Customer Reviews for

Jane

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

I can't began to impress how much I loved this book. Not only did it give me butterflies but the way everything flowed was outstanding!


I loved Jane. She was such a humble person and I loved watching her fall in love with Nico. No matter how much it hurt to watch h...
I can't began to impress how much I loved this book. Not only did it give me butterflies but the way everything flowed was outstanding!


I loved Jane. She was such a humble person and I loved watching her fall in love with Nico. No matter how much it hurt to watch him with another girl Jane remained strong. She was the type of person who did not bring any other problems, her problems, etc to someone else. She was selfless. She did what he ask as her employer and did not let anything cross the line. I admired her strength and loved the way she watched everything Nico did. She was in love with him.


Now Nico I felt played her. Yes he genuinely liked her but he lied a lot. He was sweet and caring towards her. I wished he had been more open. I admired him as well. I understand the secret he kept and hurt with him. But in doing what he did for her was selfless too. He knew he done wrong and just wanted to make it up as much as he can. I loved that Jane was able to see past all of that.


The love that was between them was a endless, selfless love. The loved each other deeply and of course showed it every much. The secrets in the book were a big WOW! It hurt to learn them along with Jane but I think Jane has such a great heart it didn't matter.


Jane is an adoringly heart breaking book with great characters and writing. I could not put this book down. There was some cursing and a small sex scene.

posted by BooksWithBite on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Ends abruptly

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Fun read

    Interesting modernization...light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Bruce

    *he kisses her reapeatedly*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good take on the classic "Jane Eyre" story.

    This was a quick read. I enjoyed some of the more obscure things the author added that went back to the original story. If you really enjoy "Jane Eyre" and don't mind it being modernized, this story is worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    The cover of this book is totally misleading. I had assumed it was a western or a historical fiction about the great depression and the dust bowl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    WOW

    I haven't read this yet but it seems so good alrrady.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Havent read this yet

    Im not a teen should i still read this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

    After i read all the positive reviews for this book i was exicted to read Jane. I was disapointed, the book began very well but the author didnt really show Nicos feelings for Jane well. Half the story I thought he was just playing with her feelings and he didnt even really care about her. Also what got me was how fast they moved in their relatioship once they knew each others feelings. It just wasnt very believeable, and honesty Im tired of reading stories like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Goodreads

    This was a good book. The writing was smooth and easy to read. The rock star twist was a good way to interpret the difference in Jane and Mr. Rathburn's social status in a modern way. I also liked how Jane had the same personality and qualities as the protagonist of the original novel, yet was a unique character. However, I don't see why this is marked as a modern retelling of Jane Eyre. It's really more like a modern version. Aside from said rock star twist, everything was the same as it was in the original novel (even the names weren't changed around that much!). This was a great book, but you will probably like it better if you read Jane Eyre first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    pretty nifty.

    i loved reading jane eyre in high school.. and i'm not sure how i came across this book, or if i even read what it was about.. however, when i read it when i first began the book, i had my doubts.. and it did kind of drag, and at points i felt like "ick, too close to the way jane eyre flows.." but i feel like i could.. and need to for that matter.. read it again. [:. it made me feel pleasant, and also like i need to read jane eyre again. baha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you like Jane Eyre, I would check this book out.

    Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books. So when I discovered this modern day retelling of it, I was thrilled. I really liked how April Lindner brought Charlotte Bronte's classic into the 21st century. Jane Moore has to drop out of college and take on a job as a nanny after her parents are killed in a car accident. Jane is an okay character. She's shy but independent. It took awhile for me to warm up to her character. I did like that April Lindner made Nico Rathburn a rock star. I think it gave this story an interesting twist. Nico has a troubled past that plagues his thoughts constantly. I do wish that Author would have developed Jane and Nico's relationship a bit more. Jane and Nico's romance seemed a bit rushed. However the author did a remarkable job following the original Jane Eyre story line. Overall Jane is an entertaining story. This book has it's flaws but I am glad that I read it. If you like Jane Eyre, I think you should check this book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A pretty good retelling of Jane Eyre.

    Jane goes to work as a nanny for a famous rock star's daughter while hoping to go back to college. While there, she gets to know Nico Rathburn and the two become friends. If you've read Jane Eyre or seen the movies, then you'll recognize some of the scenes that are in the book. The characters were interesting and ending was good. Recommend Jane and well the book Jane Eyre and the movies especially the 06 version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    So-so compared to the original

    Though Lindner does a fair job at bringing a modern twist to the story, the book is more riveting because of the original than because of her writing. Props to her for attempting it, but I'd rather read Jane Eyre any day. I am glad though that it will send a new generation of readers to the classic story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2