey that leaves a strong message for the reader. James is a character who feels trapped in an unwanted lifestyle. He does not get to develop into his own being because of the control from his aunts. Rebirth, working together, and striving for the best become the themes of this selection. James becomes reborn and finds his identity along his journey with his insect friends. The story is sad and dangerous, with the boy losing his family and the survival on a large peach, but Dahl adds just the right amount of humor in the insect characters to make it uplifting. Each insect character has a unique personality. Each obstacle the characters face, the insects panic and go against each others tactics for survival. James teaches them how to work together and not panic when life is a struggle. The patients he endures must have come from his hard life. Even though James¿ life was difficult, it seems to work out in the end. There are a few illustrations in the book. The illustrations are black and white pencil sketches. They add just the right amount of aid to the book. With out the illustrations, the reader would not be able to truly know the personality of each insect. However, the lack of overpowering illustrations leaves some imagination for the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    James and the Giant Peach

    After an unexpected and strange death of James's parents, he is forced to live with Aunt Spiker and Sponge who are, in my opinion ruthless, careless, unloving, unfair people to James. His poor and lonely lapse of time is based on work and reprimands from his nasty aunts. One day he gets crystals from a very old looking man. They give power of their magic to whatever they touch first. James miserable and tormented life is about to change. Having no luck at all James drops his crystals under the peach tree that never grew a peach. They all vanish befor he touches them. James life is never to return to its ordinary life style. Suddenly, a peach grows to the size of a house on top of the peach tree. James enters the passageway and he meets very strange looking oversized and different creatures:silk-worm, mrs. spider, Earth worm, old green grasshopper,ladybug,centieped and glow worm.These creatures are nice to James and they become his friends. They take of ans the journey begins full of adventure,and magic and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    MAGIC CAN REALLY HAPPEN

    Like all the other Roald Dahl books, James and the giant peach shows that good, selfless people always are able to defeat, cruel heartless people. Plus this book is fun to read and full of suspense. If kids hate to read, any of the James and the Giant Peach will solve that problem. I garentee you'll love all the humor, magic, and suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    James and the Giant Peach

    JAMEs and the GIANT PEACH,is a book a bout a boy named James with terrible aunts that don't care if he dies thay would just laugh! His parants die by a black rinosaurus. centpedis my favorite charcter.And the aunts names were aunt spung and spiker.My favorite part was when Aunt Spung and Spiker get sqwished.And when they are on the Empirestate building.I rekamend this book for pelople with great amaganashon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    James and the Giant Peach

    James and the giant peach is about this boy who was left alone and his mom and dad got eaten by a black rhino.Then he had to go and live at his aunt's house.The two aunts where Aunt sponge and Aunt Spiker.They were so mean and frightful.Then this man appears and he gives James these green little bugs.He says to put them in a big jug of water and then fill the jug up with water and then put ten pieces of hair in their and then just drink it all also when it is all gone very good things will happen to James .Then james drops the bag and all of the little green things go in the soil.Then all of the green things go to some of everything.But some went to a tree...Read the book to find out the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    James and the Giant Peach

    James and the Giant peach was a book about James. James parents got killed by a rhino and he had to move in to his aunt,s house.Their names were aunt sponge and aunt spiker.They where the meanest Aunts on the planet. Then an old man in a green suit.Give him green thing.He was so excited he droped them.Then a peach appears on a peach tree that never grows.And keeps on growing.And it grows as big as a house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Peachy Book!

    The book I am reviewing is James_And_the_Giant_Peach by Roald Dahl, I think this book deserves four stars because it has a lot of adventure and some sadness. It also has some parts that make you gasp. A problem is his parents get eaten by a rhino that escapes from the ZOO. He moves in with his aunts and they don¿t love him. One day James is doing his chores and sees a peach on a dead tree. His aunts are so happy. Then the peach grows, and grows. The aunts start showing it off for a profit. That night James is cleaning and he sees a man that has magic in a bag. He tells James to add water to it and his parents will come back, he is running to the house and he trips, the magic goes into the peach. That night James sneaks a handful of the peach and eats. It makes a big hole. James crawls in and he falls into the middle. He meets a group of big bugs a Ladybug, centipede, grasshopper, earthworm, spider and silkworm. They became great friends. The peach begins to roll and they land in the ocean. Maybe they will get to NY? I recommend this book to anyone because it is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Recommended Read!

    The book I am reviewing is James and the Giant Peach. This book deserves four stars. It¿s terrific. It is written by Roald Dahl. This is about a boy who feels miserable. He finds a giant peach and meets giant insects. They made good friends. He had to go through tons of difficulties like evil aunts and sharks. I recommend this book to anyone. Other books by this author are Matilda, Witches, BFG and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    Very Good Book

    I liked this book a lot. I knew something was going to happen when the old man gave James the tiny green seeds. It's a classic story great for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    is ok.

    it's an ok book. i guess i like it. i would recommend this to someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3