Customer Reviews for

Jane

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

I can't began to impress how much I loved this book. Not only did it give me butterflies but the way everything flowed was outstanding!


I loved Jane. She was such a humble person and I loved watching her fall in love with Nico. No matter how much it hurt to watch h...
I can't began to impress how much I loved this book. Not only did it give me butterflies but the way everything flowed was outstanding!


I loved Jane. She was such a humble person and I loved watching her fall in love with Nico. No matter how much it hurt to watch him with another girl Jane remained strong. She was the type of person who did not bring any other problems, her problems, etc to someone else. She was selfless. She did what he ask as her employer and did not let anything cross the line. I admired her strength and loved the way she watched everything Nico did. She was in love with him.


Now Nico I felt played her. Yes he genuinely liked her but he lied a lot. He was sweet and caring towards her. I wished he had been more open. I admired him as well. I understand the secret he kept and hurt with him. But in doing what he did for her was selfless too. He knew he done wrong and just wanted to make it up as much as he can. I loved that Jane was able to see past all of that.


The love that was between them was a endless, selfless love. The loved each other deeply and of course showed it every much. The secrets in the book were a big WOW! It hurt to learn them along with Jane but I think Jane has such a great heart it didn't matter.


Jane is an adoringly heart breaking book with great characters and writing. I could not put this book down. There was some cursing and a small sex scene.

posted by BooksWithBite on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Ends abruptly

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for Teens Read Too

    Jane Moore has just recently become an orphan, and with no one to help her financially and no one who she can truly turn to, Jane must quit school and find a job. She quickly finds a position as a nanny for Nico Rathburn's daughter, Maddy, at Thornfield Park. Nico is a rock star who has been through all the troubles that a normal rock star would go through - relationships that go awry and drug problems that make for an escape. However, Nico feels like it's time to clean up and make a comeback, and so he needs someone to take care of Maddy, whose mother is nowhere to be seen, or so people are thought to believe. With Nico as her new employer, Jane has entered a world full of dark secrets and romance. For some reason, Nico causes Jane to have feelings that go against her rational and practical personality. As their relationship begins to go from boss and employer to something even more, Jane has to be careful, as Nico comes with an attic full of secrets. The emotions between them may be too picture perfect, and letting her guard down might just break her down completely. April Lindner does an amazing job at modernizing the great classic JANE EYRE, and it tops some of the other classic re-tellings. The plot itself parallels the original, and the characters are so well-developed and intriguing that it does feel like you are reading the classic. JANE is a novel that is part romance and part mystery, and it will leave the reader breathless. JANE will make readers who have not read JANE EYRE want to go back and pick up the classic to compare the similarities and differences. And with EMMA becoming Clueless, I would not be surprised if JANE was turned into a movie.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Jane versus Jane Eyre

    This book was a fun, modern take on one of the best classics. Some of the liberties taken (primarily the sexuality instead of the sensuality in Bronte's nove) make it, i feel, not suited for teens under 16. Besides that, i found this a refreshing interpretation on my favorite novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Jane Eyre is my all time favorite. When I found out about all th

    Jane Eyre is my all time favorite. When I found out about all the retellings it had. I literally bought them all (I might have missed one). As a result of those purchases, this is the third retelling I've read in the last 3 months and it by far my favorite.

    Jane Moore, the Jane Eyre of the story, is exactly how I pictured Jane to be like if she was in the modern times. Nico Rathburn, the Rochester, is no different. I absolutely loved how Lindner portrayed them and all the events in the book. It is not exactly the same as Jane Eyre. THANK GOODNESS. It's unique in it's own way.

    April Lindner's writing style is so smooth and straight forward. The way she took Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre and modernized it is the best I've read so far. Jane Eyre was written to be heart-wrenching, JANE is almost as heart-wrenching and tear gushing. I can never get enough of Jane Eyre.

    Overall, JANE by April Lindner is the best Jane Eyre Retelling so far. It was heart-wrenching, page-turning, and amazing! Thank you April for giving us Jane Eyre but in a different light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Fantastic Retelling - Got me to read Jane Eyre!

    Yes, I haven't read Jane Eyre. But over the years, I've become pretty acquainted with the plot and the characters. It would be pretty difficult not to be when it's become so prominent in pop culture. Coming into the book, I had some knowledge of the characters, the forbidden romance, and the plot. I'm pretty sure I read the plot summary on Wikipedia before when I had myself convinced that I would never read Jane Eyre because it's a classic. and classics are just too boring for me. Well, huh. Funny how that's changed.

    I loved JANE. I found it so easy to relate to her and I love how she's exactly my age. There's not too many books out there that involves protagonists of exactly my age so I was loving every single moment of it. I read a couple of reviews that argued that Jane wasn't as strong of a heroine in this modern retelling as she was in the original, but since I've never read the classic, I had nothing to compare it to. As a 19-year-old faced with so much difficulty in her short life, I thought that Jane handled herself very maturely. I know that there are a ton of girls my age that couldn't have handled her parents death and lack of funds any better than she has.

    The one thing that bothered me a little was the fact that I really didn't know Nico's age. Was it essential to the story? Not at all. It's quite obvious that he's older, but not so old that he could be her father. Still, I found him very charming and I was simply drawn immediately to his character. I loved the chemistry in this book. There was no surprise how it was going to turn out, but I had fun getting there.

    I thought that the story of Jane Eyre based on my limited knowledge of the plot worked fantastically in this contemporary setting. I was actually craving to read a story involving a rock star so it was just my luck that I had JANE sitting on my shelf from the library. I am so happy for this book because it's given me a rare appreciation for classics. I can only imagine how much more I will enjoy Jane Eyre and I cannot wait to get my hands on a pretty leather-bound copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book and thought that it followed the plot of Jane Eyre well with giving it a modern spin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Pretty Good

    I thought it was an interesting modern version of Jane Eyre. Of course, it cannot be compared to the original book but it was still a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Great Reading

    I loved the story it was a very enjoyable book. I will look for more books by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great retelling of a classic!

    It helps a bit of you’ve read Jane Eyre. But even if you haven’t, this might peak your curiosity so you can actually get your hands on the original classic and read it! for those that have read Jane Eyre, it’s nice to compare between the two. I personally thought this was a great modern retelling of the original book. You’ll see Lindner does a fantastic job of trying to stay as close to the original as she could, but adding a few bits here and there to make it different (and still readable without destroying the original). I couldn’t help but feel so sorry for Jayne throughout the book she really does create this aura of helplessness about her and it’s hard not to sympathize with her. Thing is though, I thought she was just a little too bland and boring, and not much of a personality came from her. Nico on the other hand was super intense! I loved his character!!! it was such a great idea to make him a secluded rock star with a not so great past! it was very well done! he’s got all the qualities of a dark brooding rock star you can’t help but swoon over that! however I didn’t care for his pity trip at the end of the book. Meh. Mr Rochester didn’t get that whiny in the original..... The writing in the book was also really good, the length may be daunting to some, and it may take a bit to read through it but you’ll realize it’s most definitely worth the time to read. The heartbreaking moments are just that - super heartbreaking you can most certainly feel (it’s one of those books that could tear you apart emotionally). Which just goes to show how well written it is. Most definitely recommended to YA readers, and if you haven’t picked up the original classic Jane Eyre yet, do so! so you’ll know at least where this brilliant retelling came from :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome Book !

    I really enjoyed this book , you couldn't help but fall in love with the characters. I admit Jane did get annoying sometimes but you still root for her and Nico !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely Retelling of the classic Jane Eyre into modern Jane

    I have to confess that I haven't finished reading the original Jane Eyre but I've seen the 2011 version of the movie with Mia Wasikowska and the 2006 version with Toby Stephens (my two favorites, though I like the 2011 version better) soooo many times that I wanted to see if I could find any spin-off stories of Jane Eyre and luckily happened upon this one!

    Generally I like to read any novel that takes a well known story (Pride and Prejudice for example) and rewrites it to tell the story in a different way, make it modern, etc. It was awesome to read the story of Jane from a modern interpretation and this was a fun and quick read. And I'm excited to read Margot Livesey's "The Flight of Gemma Hardy" - another Jane Eyre retelling, set in Scotland during the early 1960s :-) Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    A Noteworthy Retelling

    The author did a fantastic job retelling the story that so many readers know and love. The tension, passion and heartbreak of the original is still intact while the setting and situations have been updated to reflect what is familiar to young women today. The scenes I expected were all there, but the author also did a good job of making the story her own. Jane Moore was not merely a cardboard repeat of the Eyre born centuries ago, she was captivating and moving in her own right. I will most certainly be rereading and recommending this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Good Read

    Nice twist on the original story. You will really enjoy the characters and drawing the parallels between the oriignal and the new version. The only thing I didn't like about this book was that I could not picture modern Americans speaking the way the characters did at some points in the book- sounded like the original Victorian english characters. All in all a great twist on the classic! I would highly reccomend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good introduction - but not a replacement for - those not familiar with the original

    The Boss meets Bronte in April Lindner's remake of the classic Victorian novel, "Jane Eyre." Re-imagined for 2010, the action shifts to America where a college student turned nanny is hired by an agency for a rock n' roll celebrity client. Lindner admits that the premise for "Jane" is based on her fascination with Bruce Springsteen as well as the numerous modern versions of Jane Austen's works such as "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies." While literary purists might not appreciate a pop culture retelling, Lindner's love for Bronte's immortal heroine is apparent in this teen-friendly edition. Her take falls more in line with "Clueless" as an homage to Austen's "Emma" and "Easy A" representing Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter." The book is for the texting, gum-chewing, iPod demographic, yet still holds an appeal for an audience familiar with the original.

    Taking a page from "The Nanny Diaries," "Jane" unsteadily begins in the waiting room of an au pair agency. Having just lost her parents in a car accident, Jane is forced to drop out of college and seek employment. She winds up on the gated estate of Nico Rathburn, a world famous musician on the verge of a major comeback. She is hired to care for his preschool-aged daughter, Maddy. The book finally gets going on page 44 with Nico's first bits of dialogue with Jane. Nico initiates most of the pair's verbal sparring throughout the novel, but it is more in a I'm-so-busy-tell-me-what-you-want kind of way rather than the fiery debates on morality by the original Mr. Rochester and Jane Eyre.

    Bruce Springsteen is an interesting choice as a model for the current day Mr. Rochester, vis a vis Nico. Even today, it is quite scandalous to think of a character - having reached his prime in the 1980s - taking up with a 19-year-old girl. Celebrity is depicted as the American counterpart to British nobility. Yet Nico is a self-made man, who did not inherit his wealth. Through drug addiction, infidelity and scandal, he is battling back to reunite his band for a world tour in order to sustain the lifestyle he has grown accustomed to. Despite his blue-collar roots and current lavish lifestyle, he has the soul of an artist fulfilled in his music. He is not as adrift as Mr. Rochester, lost without a cause or a purpose. He is the head of a mini-empire, which depends upon his success to meet its needs.

    The recent PBS Masterpiece Classics version of "Jane Eyre" starring Ruth Wilson and Toby Stephens is a better choice for those yearning for the sheer romance of the Victorian novel. "Jane" is a better fit for those looking for a heroine situated in the tumult of the modern world. It is heartbreaking to witness her poor self-image when comparing herself to the cosmetically perfect women in Nico's life. Any woman flipping through the Photoshop enhanced pages of a fashion magazine can empathize with her insecurities. She does not hold anything back physically from Nico, nor does she fall into an abject depression upon leaving him. She is a mixture of self-sufficiency and yielding values. The Victorian primness is replaced with a willingness for intimacy and riotous emotions are translated into a practicality toward survival. In the end, the grand design of fate is whittled down to the serendipity of hearing of a rock star's song on the radio.

    Overall, "Jane" is a good introduction - but no

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great romance

    In the review of a book like this, a modern romantic retelling of a classic, you might expect a bit of commentary about how the retelling relates or compares to the classic. Since I've never read Jane Eyre, which would make the comparison a little difficult. More importantly, I've never had any desire to read the original, and yet Jane was one of the new books I most eagerly awaited this fall. Because, really, who hasn't had a daydream (or two) about a chance meeting with a rockstar/actor/hot guy in French class where you fall in love and live happily ever after in a mansion?

    Well, Jane Moore apparently never had that daydream. She's very serious and very artistic at the same time. I bet her doodles never involved practicing her Mrs. Nico Rathburn signature (or any other future signature, for that matter) in middle school. That's why when she gets to Thornfield Park and finally meets Mr. Rathburn, the guy all the guys want to be and all the girls want to date, she's completely blindsided by the feelings she develops for him. From the very beginning, Mr. Rathburn takes Jane seriously and values her opinion, not only because she's basically raising his daughter Maddy, but because he sees intelligence and value in her. The problem is that with their real big age difference (which I would have loved to see addressed or at least acknowledged at some point) and his role as Jane's employer, she's never sure if he's interested in her as Miss Jane, Maddy's nanny, or Jane, all on her own.

    What follows is a book's worth of "does he like like me?" introspection and touching moments that will generate enough butterflies in your belly to last a lifetime. It's practically a fairytale in its perfection...


    ...until you realize that you're reaching the happy ending only about 2/3 of the way through, but to go into why would make things a bit spoilery.


    In short, this is the story of a great romance. It combines all those timeless, delicious feelings of a first love with the glamor of the rich and famous and the realities of how real life can intrude on both.


    Book source: ARC provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2