Customer Reviews for

Jane Bites Back

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

and another one bites the dust...

ha not in a bad way...i liked it..i've pretty much read all the Jane spin-offs and it wasn't un-entertaining. i REALLY liked how he pulls in the other old famous names you see like lord Byron and the Bronte sisters...VERY good research is nice to see. also it was real...
ha not in a bad way...i liked it..i've pretty much read all the Jane spin-offs and it wasn't un-entertaining. i REALLY liked how he pulls in the other old famous names you see like lord Byron and the Bronte sisters...VERY good research is nice to see. also it was really funny...i laughed out loud several times. there's even a part where i teared up a bit near the end but for a stupid reason (a puppy :]). as for suspense and the vampire aspect, not exactly a HUGE part of the story...i mean its about her being one but its not really wrapped up in a bunch of Gothic vampire lore and drama. and if you want a novel written for the 1800s then don't read it. Jane might be 200 yrs old in this one but she doesn't really act that way, nor does she talk that way (only a little)... ALL GOOD THINGS overall. Read it! You'll like it!

posted by AshPash0822 on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Should have been funnier

A light, fluffy read. The concept of Jane Austen as a vampire has great comedic potential, but this book failed to live up to the expectations I had for it. While there were certainly a couple of moments where I laughed out loud, there were many other moments where I ne...
A light, fluffy read. The concept of Jane Austen as a vampire has great comedic potential, but this book failed to live up to the expectations I had for it. While there were certainly a couple of moments where I laughed out loud, there were many other moments where I nearly completely lost interest. The character of Jane Austen in this novel is not one-tenth as witty as the real Jane Austen. Neither the story nor the characters is particularly exciting.

posted by Kairuh on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    and another one bites the dust...

    ha not in a bad way...i liked it..i've pretty much read all the Jane spin-offs and it wasn't un-entertaining. i REALLY liked how he pulls in the other old famous names you see like lord Byron and the Bronte sisters...VERY good research is nice to see. also it was really funny...i laughed out loud several times. there's even a part where i teared up a bit near the end but for a stupid reason (a puppy :]). as for suspense and the vampire aspect, not exactly a HUGE part of the story...i mean its about her being one but its not really wrapped up in a bunch of Gothic vampire lore and drama. and if you want a novel written for the 1800s then don't read it. Jane might be 200 yrs old in this one but she doesn't really act that way, nor does she talk that way (only a little)... ALL GOOD THINGS overall. Read it! You'll like it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say that the part I liked best in this book (and the s

    I have to say that the part I liked best in this book (and the series) is that the author managed to keep Jane very much a lady of her time while not making her judgmental of those who don't hold with the same behaviors as her. Add to that how light-hearted and fun the book is and you have a very lovely read.

    Given the quirky tone of the book, I didn't even mind the big literature name vampires or how over the top they were. This was also made easy to over look given how much I loved Lucy and Kelly. I didn't dislike Walter, I just don't feel we really get a good feel for him in this book. However, there is no doubt he feels for our dear Jane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Worth the read!

    The author did an excellent job of creating characters that makes you want to follow what happens next. It's definitely something to sink your teeth into (sharpen those fangs!). I am so looking forward to the next installment (Jane Goes Batty!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Haha this is exactly what Jane Austen would be like if she were a vampire

    I really liked this book, it was a fun,fast, and easy read. What if Jane Austen never died and is still around today as a vampire?It's exactly how I imagine Jane Austen would be if she were alive today. Anyone who loves a good vampire book will really like this one. Jane Fairfax aka Jane Austen is living in Brakeston, New York and owns her very own bookstore. She has finally got an offer to have her book Constance published after many rejections. Things seem to be going great until one day she the man who turned her into a vampire(Lord Byron) has come back and won't quit pestering her. She quickly falls for the nice guy in her town(Walter) and can't seem to tell him what she is and who she is.Things get worse when Charlotte Bronte tries to blackmail her by telling everyone she plagiarezed Constance. I'm already looking forward to reading Jane Goes Batty to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    Jane Bites Back is a worthy effort

    Having just reread Pride and Prejudice, I was pleased to run across this just before it was published. I preordered it, but only just recently managed to generate the time to read it.

    While not a "deep" read, Jane Bites Back is smooth with a definite Austenesque flair. While hardly a Janeite myself, Mr Ford's style captures the flavor (IMHO) of the Austen novels, and carries a familiar enough feel that it had the feeling of a comfortable pair of slippers for me - not difficult to get into, good characters, and a plot that moved well and kept me interested. All in all, I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Bites Back

    I enjoyed reading this book so much. It kept me laughing almost the entire time. Classic literature authors as vampires, I thought was hysterical. If you're looking for a fun book I would definitely suggest reading this one.

    Jane Bites Back is about Jane Austen as a vampire. She owns a bookstore in upstate New York and works with a younger woman named Lucy. Lucy had me cracking up the whole book. Jane's trying to get the manuscript of a novel she wrote back in the day published. It keeps getting rejected and she just wants to tell people who she is. All the while she sees her own books flying off the shelves everyday and wonders if she's lost her ability to write. I won't reveal any more of the book, but I would definitely suggest reading it if you're looking for a good laugh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Should have been funnier

    A light, fluffy read. The concept of Jane Austen as a vampire has great comedic potential, but this book failed to live up to the expectations I had for it. While there were certainly a couple of moments where I laughed out loud, there were many other moments where I nearly completely lost interest. The character of Jane Austen in this novel is not one-tenth as witty as the real Jane Austen. Neither the story nor the characters is particularly exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I wanted to like it but I couldn't

    I really, really wanted to like this book but it just didn't do it for me. Aside from Lucy, who I loved, everyone else just seemed uninteresting. I didn't buy Jane's reasons for not getting into a relationship with Walter. And then once I met him I wasn't sure why she'd want to. It was kind of just a given that he was a good guy and someone she should be interested in but I didn't see any chemistry or passion between them. He was just kind of there expressing interest in her and suddenly kissing her. What was that? Her book being published so quickly also seemed too easy. I didn't get any real depth to her feelings about the rejections that should have made the publication a big deal. And of course her publisher turns out to be a hot guy instead of the woman she was expecting. Convenient. Then Brian/Byron returns and he was just silly and predictable. I understand this was supposed to be light and fluffy but it just lacked any depth for me. I didn't even finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for any Jane Austen fan as well as vampire lovers!

    I bought this book on a whim at Walmart while waiting on my book order to arrive from B&N. The cover drew me to it from 2 aisles over and once I read that it was Jane Austen and vampires I couldn't not purchase it. Mr Ford did an excellent job with character creation and plot assimilation of Jane's previous works and had me guessing what would happen from chapter to chapter! My only regret was that it wasn't longer but when I turned to the last page and saw that there was a sequel in the works I was ecstatic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun read!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this book & have told several people they should check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This satirical contemporary tale takes two amusing bites out of the romantic Austen forever mania and the romantic vampire forever mania

    Jane Austen is frustrated with receiving no royalties for her classics and for the use of her name in books and movies. In fact the worst to her is watching others sell books starring her or her characters and she cannot get one publisher interested in her last manuscript, written two centuries ago just before Lord Byron changed her into a vampire.

    Living in Brakeston, New York as Jane Fairfax, owner of Flyleaf Books, finally has a publisher interested in her manuscript, rejected over a hundred times. Kelly Littlejohn of Browden Publishing of New York buys the rights. Meanwhile Byron using the name Brian George tries to court Jane while mortal carpenter widower Walter Fletcher shows an interest in her. When Jane's book is critically acclaimed and makes best-seller status, a nineteenth century rival is sent over the top of the Empire State Building in rage.

    This satirical contemporary tale takes two amusing bites out of the romantic Austen forever mania and the romantic vampire forever mania. The story line is lighthearted fun as Jane is frustrated that cynical fools make money off her name, but she cannot get a novel published or receive royalty for the use of her name. When she gets published, a century and a half rivalry explodes. Fans will enjoy this well written humorous take as Jane Bites Back.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting take about Jane Austen

    I remember buying this book almost a year ago, and watched it sit on my to-read shelf until yesterday when I picked it up before work. I finished it in 24 hours, which is new for me, usually I am a two or three day reader and nothing really gets finished in a day. Even if I love the book I take some time to read and enjoy it. I have to admit I have mixed feeling about Jane Bites Back. This is not a book in the style of Jane Austen; it is a book about Jane Austen as a current day vampire. The current Jane Austen craze is mentioned several times, and there are many literary allusions as well as a few literary figures that make appearances. All of the characters were detailed and realistic. I either loved them or loved to hate them. My favorites were Lucy, Walter, and Jane. The author has given us a cute laughable storyline with some accurate historical back story that will keep you interested from page one to the end. The hijinks's that Jane Austen gets herself into will keep you laughing. Oh and the fact that she meets up with a rival from her long ago past that still holds a grudge makes this even more enjoyable. My biggest complaint about this book was yes, she's a vampire and has been for a couple hundred years, but in all that time she's done nothing with herself except pine away after Lord Byron and opens a book shop. Jane learned nothing about herself or the world so she has to rely on Byron to teach her, and thus abuse her and manipulate her and so on, it was rather disappointing. I mean she spends time moving from place to place, yet she is amazed how she looks with makeup and colored hair, come on. Overall I recommend this for light reading. Also, Bronte fans beware...let's just leave it at that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful, quick read

    I didn't want to put this book down, it was funny and interesting and thoughtful all at once. I highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Fun but not a "gotta have"

    A light fun read but not as different and amusing as PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES. But since Jane Austin seems to be a hot subject lately I guess it was inevitable. Haven't decided yet whether I'll bother with the sequel or not,,, maybe wait for it to show up on the bargain table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    torn thru it

    what a fun read (as a review said earlier). Funny in the right parts and a charming story. Loved it and have been telling everyone I know to check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great start but slow finish

    When the title character is not as interesting as the other characters, even a relatively minor one, such as Jane (Austen) Fairfax's book store manager, you have problems. I found the two 19th Century literary characters who came calling to be more interesting than Jane. There were a few laughs, but that was it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3