Customer Reviews for

Jane Austen Made Me Do It: Original Stories Inspired by Literature's Most Astute Observer of the Human Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyable, even for a non-Janeite

    I must first admit that I have never read a Jane Austen novel in my life. This looked intriguing, so I picked it up. Every short story is enjoyable, even if I did not understand some of the literary references. Well-written and engaging, every page! My favorite was the Misletoe Kiss. Maybe now I will have to go down that Jane Lane...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fall in love all over again!

    Review by Robin: I could write something about each story but that would just ruin it for you.

    Overall I loved this collection allot. Each and every contributor understands and loves the work of Ms. Austen. Jane Austen Made Me Do It; is a very clever collection of short stories written a wide array of genres and subjects that take us from gothic romance to fantasy. We find Jane herself along with many of her more recognizable characters in each story. Each story is unique but when added makes every person wanting to be a Jane Austen follower.

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves Jane Austen. Even if you never read anything written by her this collection makes you want to go out and read her classic stories, and fall in love all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Wonderful Collection!!

    I have had this item on pre-order ever since I heard about it from the editor, Laurel Ann Nattress via her website Austenprose. Finally received it recently! LOL It is a wonderful collection of Jane Austen-inspired short stories that I'm sure anyone who LOVES Jane Austen's works, or JA-inspired continuations, will want to add to their own collections. This book has a little of everything for everyone: mystery, humor, suspense... I could go on!! I love this book & I'm sure anyone who has a serious JA "addiction" will love it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    22 Stories by 22 Authors

    Jane Austen Made Me Do It: Original Stories Inspired by Literature's Most Austute Observer of the Human Heart. Introduction by Laurel Ann Nattress *Jane Austen's Nightmare by Syrie James As Jane finds herself in Bath, her characters show up and complain what Jane did wrong with them in her books. Only the Darcy's and Bingley's are content. *Waiting: A story inspired by Jane Austen's Persuasion by Jane Odiwe Anne Elliot & Captain Wentworth are thinking about what happened nine years ago as he once again goes to Anne's father to ask for her hand in marriage. *A Night at Northanger by Lauren Willig Ghost Trekkers TV show goes to check out the ghosts at Northanger Abbey. When Cate retires to her room early, after the power goes out, she meets the ghost. *Language *Jane and the Gentleman Rogue: Being a fragment of a Jane Austen mystery by Stephanie Barron. Jane Austen helps Lord Harold as he tries to protect naval plans from getting to France. And she tries to protect him while he duels Lord Cecil. *Faux Jane by Diane Meier and Frank Delaney writing as F.J. Meier Nicola & Charles Scott help a spoiled actress and her fiance' Lord to get to the bottom of a autographed Jane Austen book she is paying a million dollars for. *Nothing Less Than Fairy-Land by Monica Fairview The Knightley's have their first trials when they return from their honeymoon and have to find a way that two men can both live under the same roof. *Love and Best Wishes, Aunt Jane by Adriana Trigiani Jane Austen writes a letter of congratulations to a niece on her engagement. *Jane Austen and the Mistletoe Kiss by Jo Beverly Jane Austen tells the story of the mistletoe bough to a widow and her three daughters. That if kissing their one true love under the bough, their hearts will know. *When Only a Darcy Will Do by Beth Pattillo Elizabeth, an American in London. Is giving Jane Austen tours to make some extra money. No bites until Mr. Darcy shows up for the tour. *Heard of You by Margaret C. Sullivan From Persuasion; the story of how Captain Croft & Sophie Wentworth meet. They recap the story for Anne and tell her how Frederick was their matchmaker. *The Ghostwriter by Elizabeth Aston Charles left Sara, due to her unending love for Mr. Darcy. He left a locket with Jane's hair which brings Jane to Sara. She helps her with her book and Charles before leaving. *Mr. Bennet Meets His Match by Amanda Grange On the day of Jane & Lizzy's wedding John Bennet thinks back to the time of his parents pushing him to get married and how he chose Jane Gardiner. *Jane Austen, Yeah, Yeah, Yeah! By Janet Mullany Julie teaches as a all girls school, during detention with three girls she teaches them how exciting Jane Austen can be when she replaces the characters with the Beatles. *Letters to Lydia by Maya Slater Lydia Bennet's friend, Maria Lucas sends her letters. The first of them from her stay with the Collin's and reporting what she thinks is happening between Lizzy & Mr. Darcy. *The Mysterious Closet: A Tale by Myretta Robens Cathy is staying at an Abbey. She is given the Ratcliffe Suite in the haunted section. She meets Henry. Finally a man she could love, if he were only real rather than a ghost! *Jane Austen's Cat by Diana Birchall While her brother James is visiting at the small house, Aunt Jane takes time from writing to tell her nieces stories. This one happened to have cats as the characters. *Me and Mr. Darcy, Again... by

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Austen fans will love this

    This collection of short stories range in time from Regency to contemporary and each takes a different approach to showing the influence that Ms. Austen has left on all readers and romantics the world over.


    There are few things I love more than a Jane Austen novel and I was very excited to read this collection. The stories range in subject and setting. There is a story of a ghost hunting reality show that meets a real ghost at Northanger Abby, and another where Jane Austen meets some of the characters she created and they aren't too happy about some of her plot-lines. One of my favorite is a story where Mr. Darcy confronts the authors of the many Pride and Prejudice sequels! (I admit I have read several of those, myself). If you love all things Austen, I think you will find this quite diverting and enjoy the fun that the authors had with the wealth of material that Ms.Austen supplied throughout her writing career. I truly enjoyed this little visit into different dimensions of the Jane Austen universe. I gave it 4 stars.


    I received this as a galley from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The key to the twenty-two short stories collection is how the various contributors pay homage to Jane Austen in diverse ways

    The key to the twenty-two short stories collection is how the various contributors pay homage to Jane Austen in diverse ways; the authors stayed true to their prime genre but did it while honoring the great writer. A woman spends "A Night at Northanger" (by Lauren Willig) where she meets a famous ghost. Sara receives a gift of a locket with Austen's hair inside as her boyfriend ends their relationship; when she wakes up she finds Austen;s spirit at her side to guide her as "The Ghostwriter" (by Elizabeth Ashton). In 2010 Austen sends her "Love and Best Wishes, Aunt Jane" (by Adriana Trigiani) to her engaged niece while Jo Beverly brings humor in "Jane Austen and the Mistletoe Kiss" and Janet Mullany's "Jane Austen, Yeah, Yeah, Yeah!" shows one degree of separation between Jane and the Beatles. With hooks to the novels like Jane Odiwe's "Waiting" for Persuasion" and Laurie Viera Rigler's law suits against Pride and Prejudice rip-offs (see "Intolerable Stupidity"), this is a fun anthology; sub title aside.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    A treat for any Jane Austen fan

    Can't wait for this to be released. Ms. Nattress lives, breaths and works Jane Austen. This is sure to be a treat!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    To below

    You and most others have terrible grammar and spelling. I think it would be best for you to get help for problems with not only english, but with nook sex. You were probably abused as children, which caused you to physiocally scarred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Lexi

    Im a cheerleader , swimmer , softball , and sancrinzed swimming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Colten

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Chevy

    He slowly pushed the thick head in, a soft grunt of pleasure escaping him at her tightness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Kevin

    Football swimming and lacrosse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    To below

    I can sing. My names Katlyn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Hally

    Laughs/my dog is beatung the f<_>uck out of his stuffed animals brb half of the stuffing is gone from the stuff animal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Great tribute to Jane Austen.

    I love all of Jane Austen's books. This is such a fun read. Loved this collection of stories based on her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Amazing!!

    After being quite disgruntled with a few Austen books, I never thought that I would love her again. I purchased this book the first day I got my Nook and after reading the first story in it I was hooked. The range of stories is amazing. From a small continuation of "Emma" to girls in detention comparing the men in "Pride and Prejudice" to the Beatles...WOW! A must read for anyone who has ever read an Austen book. And yes, it made me fall in love with Austen all over again. It is worth the money and then some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fabulous Short Stories for Jane Austen fans

    One regret I have in my busy life is the lack of leisure time I have for reading. Right now there are four stacks of books on the floor of my office, all waiting to be read. So many books! So little time. Given my schedule, I am glad I set aside the required hours to read 'Jane Austen Made Me Do It', an anthology of Jane Austen-inspired stories by published Jane Austen sequel authors and edited by Laurel Ann Nattress.

    I rarely read anthologies front to back, but flit here and there, landing instead on a story with an intriguing title or by a favorite author. In this instance I began with Stephanie Barron's tale of 'Jane And the Gentleman Rogue: Being a fragment of a Jane Austen mystery'. I am so glad I did, for it prompted me to linger longer over dinner and read another short story. Beth Pattillo's 'When Only a Darcy Will Do' was a delight, as was Margaret C. Sullivan's 'Heard of You', which I read just before going to bed. The list of authors in this anthology is impressive: Pamela Aidan * Elizabeth Aston * Brenna Aubrey * Stephanie Barron * Carrie Bebris * Jo Beverley * Diana Birchall * Frank Delaney & Diane Meier * Monica Fairview * Amanda Grange * Syrie James * Janet Mullany * Jane Odiwe * Beth Pattillo * Alexandra Potter * Myretta Robens * Jane Rubino & Caitlen Rubino Bradway * Maya Slater * Margaret Sullivan * Adriana Trigiani * Laurie Viera Rigler * Lauren Willig.

    I've always enjoyed reading anthologies. They allow one to pick and choose on a whim, and finish a story in a short space of time. Anthology stories serve as literary versions of amuse bouches, those tasty bites served at the start of dinner. Even the most the discerning reader is bound to find selections and authors they will love. (Or discover a new author!)

    I favored some stories over others, but won't share them with you for the simple reason that some of the stories I disliked received rave reviews on other blogs. Anthologies appeal to a variety of tastes, and I found it remarkable how many in 'Jane Austen Made Me Do It' captivated me. If you decide to purchase this book, I can guarantee that you will discover new authors and stories that you will want to reread.

    This is due, no doubt, to the hard work that editor Laurel Ann Nattress put into the project. As a blogger, I can't imagine how much of her time was spent in contacting the authors and working with them, overseeing a contest for an unpublished author (the honor went to Brenna Aubrey), working with her publishing house in editing the stories, and now publicizing the book. I tip my hat to Laurel Ann for overseeing this ambitious and very worthwhile project, for this is her first book. This is why I gave 'Jane Austen Made Me Do It' five out of five stars!

    Vic, Jane Austen's World and Jane Austen Today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must have for Austen enthusiast.

    I have long been a fan of Jane Austen and was excited to read this collection. Jane Austen Made Me Do It is a collection of short stories written by modern authors who love Jane Austen. As with any collection of short stories I have read, not all of them were my cup of tea. Overall, I truly enjoyed this wonderful collection. The book boasts a wide range of authors and a few of my personal favorites. I was also delighted with the mixed genres including paranormal, suspense, gothic romance and contemporary fantasy. There is a mix of journal entries, short stories and letters. One of my favorites was Elizabeth Aston's short story entitled "The Ghostwriter". A young writer named Sara comes home to find a Dear John letter from her boyfriend. It contains a departing gift, a locket containing a piece of Jane's hair. After crying herself to sleep, she wakes to find the ghost of Jane at the foot of the bed. The story that unfolds is simply delightful and the ending had me laughing out loud. Jo Beverly's work, "Jane Austen and the Mistletoe Kiss", finds a widowed woman with four young girls. The widow takes Jane's advice and finds love. In Beth Pattillo's story, "Only a Darcy Will Do", a young woman studying abroad gives guided tours. Dressed in vintage garb, she leads them on a walk of places Austen has visited in London. This is the third Sunday she hasn't had a single customer when a young man dressed as Mr. Darcy asks to take the tour. This is only a glimpse of the adventures inside this charming book. This would make a great holiday gift for anyone who loves Jane Austen and a must have for Austen enthusiast. A special thank you to netGalley and Random House Publishing Group for sending me this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2