Customer Reviews for

Jamestown Experiment: The Remarkable Story of the Enterprising Colony and the Unexpected Results That Shaped America

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

JAMESTOWN TERRORS by LLL

Excellent little book for American history buffs and scholars, as well as for those who enjoy mystery, intrigue, and adventure.

posted by 6001036 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Do not read this!!

This book is a waste of time money and space

posted by 10691201 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Do not read this!!

    This book is a waste of time money and space

    14 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Biased and poorly written

    The author sets out to prove a common thesis; namely, that Jamestown only succeeded after the colony's leaders adopted free-market economics and rejected common-ownership of anything. Other causes--poor planning and management, the ill-suitability of the English rent-seeking society to a wilderness colony--are not explored. Like the founders of Jamestown, the author has his idea, and he's going to stick to it (listing Hayek as a source for a book on early American colonial history? Come on).

    The author never makes the story compelling. No one character gets special focus, so keeping the cast straight is a chore.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good parts, but mostly boring

    I purchased this book to learn about Jamestown a few weeks before our planned vacation to Jamestown and Williamsburg. The book turned out to be a little less exciting than I expected, considering all of the disease, fights with the indians, and fights amongst the colonists. I also found some differences in the historical facts in the book and the ones I learned while on vacation; however some of the facts I learned from the tour guides seemed to be far-fetched, so I'm still not sure which to believe. It was a good starting point of research for me, but a little too boring to finish.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    JAMESTOWN TERRORS by LLL

    Excellent little book for American history buffs and scholars, as well as for those who enjoy mystery, intrigue, and adventure.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well written and researched

    Well written with sources amply cited. A bit slow at the beginning and could have used more contest at the end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Solid volume on Jamestown

    The style of this book is fairly easy to read. I learned a few facts about the first successful English colony in North America. However, most of the perspective of the boon is from the various leaders of the colony without exploring any of the motivations of the rank and file. This is a solid book if you are looking for some background on Jamestown.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    boring

    I love history, but this was frankly very boring......

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Ivery good Very good. Good refresher oo Of american history. Very good. Good refresher course in american history.

    Enjoyed the writing style

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A very surprising read!

    I had no idea of the struggles at Jamestown. As a former elementary teacher realizing how little I knew about American History, I chose The
    Jamestown Experiment to read first. Everyone should read about the struggles these people faced. I have a new found pride in our country!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Fantastic Read!

    I am loving the story of Jamestown. It is being transported back to a new and raw frontier. I had no idea John Smith escaped death so narrowly so many times in Europe and in the Americas.

    Its an adventure and I am loving it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    A long slog

    Found this book disappointing; fairly tedious for the first half. Picked up a bit toward the end but I had to push myself to finish it. Although it's stuffed full of citations, I felt it failed to prove its central thesis until the very end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved this book. The author brought history to life and makes y

    Loved this book. The author brought history to life and makes you feel as if you are actually there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    GOOD READ

    I bought this book because I discovered I had an ancestor born in Henrico in 1617. I thought this was remarkable but Ihad no idea how remarkable it was. Maybe it is a little dry but it is fascinating and compelling at the same time. I have two college degrees, one in English Literature, so I didn't consider myself to be uneducated in American history. This book was a revelation. I have much to learn. This book taught me a lot! I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great

    Good info, easy read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Not yet read.

    Have not read this book yet and since rating was required I only gave it one. Would be glad to re-rate after reading.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2