BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jane Carver of Waar

Average Rating 3.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Burroughs for the New Millenium!

When I was a girl, I really loved Edgar Rice Burroughs.

JANE CARVER OF WAAR updates the Burroughs aesthetic for the 21st century. Instead of a handsome man swept off to an alien world, we have a biker chick in the same situation. This leads to some fascinating ge...
When I was a girl, I really loved Edgar Rice Burroughs.

JANE CARVER OF WAAR updates the Burroughs aesthetic for the 21st century. Instead of a handsome man swept off to an alien world, we have a biker chick in the same situation. This leads to some fascinating gender play in the book; it's a lot of fun, and spices up the narrative. And the plotline moves like gangbusters; I was continually delighted and kept off balance by the sheer inventiveness Nathan Long displays.

It's a fun, fun read. I'm looking forward to the sequel, SWORDS OF WAAR.

posted by Queengeek on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

It charged me $100

I was so sad i sprayed cum all over my Nook D=

posted by 3138627 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jan Craver of Waar was a decent book. When I first began to rea

    Jan Craver of Waar was a decent book. When I first began to read the book I was thinking, "oh just another tough chick book." And yes it is; however, the story was done in such a way as to make the reader like Jane and cheer for her as she travels through the world of Waar, I was a bit disappointed that she had to return home and am looking forward to the sequel which was supposed to be out the 1st of November.

    I most enjoyed how the author takes us through and adventure that places our protagonist and her buddies in varying predicaments that all lead to under covering a nefarious plot to steal control. Classic royalty battles mixed in with a bit of love here and there and a whole lot of butt kicking with remental tones of Steam Punk throughout. The only thing it lacked was a Zombie attack.

    Read the book, its worth your time. Oh and for those that don't like harsh language, well Jane is a biker babe. You've been warned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Very good story.

    Swashbuckling adventure, gladiators, kidnapped princess, evil warlord, loyal friends, strange customs, and a sexy amazon heroine. What more could you ask for? Fast paced story (NOT FOR KIDS) kept me entertained throughout. Looking forward to the sequel

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    A campy, sci-fi caper book

    This book is just fine if you don't take it too seriously, and don't think it's a remake or even spoof of a John Carter adventure. It actually takes place after John Carter has been dead and gone for many decades. There is lots of action, fight scenes, and sexual references. For you prudes out there, this book would be a rated R movie due to nudity, sex scenes (not lengthy or super graphic scenes), and foul language. The author presents some intelligent moral debates about gender equality, slavery, and justice. I enjoyed this book. It was a fun, easy read. Plus, it was free!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    This is a very bizarre book.  I'm a 58 year old woman that enjoy

    This is a very bizarre book.  I'm a 58 year old woman that enjoys a good story & this one had my attention for awhile.  But I found myself wishing I was finished with it so I could start another book.  Parts of it were fun but and since it was a daily find I didn't invest much $ in it which I'm happy about.  I put it in my "Don't bother to read again" category on my Nook.  Gave it 3 stars since it might appeal more to a younger crowd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Hmmm.....

    I haven't read or bought it, but it sounds a lot like Edgar Rice Burroughs' " A Princess of Mars" (a.k.a. John Carter of Mars). Don't believe me? LOOK IT UP!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Too long, no payoff

    The concept is OK, but many parts of this book just drag on and on and on for no apparent reason. The ending is never in doubt, and it just took way too long to get there.

    Cut it down by half and it might have been twice as enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Can't say I found most of the story to be of interest but the pi

    Can't say I found most of the story to be of interest but the pirates helped quite a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Three stars

    Three stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was different for me but did enjoy. I got involved and considered reading the next but I will not pay over $10.jas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I liked it. Very similar to the movie, Princess of Mars.

    I liked it. Very similar to the movie, Princess of Mars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    What a hero!

    At the book's beginning, I found Jane to be a likeable character. But as the book progressed, the foul language put me off. Jane turned into a wannabe slut; the men had as much appeal as cardboard characters. In spite of the book's shortcomings, I finished it, however Jane will have to finish her adventures without at least one reader--ME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Haven't finished it yet, but so far I'm enjoying it.

    I like the strong character, and "Waar".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    To please answer

    This book has adult themes. I would suggest that most 13 yr olds wait a few years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    To who ever answered

    Thanks but i slill don't know what swashbuckling means

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2