Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4
( 871 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(537)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So Interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many thing...
I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many things about life. I won't say what happened ( because I dont want to ruin it for you) but I reccomend it for everyone.

posted by Rapunzel77 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Many Many Errors

I love Jane Eyre, but during "Chaptee 1", Jane's relatives are either the Eeeds, the Keeds, or even the Beeds, but rarely the Reeds. Find another version!

posted by Rainyt on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 826 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Many Many Errors

    I love Jane Eyre, but during "Chaptee 1", Jane's relatives are either the Eeeds, the Keeds, or even the Beeds, but rarely the Reeds. Find another version!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    So Interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many things about life. I won't say what happened ( because I dont want to ruin it for you) but I reccomend it for everyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book for those whom appreciate details, old english writing style(yet very understandable), a romantic tragedy, and the years of a girl becoming a woman. Although, not many will enjoy such book if your not into classics. Hope you enjoy Jane Eyre or give it a try.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Great Book

    This book was a bit slow through the first half, but once it gets past Jane's childhood it becomes fascinating and was actually hard to put down. I was amazed by Brontë's vocabulary, writing style, and ability to create such an intriguing and original plot. This is the kind of book that makes you really feel for the characters and get lost in the adventures of their lives. Right when you think you know what's going to happen, Jane Eyre surprises you and another twist to the plot comes in. By the end of the book, I really respected Jane's character and was glad that everything turned out in a way that she liked and had not expected. This is a great classic -- read it!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    Great book. I luved it!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    My paper copy fell apart from too many readings...

    I adore this book. Read it for the first time at age ten. Several times since. Its amazing how your reading changes as your understanding does.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Enduring

    Start to finish, Jane Eyre remains gripping. Always a favorite, despite many years of rereading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Great Classic Book

    I had never read this book in High School like my daughter did and thought it was about time I read it. It is my daughter's favorite book. It was well written and had a good plot. Writers in the distant past payed a lot more attention to describing in detail the surroundings and the thoughts and feelings going on in the main character's head. Today's authors are too much in a hurry to go into so much detail. Some of the description I wanted to be done with already, but others I greatly enjoyed because it gave me insight into Jane and Mr. Rochester. It made them into real people. This book shows how someone who had a rather wretched childhood could grow up to be a very fine woman.

    Great book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Should i continue?

    I read some post that mentioned intense romance. Im under the age of 11. Should i keep reading? Ive already started.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Jane Eyre!

    I haven't finished the book, but so far it bas been astounding! I saw the recent movie and adored, so I am reading the book. Chapter one is slow, but picks up soon. I am shocked by how hooked I was by chapter four. Very elaborate descrptions, but those never caused any harm. Enjoying thoroughly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Wasnt as dry as others I've read. Might just read it again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    God!

    The person that wrote the review "Intense read", you write too much. If people wanted to know about the book, then they could just read it themself! Duh!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Blah

    All they talk about is talk

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Ehh its boring but has very rich language

    Its a very slow read and often drags on i often enjoy reading classic books but this one just didnt capture my attention it also made it worse that i had to read it for honors english i didnt enjoys it it was pretty boring but i understood it and the language is rich if you are okay with reading a slow paced book this is for you its also very dark andnceepy too

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Booooo

    Not a good book

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Great book bad service

    The book is great but B&N sucks because I never received the book

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Classic.

    Overall, I think the novel, Jane Eyre, is a great story of love and faith. Throughout the novel, Charlotte Bronte gives great descriptions of everything going on mentally and physically around Jane Eyre throughout her life. The character of Jane is greatly relatable to every reader because of her great struggles with finding a family, and finding a way to make the one true love of her life work out while still keeping her morals. Jane Eyre is also an enjoyable novel in the fact that Charlotte Bronte made a seemingly ordinary love story novel into a much more complex and interesting novel, that turns out to be much more than just a love novel in the end. Jane Eyre is also a commendable novel because throughout the novel, Charlotte Bronte continuously keeps you guessing about the ending of the novel. Additionally, Charlotte Bronte gave not only a detailed description for Jane Bronte, and the other main characters, but she also gave gratifying descriptions for other characters that weren't mentioned through the novel very often, giving them a memorable personality and character in the novel. As a whole, Jane Eyre is a great novel that I would highly recommend for any reader, especially ones interested in the time era in which it was written. Jane Eyre is a classic piece of literature which most difficult to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    English classic that set the style for the genre

    For the next couple hundred years of gothic romance and still going strong. Older classics wordy because you had to get your money worth from a book as quick reads not popular when was no tv movies or radio. Even in kids books like secret garden. And they wrote in script too just imagine the copying and editing and tyoe setting to come out with a book in print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Don't bother

    Typos are too distracting to get past the second page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Jane eyre

    Good old fashioned love adventure. Leaves one feeling hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 826 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42