Customer Reviews for

Jane Carver of Waar

Average Rating 3.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Burroughs for the New Millenium!

When I was a girl, I really loved Edgar Rice Burroughs.

JANE CARVER OF WAAR updates the Burroughs aesthetic for the 21st century. Instead of a handsome man swept off to an alien world, we have a biker chick in the same situation. This leads to some fascinating ge...
When I was a girl, I really loved Edgar Rice Burroughs.

JANE CARVER OF WAAR updates the Burroughs aesthetic for the 21st century. Instead of a handsome man swept off to an alien world, we have a biker chick in the same situation. This leads to some fascinating gender play in the book; it's a lot of fun, and spices up the narrative. And the plotline moves like gangbusters; I was continually delighted and kept off balance by the sheer inventiveness Nathan Long displays.

It's a fun, fun read. I'm looking forward to the sequel, SWORDS OF WAAR.

posted by Queengeek on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

It charged me $100

I was so sad i sprayed cum all over my Nook D=

posted by 3138627 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Burroughs for the New Millenium!

    When I was a girl, I really loved Edgar Rice Burroughs.

    JANE CARVER OF WAAR updates the Burroughs aesthetic for the 21st century. Instead of a handsome man swept off to an alien world, we have a biker chick in the same situation. This leads to some fascinating gender play in the book; it's a lot of fun, and spices up the narrative. And the plotline moves like gangbusters; I was continually delighted and kept off balance by the sheer inventiveness Nathan Long displays.

    It's a fun, fun read. I'm looking forward to the sequel, SWORDS OF WAAR.

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    This book was funny as heck! The protagonist, Jane Carver is a r

    This book was funny as heck! The protagonist, Jane Carver is a rough, tough biker chick that gets sent to another world along the lines of Burrough's Carter. She will have you laughing as she makes her way through some tough situations. Very enjoyable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    An irreverant tribute to "John Carter of Mars"

    Take John Carter, give him a sex change and an attitude adjustment and you have Jane. She a brash, refreshing, crude, uncultured, smart (at least street smart), liberated, liberated biker. I think I might have known her in High School.

    If Edgar had been writing now instead of a hundred years ago, I would not be surprised if this is exactly what he would be writing.

    There are some bumps in the road: a few small ways that the characters don't quite ring true and a few missing words and letters are the worst of it. If you're willing to breathe when breath falls short, and forgive the other small disabilites, you may find this outrageous tail to be an engrossing read.

    It's not for the faint of heart, nor is it fainthearted. Worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Interesting

    This book is an adventure. It is crude in places. There is offensive language if one is easily offended. It is also amusing, funny at times, and if you like scifi it will keep your interest. Not sure I will read the sequel, but will look for other books by the author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great story

    Fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Fun!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was not something I would normally pick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Jane Rules

    Very enjoyable and entertaining, a nice twist on John Carter. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Free Friday read

    I enjoyed the novel! Not my normal read, but I just love Jane. Would love to meet her someday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Great story! Entertaining read.

    Once again I find myself pleasantly surprised by a free ebook I pick on on B&N website. I have had this in my 'library' for quite some time and finally decided to check it out. I honestly could not put this book down until it was over. Funny in places, a little romance, weird creatures and all. This book grabbed my attention from the first page. Love all the metaphors used, some made me laugh out loud. I will be checking out other books by this author and would gladly recommend this one to my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    A rollicking sci fi story

    This was a very welcome and fun free friday treat. Sci fi storyline with a very strong and wily heroine. Yep, it is one worth buying. I loved the author's note crediting the concept of the book as actually coming from an actual biker chick. It definately is an unexpected and wild ride. Would make a fabulous movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommended if you are a John Carter of Mars Fan

    I found this book to be an interesting variation of John Carter of Mars, where the protagonist is a Female. I am looking forward to the next iteration of the tale to see how Jane gets back to her new world and how her friends are doing there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    great read

    I am glad that this book was written as well as it was. I liked the fact that not ALL abductions(?) are bad. and of course there's a lesson, 'we never know what we have till it's gone' as Jane found out in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Enjoyable want more

    I am hoping there are more of this story to follow. I like the characters and their relationships with each other. I like that there world is different but the same as ours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    KJ

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Probably not an award winner, but a fun read.

    I had just finished the first 4 books of the John Carter - Baroom series and I read a few reviews that said it was a modern version of it and that review was accurate. Some of the language is a little rough for younger readers, but consistant with the character. I enjoyed it enough to give a sequel a shot to see how the characters develop from here. I'd probably give it about a 3.75 rating if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Campy Fun

    Even if you've never read Burrough's "Princess of Mars" Jane Carver is a great homage to the space opera genre. She fights and swears her way through her adventures, and always feels real, never wooden. She's loyal to her friends on Waar, even when she thinks they are nuts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    very reminiscent of edgar rice burroughs. it was mildly amusing.

    very reminiscent of edgar rice burroughs. it was mildly amusing. i enjoyed it. i got it free but it was worth paying some money for. its a fun read. a few potentially offending moments but doesn't dominant the book. over all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    fun read

    This was a quick, fun read. I was entertained throughout by good characters and amusing situations. If you're familiar with John Carter of Mars it is even better but that is not necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quite Fun

    Nathan Long has captured lightning in a bottle here. This book reads easily and engagingly. The story keeps moving, little twists keep the readers on their toes and the little winks and nudges at Edgar Rice Burrows just keep it fun.

    Read this! You deserve a good romp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Escapist Entertainment

    If the purpose of your reading is to be entertained, this is the book for you. Not real deep. Not too complicated. Just a good fun fantasy read with a kick-ass heroine. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4