Customer Reviews for

Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook and Kitchen Reader

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A feast for body and soul

Based on Jan Karon's Mitford series, the Mitford Cookbook is a rich collection of recipes featured in her Mitford novels. For those not familiar with the Mitford series, the stories revolve around Father Tim's parish in Mitford, North Carolina, and the townsfolk that he...
Based on Jan Karon's Mitford series, the Mitford Cookbook is a rich collection of recipes featured in her Mitford novels. For those not familiar with the Mitford series, the stories revolve around Father Tim's parish in Mitford, North Carolina, and the townsfolk that he comes to know and love. Food plays a central role in many stories, including Esther's famous orange marmalade cake. Numerous fans kept asking Jan for recipes, and she had to work in reverse, hiring chefs to create recipes based on her books.

Not only does the Mitford Cookbook contain important starring recipes, but it also includes beautifully staged food photographs, illustrations, snippets taken from the various novels that complement each recipe, a previously unpublished Mitford story, kitchen hints from Karon, her own kitchen memories of her grandmother, and vintage family photos that really make this a keepsake.

The recipes range from comfort food (Father Tim's meatloaf, Puny's macaroni and cheese, Mama's biscuits) to Southern staples (fried okra, cornbread, fried chicken, greens) to more upscale creations such as Helene's roast poulet with currants, buche de noel, and roasted red pepper rouille with cracked pepper toast. The ingredients and instructions are clearly laid out, with the number of servings in the upper corner of the page. This is comfort food at its best, and the numerous blessings and prayers sprinkled throughout make it food for the soul as well as the stomach.

This is a beautiful gift for fans of the Mitford books or anyone who appreciates a beautiful, practical, and easy-to-use cookbook. It's as much fun to read the various excerpts as it is to sample the recipes (Esther's showstopping orange marmalade cake is definitely worth the work; a friend made it for my birthday this year, and it was divine), and will become a cherished keepsake in your family.

posted by Veggiechiliqueen on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A BLESSING FOR GOD

The Mitford Cookbook & all the Mitford collection are near and dear to my heart. Reminds me a lot of home. The Lord has blessed you with the gift of writing. Keep up the excellent works.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A feast for body and soul

    Based on Jan Karon's Mitford series, the Mitford Cookbook is a rich collection of recipes featured in her Mitford novels. For those not familiar with the Mitford series, the stories revolve around Father Tim's parish in Mitford, North Carolina, and the townsfolk that he comes to know and love. Food plays a central role in many stories, including Esther's famous orange marmalade cake. Numerous fans kept asking Jan for recipes, and she had to work in reverse, hiring chefs to create recipes based on her books.

    Not only does the Mitford Cookbook contain important starring recipes, but it also includes beautifully staged food photographs, illustrations, snippets taken from the various novels that complement each recipe, a previously unpublished Mitford story, kitchen hints from Karon, her own kitchen memories of her grandmother, and vintage family photos that really make this a keepsake.

    The recipes range from comfort food (Father Tim's meatloaf, Puny's macaroni and cheese, Mama's biscuits) to Southern staples (fried okra, cornbread, fried chicken, greens) to more upscale creations such as Helene's roast poulet with currants, buche de noel, and roasted red pepper rouille with cracked pepper toast. The ingredients and instructions are clearly laid out, with the number of servings in the upper corner of the page. This is comfort food at its best, and the numerous blessings and prayers sprinkled throughout make it food for the soul as well as the stomach.

    This is a beautiful gift for fans of the Mitford books or anyone who appreciates a beautiful, practical, and easy-to-use cookbook. It's as much fun to read the various excerpts as it is to sample the recipes (Esther's showstopping orange marmalade cake is definitely worth the work; a friend made it for my birthday this year, and it was divine), and will become a cherished keepsake in your family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you have read The Mitford series then you will love to have all the recipes that Father Tim raves about. Tried several so far and was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    MARVELOUS, DELICIOUS, WONDERFUL!!!!!

    If you've read all the books in the Midford series, this is a trip down memory lane. The only thing missing is the wonderful map of the town of Mitford!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    A BLESSING FOR GOD

    The Mitford Cookbook & all the Mitford collection are near and dear to my heart. Reminds me a lot of home. The Lord has blessed you with the gift of writing. Keep up the excellent works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    My book collection got richer

    Lately, I have been expanding my book collection and love this book. What a knowledge base and a great read. Get it for yourself or someone you love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    Delicious!

    What a wonderful book! I bought a copy for my local library, now I know what I want for Christmas! If you love Mitford, and have drooled over the feasts described in the books, buy this book! Full of mouth-watering recipes, excerpts from the books, and memories from Jan Karon's childhood. Curl up in front of the fire, pour a cup of tea, and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Love, love love your words!

    HAVE READ EVERYTHING YOU HAVE WRITTEN AND AM IN LOVE WITH MITFORD AND FATHER TIM AND CYNTHIA. CAN WE EVER EXPECT TO SEE SOME OF 'CYNTHIA'S' WORKS? PLEASE KEEP THE PEN MOVING---WE NEED YOU!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    A must for Fans of the Mitford Chronicles.

    For those of us who have faithfully followed the Mitford stories and the Father Tim books, this is a treasure! It's like visiting old friends. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Just like coming home!

    The book is a delight! It is like visiting with all comforts of home and family. The recipes are comfy foods and homespun country favorites. I especially loved the passages that accompanied them. It took me back to all the wonderful memories of all of Mitford. If you loved reading Mitford series books then this book will be a cherished addition to add to your cookbook collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    I love when a series spawns a cookbook.

    I picked this up before reading the first book of the series; paging through the recipes, all looked tasty and relatively easy (could use more pictures of the dishes). I have tried a couple recipes and they are, in fact, tasty and easy. The non-traditional set up may not appeal to cookbook traditionalists as they will not get the normal headings of "Appetizers," "Poultry," etc. However, having the sections divided by book and the recipes organized by appearance in the book helped make reading book one fun. Hearing the dish mentioned in a scene brought a smile to my face as I knew what a character was planning or what the recipient could expect. Reading this before starting the series brought me closer to the characters and broadened my understanding of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    read several of your books

    I enjoy reading your books- I am trying to find out where to find book or newsletter pertaining to your garden Do you have a garden book written?- How about the books Cynthia is doing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1