Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4
( 815 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(500)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So Interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many thing...
I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many things about life. I won't say what happened ( because I dont want to ruin it for you) but I reccomend it for everyone.

posted by Rapunzel77 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Many Many Errors

I love Jane Eyre, but during "Chaptee 1", Jane's relatives are either the Eeeds, the Keeds, or even the Beeds, but rarely the Reeds. Find another version!

posted by Rainyt on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 822 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Jane eyre

    Good old fashioned love adventure. Leaves one feeling hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Flannery Snow

    Even if you don't like classics, I would read this. It is really understandable and relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Zach

    I know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Liam

    Night you two. Lol. C.c

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Stormy

    A tear strraks her face as she watches zach leave "why are you leaving?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Avery Urbatsch

    If you want some romance with wonderful ending i would recommend this spectacular book. I mean when Jane moves to that private school she has no friends and she is not aloud to eat or drink until the next day then that night a girl that slept in the bed next to Jane's gives Jane some bread and they become really good friends. Then a couple days later the Jane and her friend get their hair cut really short. They person who makes sure they go to bed says their hair will grow back soon. Then that night it was really cold and Jane's friend gets sick and has to move to a different room. So ine the middle of the night Jane got up and went and visited her friend in the different room. Jane ends up sleeping with her friend then the next morning Jane's friend ends up dead. Well all i got to say is it is a really good book and i would recommend it to my friends on my nook but i got no friends. Well G2G. BYE BYE BYE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    bbgvvvvbvvbbggyggfgcfrfdhvjhggghhhghghbhhhhhjjhghhjjhhjhhjbjhhhxxdddffdduyumumbttnmyhrhyndnjmjg,kk,t,k

    g
    g
    g
    mj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    This is a very good book

    I recommend it to who love classic books. It is one of the simplier books to read and understand. Love it &#9825 i also recommend pride and prejudice by Jane Austen if you like this book. And I'm out. ~LightBlood &#9787

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Riveting

    Classic story with the protagonist as a strong, creative, and smart female. Wretched beginnings turn into happy endings. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Cry

    270 933 6646 no peti's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Cry

    Back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Read it!!!

    I am still reading this but so far pretty interesting. My sister read it and loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Charlotte Bronte¿s perennial classic and best-known work, ¿Jane

    Charlotte Bronte’s perennial classic and best-known work, “Jane Eyre,” presents a girl who comes of age amidst omnipresent hardships and who embodies the Christian values with which Bronte herself was raised. Much of the novel, indeed, reflects upon Bronte’s own life, and is in that manner semi-autobiographical. Jane Eyre is an atypical heroine, and the novel stands out because it broaches topics that were taboo at the time. It was written during the Victorian Period, which was characterized by strict adherence to social norms, yet in many ways Bronte challenges them by presenting a heroine who is self-reliant and independent at a time when women were supposed to be subservient and unassuming. Jane Eyre as a novel also speaks to the controversial issue of madness, and at its heart it is a romance and the story of one woman’s life of courage in the face of hardship. There is also an eerie supernatural aspect to the novel. In the end, however, it remains one of the most poignant and beautifully composed romances in all of classic literature.

    The only caveat I would offer is that, in my opinion, it is not light reading. The writing, and often the subject matter, is dense and requires full attention, and it is also archaic, so be prepared to have a dictionary close at hand. There are also many French sentences in the novel, and these are not translated, so if you don’t know the language it can be a bit of a stumbling block (although you can skip over the French parts without detracting from the story itself). The Borders Classics edition is poorly formatted, with many typographical and grammatical errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Ikf

    Bad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Samuel

    No one can spell. o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Bad coppy

    Lots of s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Prrfy

    Eek you all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Great story but bad copy

    This copy of Jane Eyre is from Google. It says at the beginning that it is based off of a scan. This is clearly evident as there are many typos; like a 'v' instead of a 'y'. If you manage to decipher everything, it is still incomplete and a pain to find the corresponding second volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Classic

    Wonderfully written. A true classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 822 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42