Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4
( 820 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(502)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So Interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many thing...
I loved this book!!! It really makes you think of all of the possibilities in life. It has really high vocab but the nook has a built in dictionary so you can understand it( Im a 12 year old and I read it).Everyone has to read this book because it teaches you many things about life. I won't say what happened ( because I dont want to ruin it for you) but I reccomend it for everyone.

posted by Rapunzel77 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Many Many Errors

I love Jane Eyre, but during "Chaptee 1", Jane's relatives are either the Eeeds, the Keeds, or even the Beeds, but rarely the Reeds. Find another version!

posted by Rainyt on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Great Book

    This book was a bit slow through the first half, but once it gets past Jane's childhood it becomes fascinating and was actually hard to put down. I was amazed by Brontë's vocabulary, writing style, and ability to create such an intriguing and original plot. This is the kind of book that makes you really feel for the characters and get lost in the adventures of their lives. Right when you think you know what's going to happen, Jane Eyre surprises you and another twist to the plot comes in. By the end of the book, I really respected Jane's character and was glad that everything turned out in a way that she liked and had not expected. This is a great classic -- read it!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Jane Eyre!

    I haven't finished the book, but so far it bas been astounding! I saw the recent movie and adored, so I am reading the book. Chapter one is slow, but picks up soon. I am shocked by how hooked I was by chapter four. Very elaborate descrptions, but those never caused any harm. Enjoying thoroughly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Wasnt as dry as others I've read. Might just read it again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Flannery Snow

    Even if you don't like classics, I would read this. It is really understandable and relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Liam

    Night you two. Lol. C.c

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Ok people if your on the ledge just BUY IT

    people, this isnt an intense romance novel. Its a great book and i think so because i am 12 but i read this when i was 11 anyways this book is not like a erotic fiction. Its just a basic love between Jane Eyre and this guy named Mr. Rocheater. JUST READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great Book

    I really loved this book. I was glad i had it on my nook, so I could look up word definitions. There seemed to be multiple typos and incomplete words, but that doesn't bother me much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Love the book and biography about the author...

    I like to hear about the author's personal life and so it was good to read about her difficulties and her perseverance to keep writing even through her own personal trials... I can so relate to having to work through adversities and this book is a classic. Love it!

    The reason I am giving it 4 stars, is the letters are skipped from time to time, but hey, it was FREE and not bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    LOVED IT

    I have never read this and didnt realize what a wonderful classic this book was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Brain activity overload :-)

    Jane Eyre was challenging and rewarding! I m certain I have never looked up so many words or used the book cross references like i did with this classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed reading this book. It is a great love story and very heartfelt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Worth the read!

    This classic story was a great read. Ill get right to the point to say the only thing I disliked was the long deacriptive sentences that were given about characters and settings in the story. Sometimes this was helpful to set the mood and to greater understand the time period, but on a few occasions, the descriptions are nearly useless or dragged on too long, especially on unimportant characters. Other than that, this book was very intereating and good for anyone interested in a different time period. It is a slow read with little dialouge, some action, a little romance and even a little horror so it does have something to offer everyone. Beware of the style of writing as well, for it can be difficult to interpret or comprehend at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Classic

    Great copy of a classic to enjoy! It took me awhile to realize that the book was just an account of a life, nothing more, nothing less, but enjoyable once I realized this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Wonderfull

    Good classic book. Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Bronte sisters

    Better than Jane Austen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Wonderful

    Have been wanting to finally finish this book and after a long time of trying to it didnt disappoint! Great description and emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Very very good

    This book was very good te only reason i gave it a four tar rating was because it tends to (since it wa written longer ago) ramble on for a long time on certain things or conversations. Bu the romance woven into it and the mystery make up for all the faults and over all i really enjoyed the book!!!!! My brother knows a girl who actually reads this book every winter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great read

    Loved the story line could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Hippiechick

    This book was one of my very favorites. If you are ready to read about love and womens rebellion of societies norm then i highly suggest reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8