Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4.5
( 1194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(740)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

>:D FANTASTICAT!

Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I co...
Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I could flip a switch, forget every thing I just read, and read it again as if for the first time. Mr Rochester (mmm...) is just irresistible, because he isn't what he seems and is excellent at leading you in a completely opposite direction... then when everything is revealed, you love him more, and by the end of the book... you want him for your own... *Snaps out of a reverie* Ahem. Uh.. yes so Charlotte Bronte is fabulous at not revealing too much at one time. Fabulous at keeping things appropriate, but still romantic as crap. I love Jane's strong will and determination to do the right thing. I admire her a lot for everything she's been through. Each time I read it, it touches me whenever she touches happiness, and it tears me apart whenever it gets torn from her. Oh, give this book a go, just for the heck of it. I hope you enjoy it like I and so many others have. Oh, and let me just say, that when things seem slow, just think about how beautiful the writing style is, and that everything is important to unraveling the characters to the proper extent. ^.^

posted by 4309056 on August 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A True Critic

Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and t...
Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and this....just skips.
The characters personaliies made you really think about who they were and their hidden identities. Charlotte Bronte never gave away too much. It left you really wanting to figure out the mystery, who these people were and the kind of past they had.
In some parts of the book I really did not want to read on and found it to be dull at points. Towards the end of the book I must admit, I was anxious to know whats was going to happen next. Anxious to know where Jane would end up or wouldn't. Where Jane and Rochesters relationship would progress to.
The ending... I guess was satisfying but definitely not surprising because the ending was so cliche. We all knew Jane and Mr. Rochester were going to reunite and live happily ever after. I was looking for more shock but I was left with the same thing I predicted. The only thing that was a little surprising is the fact that she actually got the chance to meet her real family and experience the love that she never had. This love could not have been filled by Rochester because their love was more intimate. She needed a family, connection love that she never knew with the Reeds.
I have learned from Jane Eyre that love should be given chances and this is why the theme was worthwhile because it gave you hope for something better for Jane. This book also teaches that love can be found in the strangest places as we see when Jane eneters Thornfield all and meets Mr. Rochester and is only a servant girl to him.
Charlotte Bronte's style of writing is of course original because it is about her but I felt that while reading this book Charlottle Bronte explained very well the actions that took place and explained well the feelings and emotions of the other characters,but, I felt like she lacked to tell us about how she felt when certain situations were happening. I wish I could have felt what she felt and imagined everything that she thought about.

posted by CAPS17 on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 60
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    >:D FANTASTICAT!

    Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I could flip a switch, forget every thing I just read, and read it again as if for the first time. Mr Rochester (mmm...) is just irresistible, because he isn't what he seems and is excellent at leading you in a completely opposite direction... then when everything is revealed, you love him more, and by the end of the book... you want him for your own... *Snaps out of a reverie* Ahem. Uh.. yes so Charlotte Bronte is fabulous at not revealing too much at one time. Fabulous at keeping things appropriate, but still romantic as crap. I love Jane's strong will and determination to do the right thing. I admire her a lot for everything she's been through. Each time I read it, it touches me whenever she touches happiness, and it tears me apart whenever it gets torn from her. Oh, give this book a go, just for the heck of it. I hope you enjoy it like I and so many others have. Oh, and let me just say, that when things seem slow, just think about how beautiful the writing style is, and that everything is important to unraveling the characters to the proper extent. ^.^

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Please read this story!

    If you're a fan of historical romances such as Pride & Prejudice, Becoming Jane, or Sense & Sensibility you would be depriving yourself of experiencing the beauty of this story by not reading it. I can't wait to see the newest version in theaters!! Please read this and be patient with it's lengthy beginning.. I promise it gets better :)

    -ash

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favourite book to read and re-read!

    Jane Eyre tell the story of a young woman in mid 19th century England, however, any girl/woman who has ever felt out of place and alone can relate to Jane. Yes, it is a story of love, but also a story of a strong female character who, despite all, stays true to herself and her beliefs. She suffers for them, but in the end it all works out (which probably is why it makes it endearing)...so if you've ever felt out of place, "not normal", but wanting to love someone, to feel love returned, then this book is for you.

    It is not your typical Jane Austen type book, but has just a hint of terror, fright and thrill to take it that one step beyond. I've read this book countless times (well over a few hundred) and yet I never get tired of it. It's like watching a good movie over and over. And great for those rainy gloomy days...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I would have never read this book if it was not for PBS!!

    Whenever the Jane Eyre series was on PBS I would always catch the last part, so I went to a local used book store and found a copy. I did not put the book down until I was done.<BR/>A Very good book, I would recommend reading Jane Eyre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Spectacular

    This is my favorite book. It has everything: romance, adventure, a srong female. Perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Beautiful classic

    I loved this story, it moved me to the depth of my feelings for this young girl.
    This took place in a time era that made you feel it had to be a true story.
    Every woman in this day and age should read this and they would know how lucky they are to be alive now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    !

    I'm in eighth grade now, and upon reading this truely excellent novel in sixth grade, I honestly couldn't get the full understanding out of it. But I recently started rereading it, and I love it! "Jane Eyre" is a story of a young girl reaching adulthood, and all of the joys and pains along the way. It is definately for an older audience, though- no child younger than 11 or 12 would be able to know what some of the words mean (being 13 myself and having a fairly large vocabulary, I still have to look up certain words!). And this book also touches on the concept of love, which might not be altogether interesting to a younger person. Occasionally, there are some disturbing parts in it: a lunatic attempts on taking some of Jane's friends' lives, but I'm pretty sure everyone survives ;) Since this particular edition of the book is free, obviously there are going to be some somewhat confusing spelling errors here and there. But overall, "Jane Eyre" is a wonderful book, and I fully enjoy all 500-and-some pages of it! And is it just me, or do other girls find similarities between themselves and Jane? :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Anounomys

    This book was amazing, it is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Is the price corect.?

    6123.99

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    Do Not Read! Waste of time

    I can not, no matter how hard I try, figure out why this book is a "classic", nor why so many high-schoolers are forced to read it. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy many classic books. However, this is NOT one of them. Jane is weak, annoying, and an entirely lousy protagonist.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    There is NONE Better

    I have read ALOT, but nothing is like Jane Erye! I have read and reread this book many times. If you have never read it, Read it and you will become a believer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Critic

    Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and this....just skips.<BR/>The characters personaliies made you really think about who they were and their hidden identities. Charlotte Bronte never gave away too much. It left you really wanting to figure out the mystery, who these people were and the kind of past they had.<BR/> In some parts of the book I really did not want to read on and found it to be dull at points. Towards the end of the book I must admit, I was anxious to know whats was going to happen next. Anxious to know where Jane would end up or wouldn't. Where Jane and Rochesters relationship would progress to.<BR/>The ending... I guess was satisfying but definitely not surprising because the ending was so cliche. We all knew Jane and Mr. Rochester were going to reunite and live happily ever after. I was looking for more shock but I was left with the same thing I predicted. The only thing that was a little surprising is the fact that she actually got the chance to meet her real family and experience the love that she never had. This love could not have been filled by Rochester because their love was more intimate. She needed a family, connection love that she never knew with the Reeds.<BR/>I have learned from Jane Eyre that love should be given chances and this is why the theme was worthwhile because it gave you hope for something better for Jane. This book also teaches that love can be found in the strangest places as we see when Jane eneters Thornfield all and meets Mr. Rochester and is only a servant girl to him.<BR/>Charlotte Bronte's style of writing is of course original because it is about her but I felt that while reading this book Charlottle Bronte explained very well the actions that took place and explained well the feelings and emotions of the other characters,but, I felt like she lacked to tell us about how she felt when certain situations were happening. I wish I could have felt what she felt and imagined everything that she thought about.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    hauntingly passionate and pure

    The plot is timeless, and the characters are captivating. Trully revolutionay for the time period it was written in- cleverly feminist in nature without being pushy. Easy to read,ecspecially with errotic, musing characters like Edward Rochester (sigh, swoon)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Great Book

    I am only 14 but this book was just great it wasn't really hard to read or understand . I don't read that much but when I had to read this one in school I realized that I probably will read it again because it was so good and that takes a really good book for me to say that

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Mitch

    You suck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Loved it

    I don't know what to read afterwards, I'm left with a void.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    This classic tells the story of Jane Eyre. She has a difficult

    This classic tells the story of Jane Eyre. She has a difficult childhood and faces obstacles throughout her life. Things seem to change for the better once she becomes a young adult, but circumstances beyond her control change everything. This is a very enjoyable book. I couldn't stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Beautiful Story

    This book is one of very few books I can re-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Worfld

    EEK PERFYS!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Beautiful

    A beautiful story. My all time fave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 60