Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4.5
( 1193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(740)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

>:D FANTASTICAT!

Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I co...
Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I could flip a switch, forget every thing I just read, and read it again as if for the first time. Mr Rochester (mmm...) is just irresistible, because he isn't what he seems and is excellent at leading you in a completely opposite direction... then when everything is revealed, you love him more, and by the end of the book... you want him for your own... *Snaps out of a reverie* Ahem. Uh.. yes so Charlotte Bronte is fabulous at not revealing too much at one time. Fabulous at keeping things appropriate, but still romantic as crap. I love Jane's strong will and determination to do the right thing. I admire her a lot for everything she's been through. Each time I read it, it touches me whenever she touches happiness, and it tears me apart whenever it gets torn from her. Oh, give this book a go, just for the heck of it. I hope you enjoy it like I and so many others have. Oh, and let me just say, that when things seem slow, just think about how beautiful the writing style is, and that everything is important to unraveling the characters to the proper extent. ^.^

posted by 4309056 on August 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A True Critic

Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and t...
Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and this....just skips.
The characters personaliies made you really think about who they were and their hidden identities. Charlotte Bronte never gave away too much. It left you really wanting to figure out the mystery, who these people were and the kind of past they had.
In some parts of the book I really did not want to read on and found it to be dull at points. Towards the end of the book I must admit, I was anxious to know whats was going to happen next. Anxious to know where Jane would end up or wouldn't. Where Jane and Rochesters relationship would progress to.
The ending... I guess was satisfying but definitely not surprising because the ending was so cliche. We all knew Jane and Mr. Rochester were going to reunite and live happily ever after. I was looking for more shock but I was left with the same thing I predicted. The only thing that was a little surprising is the fact that she actually got the chance to meet her real family and experience the love that she never had. This love could not have been filled by Rochester because their love was more intimate. She needed a family, connection love that she never knew with the Reeds.
I have learned from Jane Eyre that love should be given chances and this is why the theme was worthwhile because it gave you hope for something better for Jane. This book also teaches that love can be found in the strangest places as we see when Jane eneters Thornfield all and meets Mr. Rochester and is only a servant girl to him.
Charlotte Bronte's style of writing is of course original because it is about her but I felt that while reading this book Charlottle Bronte explained very well the actions that took place and explained well the feelings and emotions of the other characters,but, I felt like she lacked to tell us about how she felt when certain situations were happening. I wish I could have felt what she felt and imagined everything that she thought about.

posted by CAPS17 on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Is the price corect.?

    6123.99

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Worfld

    EEK PERFYS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great

    It was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A great classic

    Genre: ClassicI had never read this book before, but I had heard a lot of people talking about it and figured it was probably something I should read. Coming into this, I had no idea what to expect from this book, I hadn't read a classic in awhile and I didn't know what it was about. I chose to have this in audio book because I have a long drive to and from work and it would not interrupt my normal reading schedule.This being an audio book I think that the choice of narrator is very important as to how enjoyable the experience is. I have heard some awful narrators and it can really ruin the story. The narrator for the version I listened to was Joanna David and she was a phenomenal narrator. First of all she was British, which was very appropriate because the book was set in England and made it more believable and felt like Jane was actually narrating her story. She was also very amazing at evoking the emotions of the characters. It really felt like I was listening to a play and helped me enjoy my ride.Now on to discussing the actual book. I really, really enjoyed this story. I enjoyed it in a different way than I have enjoyed other books I have reviewed recently. This story begins with a young Jane Eyre living with the family of an aunt who really doesn't treat her like family. She is eventually sent away to a boarding school and then takes up the role of governess for a Mr. Rochester. This is when the story really starts to pick up. There is romance, secret desire, heartbreak, a little bit of a mystery, sadness, and then a happy ending_which we all enjoy. There were times when I cried and times when I yelled at Jane for making a dumb decision _ such as leaving her post of governess.There really were only two main characters in this story: Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester. I really went back and forth in my opinion of the character of Mr. Rochester. Sometimes I thought he was clearly crazy. Things that he said did not make sense sometimes, but it truly could have been me not hearing right in the car. I felt for Jane from day one: she was treated poorly by people who were her family, was sent from home, and was angst ridden from her secret desire for love. As I said before, there were times I was mad at her choices, but overall she was a very likeable character.I would definitely read another classic book after reading this one; well, actually I would probably do an audio book so I can still read another book. I actually made me interested in this genre again without feeling like I was reading for school.4 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved it.

    Never read it in high school (or many other 'classics'). Working my way through Bronte and Austin (Jane) and loving evrey page turn. The characters are strong and the women are empowered (within the confines of the time period of the story). Wish I had more vacation days to sit and read straight through as most of my time is spent reading to a young child. This is my little escape back to adulthood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A sweeping tale of love

    This book is great, if you like the classics this is for you. It reminds you of love, intrigue and loss ,and triumph

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    To Melanie

    I read Jane Eyre as a teen and I want to read it again. Great classic. I am revisiting some of the classics I read as a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book was long, which I liked. I feel like I got my money's worth. :) After reading the first 400-500 pages I couldn't understand how there were 800ish more because it seemed as if a story had already been told. As I moved on through the book I became more and more interested in Jane's life. I was confused as to why "Jane Eyre" was so important, but someone pointed out to me that the book was meant to portray an era. So, if you are curious about this era then definitely read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Woe Is Me! - Novel is better than the beginning leads you to believe.

    When I was in elementary school and struggling with insomnia, I kept a copy of <i>Jane Eyre</i> by my bedside. It worked magic. As a teenager, I read the entire novel and couldn't believe I'd ever thought it boring. I was eager to reread it as an adult to see which me I'd agree with. Both, as it turns out. The first hundred pages or so (that's a complete guess since nook pages are different from book pages) are a slog. Jane has a horrible childhood. Nothing goes right for Jane. Just when it seems that she's going to be able to make something good for herself, someone intentionally smashes her back down into her sad, solitary place. Alas. Harry Potter, I see the roots behind your cupboard under the stairs. But then, but then! The middle of this book is absolutely fabulous. As with Brontë's <i>Villette</i> I can't really tell you why, I can just assure you that the book is engaging and beautifully written. It feels wrong to give this book the same star rating as, say, one of my beloved fantasy novels. Yes, those are well-crafted, too, but usually in a completely different way. Some of my favorite authors I read purely for entertainment. Others also educate me along the way. Charlotte Brontë does both of those plus she also makes me a better person. I'd swear to it! People used to tease me for my over-developed vocabulary but that doesn't happen anymore. Perhaps because I so rarely read books like this for fun anymore. And it really is fun. <i>Jane Eyre>/i> is a classic but it's also a light, easy read. I read it on an airplane while tending young children, at a family gathering almost paying attention to the people around me, and late at night when exhausted. I had no trouble keeping up with the book and it had no trouble keeping the lion's share of my attention. I enjoyed the reread and feel all the better for the time I spent renewing my acquaintance with the fabulous and ill-fated Charlotte Brontë.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Awesome for young women!

    Book describes a lot of emotions many young women may experience along with true love and heartbreak also. In the end she realizes her own self worth and uses that to have the confidence to make the decision her heart knows is right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Good

    I am 13 so my comprehension of the book may not be as well as from an older individual, but I like this book very much. The writing makes me have a hard time reading it at times and bores me at other times. I have not finished yet, but as I mature I am sure I will be ale to appreciate this book muxh more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Jane Eyre

    Great classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Great read!

    A page turner. Very much an enjoyment to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    A Worthwhile Classic

    Jane Eyre / 978-1-411-43386-1 Unlike many of the classics, which contain a superb message under vernacular that is sometimes hard for us to read, Jane Eyre still flows easily to our ears and eyes, and the plot is gripping and suspenseful. While Jane may seem, to our modern sensibilities, to be something of a weak heroine in her jealousy of her master's suitor, her insistence upon actual marriage in spite of the cruelty of the situation, and her weak acceptance of her missionary suitor's almost vampiric leaching of her spirit (in spite of his own sisters' exhortations to stand up for herself, no less!), Jane is still a strong and modern female in light of the standards of her own day. Her bravery in taking up her post as governess in a strange land, her 'presumptuousness' in courting (or being courted) by her master, her daring in considering to be a missionary's wife, and her final decision to set out again in search of her lost love all point to a strength of will and character which would have made her character - at the time - to be quite 'mannish' indeed! We can admire Jane her strength and will, while marveling happily at how far things have come, and wonder hopefully at how much farther they may yet go. ~ Ana Mardoll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    Great book but the formatting on my Nook sucks

    Five stars for the book itself but as a new Nook owner I must say that the formatting on my Nook is absolutely horrible -unexpected trunkation of pages,unsatisfying breaks in paragraphs peculiar gaps in dialogue - in other words a real mess..... If this is characteristic of e-books then I will rapidly return to the printed word and simply buy secondhand to save money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Love Jane

    It's beautiful and amazing. I really girlie book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Classic - Great story of endurance and inner strength

    I truly enjoyed this story as it takes you from a young girl, who was a mistreated orphan, though a young woman's life. Jane never vacillated on what she believed to be right no matter what it cost her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    Terrific!

    I for one enjoy this book. Although I'm not yet finished reading it, the plotline is easy to follow and somewhat predictable, and the characters and interesting and relate to people in the present. The only thing I would change would be the amount of description Bronte uses in this book. Even though it gives the story more detail and 'color,' it makes the text hard to follow or even understand. Despite that, the use of description is amazing when used in the right places. Also, a bit more diologue would enliven the story a bit more, giving the reader an exciting break from some of the more boring pieces of description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    so sad!!!

    this is a great book but it has a really sad ending!!! it was pretty hard for me to read because of the advanced vocab., but i liked it all the same. jane is a realistic character who's hardships are painful yet character building. i'm glad she finally submits to true love at the end of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    A GREAT BOOK!

    I read this book for my ninth grade humanities class and it is such a great piece of literature that all should read.From the begining I loved Jane's character. She portrayed herself as a very strong and independent woman.I definitly recommend this book to all who like to read very suspenseful love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12